Skip to content

Habits of Grace (La grâce au quotidien)

Original price 19,95 $ - Original price 19,95 $
Original price
19,95 $
19,95 $ - 19,95 $
Current price 19,95 $
Presentation
Listen to his voice. Talk to him. Belong to his body.

Three principles that are so simple and yet shape our entire Christian life: listen to the voice of God, speak to him through prayer and live the Church with his people.

We often perceive them as an ordinary routine. But these principles allow us to live His grace on a daily basis. They are the means by which we nourish ourselves with the love of God and his power. And above all, they allow us to experience the greatest gift of all time: to know Jesus and to live a deep intimacy with him.
Author
David Mathis is pastor and editor of the Desiring God website.
Recommendations

"This little book by David Mathis is a gold mine for several reasons. First, it makes you want to experience the “means of grace” (sometimes called “spiritual disciplines”) on a regular basis, emphasizing whatever God wants to bestow on us through them. Then, he conveniently organizes these means of grace into three broad categories (Word, prayer, fellowship), which makes the approach simple and accessible. Finally, the book is eminently practical: the useful advice, given with wisdom and kindness (without ever making the readers unduly guilty), has proven its worth. In short, we are dealing here with a true Christocentric guide to the Christian life, to read slowly and to put into practice one step at a time. All Christians will benefit from this, both those who are starting out in the Christian life and those with more experience who wish to take stock of their life as a whole. To be distributed widely! »
–Dominique Angers, professor at the Faculty of Evangelical Theology (Acadia University, Montreal) and blogger on the website toutpoursagloire.com

“While this little book says the same as many others about Bible reading, prayer, and Christian fellowship (and a few other important topics), its great strength is that it nourishes my determination to read the Bible, and it makes me thirsty to pray. If what is called "the means of grace" is presented only in the form of duties, then the key point of sanctification is compulsion. But here the means of grace are clearly seen as gracious gifts and signs that God is working in us. It increases our joy as we embrace Christian freedom in the light of our glorious King Jesus. "
–D. A. Carson, New Testament professor and researcher at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School; co-founder of The Gospel Coalition

"Here is finally THE book on the means of grace that I was looking for!" There are many books on one or the other of the spiritual disciplines. But Everyday Grace introduces us to the three main means of grace at once! It is therefore the perfect book to give to every Christian to understand the gifts of the Bible, prayer and the people of God. I can't wait for our whole Church to read this book! »
–Stéphane Kapitaniuk, pastor at Eglise-Pont.com and blogger on ToutPourSaGloire.com

“Simple. Practice. Effective. In this book, Mathis speaks brilliantly about three central spiritual disciplines that will help us put our lives in order and strengthen our faith. In a world where everything seems more and more complicated, The Grace of Daily Life helps us ease off to refocus on what is essential.
–Louie Giglio, pastor of Passion City Church in Atlanta; founder of Passion Conferences

"More simplicity, stability, confidence, spiritual power, and joy in God." Who wouldn't want ... more? To move forward, we need divine grace. To move forward, we must learn a healthy discipline of life, transformative habits. We must combine the exuberant grace of Jesus Christ with real personal, ordinary and daily discipline. This book, so affordable and enjoyable to read, will help us all. For the Word, prayer, and sharing (that is, spiritual family life, the local Church) are the means of simultaneously ordinary and extraordinary grace. David Mathis has done us a great service with this book! Take, read, enjoy, live the grace received by discipline and discipline nourished by grace. »
–Edouard Nelson, pastor, Paris 17th

"Far from wanting to satisfy our urge to 'tick boxes' to feel better, the author gives us a solid vision of Christian discipline, filled with gratitude and enthusiasm for our God. While giving us a good theology of spiritual disciplines, David Mathis gives us practical ways to deepen our relationship with God today. I highly recommend this book to young and old alike in the faith. »
–Nathan Lyotard, youth group manager and entrepreneur

"These are exactly the kind of books I turn to regularly to help me examine and rebalance my heart, my priorities, and my walk with the Lord. David Mathis offers us here a basis to go towards the ever-increasing delights which are found in Christ through the habits resulting from grace. Habits that open a path for the ever more powerful flow of divine grace in, and through, our lives. »
–Nancy Leigh DeMoss, author, blogger and radio host

“Most people would say that training and discipline are necessary to achieve any goal: professional, school, athletic. But it would seem that Christians do not think of applying this principle to their spiritual life. In his excellent book, Everyday Grace, David Mathis convincingly demonstrates the importance of spiritual disciplines. And it does so in such an engaging way that it will motivate each of us to practice these various Christian disciplines. This book is important for young believers who are at the beginning of their journey, but it also serves as a reminder for those of us who have been on the journey for some time. »
–Jerry Bridges, author of Towards a holy life

“I think all Christians would like to derive maximum joy from their lives to the glory of the Lord. Why such a gulf between our ambition and our experience? Because of our impiety. This has the distinction of being the breeding ground for many other sins. In addition, she takes advantage of our time when distractions and temptations are legion ... And we remain far from God. David Mathis got it. He therefore offers us a remarkably correct and stimulating book to accompany us in our daily attachment to God through meditation on the Scriptures, prayer and fraternal communion. Anchored in biblical thought, this book goes beyond explaining what God expects of us: it teaches us to exercise those habits which place us in the presence of God and transform us. On a personal note, this reading renewed my determination to use the means of grace every day to experience more and more the blessings of Jesus' death and resurrection. Without a doubt, a book in which I will return when I am in difficulty in my piety. »
–Raphaël Charrier, pastor and blogger on ToutPourSaGloire.com

“There is not a single Christian in the world who can claim to have mastered the spiritual disciplines. Moreover, the more we grow in grace, the more we realize how little we know about listening to God, speaking to him and meditating on his graces. Our maturity only reveals our ineptitude. Grace in everyday life is a powerful guide when it comes to spiritual disciplines. It provides basic instruction to new believers, while providing renewed encouragement to those who have walked with the Lord for years. It is a joy for me to recommend this book to you. »
–Tim Challies, author of Do more. Better ; blogger on Challies.com

"When I was a child, spiritual disciplines were often surrounded by an aura of legalism. But nowadays, the trend has completely reversed and these notions seem to disappear completely. The very term "habit" can be off-putting in a culture of fun and autonomy. However, our character is globally the sum of our habits. Jesus promises to bless us through his means of grace: his Word, preached and written, baptism and the Lord's Supper. Like the first cry of a newborn baby, prayer is the basis of this life as a response to the grace given, and we hold on to it forever. In addition to prayer, there are other habits that flow from and are shaped by grace. I am grateful that La Grâce au everyday is putting the disciplines back on the agenda and, I hope, at the heart of our practices as well.
–Michael Horton, professor of systematic theology and apologetics at Westminster Seminary California; author of Calvin on the Christian Life

Table of contents

Foreword by John Piper
Preface
Introduction: An explosion of grace

Part 1 - HEAR HIS VOICE (THE WORD)

1. May your life be shaped by the Word of life
2. Read in breadth, study in depth
3. Warm up in the fire of meditation
4. Let the Bible Call Your Heart
5. Memorize God's Thoughts
6. Be determined to learn all your life

Part 2 - BE CAREFUL (PRAYER)

7. Look forward to having God's attention
8. Pray in Secret
9. Pray regularly and in the company of other believers
10. Strengthen Your Attachment to God Through Fasting
11. Keeping a Journal: A Path to Joy
12. Get out of the surrounding uproar

Part Three - BELONGING TO YOUR BODY (FRATERNAL COMMUNION)

13. Learn how to grow within your community
14. Fan the Flame with Collective Worship
15. Discerning Grace in Preaching
16. Plunge back into the purifying waters
17. Growing in Grace at the Lord's Table
18. Let yourself be taken back: a blessing

Part Four - AND TO FINISH…

19. Mission order
20. Money
21. Time

EPILOGUE - Communicating with Jesus during your "foolish days"
Acknowledgments
Notes
Index of biblical references

Details
Original title : Habits of Grace: Enjoying Jesus through the Spiritual Disciplines
Publisher: Cruciforme
Author : David Mathis
Publication : March 2019
ISBN : 978-2-924595-56-5
Pages : 251
Dimensions : 14 x 21 cm
Weight : 290 g
Format : paperback
Related resources
Read an extract

La grâce au quotidien

Cruciforme
Bientôt disponible
19,95 $
Disponible : 26 mars 2018
Écoutez sa voix. Parlez-lui. Appartenez à son corps.

Trois principes si simples et qui pourtant façonnent toute notre vie chrétienne: écouter la voix de Dieu, lui parler par la prière et vivre l’Église avec son peuple.

Nous les percevons souvent comme une banale routine. Mais ces principes nous permettent de vivre Sa grâce au quotidien. Ils sont les moyens par lesquels nous nous nourrissons de l’amour de Dieu et de sa puissance. Et surtout, ils nous permettent de vivre le plus beau cadeau de tous les temps : connaître Jésus et vivre une intimité profonde avec lui.
David Mathis est pasteur et rédacteur en chef du site de Desiring God.

« Ce petit livre de David Mathis est une mine d’or pour plusieurs raisons. D’abord, il donne envie de faire l’expérience régulière des “ moyens de grâce ” (parfois appelés “ disciplines spirituelles ”) en mettant l’accent sur tout ce que Dieu veut nous accorder par leur entremise. Ensuite, il organise commodément ces moyens de grâce en trois grandes catégories (Parole, prière, communion fraternelle), ce qui rend l’approche simple et accessible. Enfin, l’ouvrage est éminemment pratique : les conseils utiles, dispensés avec sagesse et bonté (sans jamais culpabiliser indûment les lecteurs), ont fait leurs preuves. En un mot, on a ici affaire à un véritable guide christocentrique de la vie chrétienne, à lire lentement et à mettre en pratique un pas à la fois. Tous les chrétiens en profiteront, autant ceux qui commencent dans la vie chrétienne que les plus expérimentés qui souhaitent faire le point sur leur vie dans sa globalité. À diffuser largement ! »
–Dominique Angers, professeur à la Faculté de Théologie Évangélique (Université Acadia, Montréal) et blogueur sur le site toutpoursagloire.com

« Bien que ce petit livre dise la même chose que de nombreux autres au sujet de la lecture de la Bible, de la prière et de la communion chrétienne (et de quelques autres sujets importants), sa grande force est qu’il nourrit ma détermination à lire la Bible, et il me donne soif de prier. Si ce qu’on appelle “ les moyens de grâce ” est présenté uniquement sous forme de devoirs, alors le point clé de la sanctification est la contrainte. Mais ici, les moyens de grâce sont clairement perçus comme des dons gracieux et des signes que Dieu est à l’oeuvre en nous. Cela augmente notre joie lorsque nous embrassons la liberté chrétienne, à la lumière de notre glorieux roi Jésus. »
–D. A. Carson, professeur-chercheur spécialisé dans le Nouveau Testament à « Trinity Evangelical Divinity School » ; cofondateur de The Gospel Coalition


« Voici enfin LE livre sur les moyens de grâce que je recherchais ! Il existe beaucoup de livres sur l’une ou l’autre des disciplines spirituelles. Mais La grâce au quotidien nous introduit aux trois moyens de grâce principaux d’un coup ! C’est donc le livre parfait à donner à chaque chrétien pour comprendre les cadeaux que sont la Bible, la prière et le peuple de Dieu. J’ai hâte que toute notre Église lise ce livre ! »
–Stéphane Kapitaniuk, pasteur à Eglise-Pont.com et blogueur sur ToutPourSaGloire.com

« Simple. Pratique. Efficace. Dans ce livre, Mathis parle avec brio de trois disciplines spirituelles centrales qui nous aideront à remettre de l’ordre dans nos vies et à fortifier notre foi. Dans un monde où tout semble de plus en plus compliqué, La grâce au quotidien nous aide à lever le pied pour nous recentrer sur ce qui est essentiel. »
–Louie Giglio, pasteur de l’Église « Passion City Church » à Atlanta ; fondateur des Passion Conferences

« Plus de simplicité, de stabilité, de confiance, de puissance spirituelle, et de joie
en Dieu. Qui n’en voudrait pas... plus ? Pour avancer, il nous faut la grâce divine. Pour avancer, il nous faut apprendre une saine discipline de vie, des habitudes transformatrices. Nous devons conjuguer la grâce exubérante de Jésus-Christ avec une réelle discipline personnelle, ordinaire et quotidienne. Ce livre, si abordable et agréable à lire, nous aidera tous. Car la Parole, la prière, et le partage (c’est à dire la vie de famille spirituelle, l’Église locale) sont les moyens d’une grâce simultanément ordinaire et extraordinaire. David Mathis nous a rendu un grand service par ce livre ! Prenez, lisez, profitez, vivez la grâce reçue par la discipline et la discipline nourrie par la grâce. »
–Edouard Nelson, pasteur, Paris 17e

« Loin de vouloir satisfaire notre envie de “ cocher des cases ” pour nous sentir mieux, l’auteur nous donne une vision solide de la discipline chrétienne, remplie de reconnaissance et d’enthousiasme envers notre Dieu. Tout en nous donnant une bonne théologie des disciplines spirituelles, David Mathis nous livre des pistes pratiques pour approfondir notre relation avec Dieu dès aujourd’hui. Je recommande fortement ce livre aux jeunes et moins jeunes dans la foi. »
–Nathan Lyotard, responsable groupe de jeunes et entrepreneur

« C’est exactement le genre de livres vers lequel je me tourne régulièrement pour m’aider à examiner et à rééquilibrer mon coeur, mes priorités et ma marche avec le Seigneur. David Mathis nous offre ici une base pour aller vers les délices sans cesse grandissants qui se trouvent en Christ à travers les habitudes issues de la grâce. Des habitudes qui ouvrent un chemin au flot toujours plus puissant de la grâce divine dans, et à travers, nos vies. »
–Nancy Leigh DeMoss, auteure, blogueuse et animatrice radio

« La plupart des gens diraient qu’entraînement et discipline sont nécessaires pour atteindre quelque but que ce soit : professionnel, scolaire, sportif. Mais il semblerait que les chrétiens ne pensent pas à appliquer ce principe à leur vie spirituelle. Dans son excellent livre, La grâce au quotidien, David Mathis démontre de façon convaincante l’importance des disciplines spirituelles. Et il le fait de manière si engageante qu’elle motivera chacun d’entre nous à pratiquer ces diverses disciplines chrétiennes. Ce livre est important pour les jeunes croyants qui sont au début de leur cheminement, mais il sert aussi de rappel pour ceux d’entre nous qui sommes déjà en chemin depuis un certain temps. »
–Jerry Bridges, auteur de Vers une vie sainte

« Je pense que tous les chrétiens voudraient tirer de leur vie un maximum de joie à la gloire du Seigneur. Pourquoi un tel gouffre entre notre ambition et notre expérience ? À cause de notre impiété. Celle-ci a la particularité d’être le terreau pour de nombreux autres péchés. De plus, elle tire profit de notre époque où les distractions et tentations sont légion… Et nous demeurons loin de Dieu. David Mathis a saisi cela. Il nous offre donc un livre remarquablement juste et stimulant pour nous accompagner dans notre attachement quotidien à Dieu par la méditation des Écritures, la prière et la communion fraternelle. Ancré dans la pensée biblique, ce livre va au-delà de l’exposé de ce que Dieu attend de nous : il nous apprend à exercer ces habitudes qui nous placent dans la présence de Dieu et nous transforment. À titre personnel, cette lecture a renouvelé ma détermination à utiliser chaque jour les moyens de la grâce afin d’expérimenter toujours plus les bénédictions de la mort et de la résurrection de Jésus. Sans nul doute, un livre dans lequel je reviendrai quand je serai en difficulté dans ma piété. »
–Raphaël Charrier, pasteur, et blogueur sur ToutPourSaGloire.com

« Il n’y a pas un seul chrétien au monde qui peut se vanter de maîtriser les disciplines spirituelles. D’ailleurs, plus nous grandissons dans la grâce, plus nous réalisons combien peu nous en savons sur l’écoute de Dieu, le fait de lui parler et de méditer sur ses grâces. Notre maturité ne fait que révéler notre inaptitude. La grâce au quotidien est un puissant guide en ce qui concerne les disciplines spirituelles. Il apporte aux nouveaux croyants des instructions de base, tout en en apportant un encouragement renouvelé à ceux qui marchent avec le Seigneur depuis des années. C’est une joie pour moi de vous recommander ce livre. »
–Tim Challies, auteur de Faire plus. Mieux ; blogueur sur Challies.com

« Quand j’étais enfant, les disciplines spirituelles étaient souvent entourées d’une aura de légalisme. Mais de nos jours, la tendance s’est complètement inversée et ces notions semblent disparaître complètement. Le terme même “ habitude ” peut être rebutant dans une culture de distraction et d’autonomie. Pourtant, notre caractère est globalement la somme de nos habitudes. Jésus promet de nous bénir à travers ses moyens de grâce : sa Parole, prêchée et écrite, le baptême et la Sainte Cène. Comme le premier cri d’un nouveau-né, la prière est à la base de cette vie comme une réponse à la grâce donnée, et nous nous y attachons pour toujours. En plus de la prière, il y a d’autres habitudes qui découlent de la grâce et sont modelées par elle. Je suis reconnaissant que La Grâce au quotidien remette les disciplines à l’ordre du jour et, je l’espère, au coeur de nos pratiques aussi. »
–Michael Horton, professeur de théologie systématique et d’apologétique au « Westminster Seminary California » ; auteur de Calvin on the Christian Life

Avant-propos de John Piper
Préface
Introduction : Une explosion de grâce

Première partie - ENTENDRE SA VOIX (LA PAROLE)

1. Que votre vie soit façonnée par la Parole de vie
2. Lire en largeur, étudier en profondeur
3. Réchauffez-vous au feu de la méditation
4. Laissez la Bible interpeller votre cœur
5. Mémorisez les pensées de Dieu
6. Soyez déterminé à apprendre toute votre vie

Deuxième partie - AVOIR SON ATTENTION (LA PRIÈRE)

7. Réjouissez-vous d’avoir l’attention de Dieu
8. Priez dans le secret
9. Priez régulièrement et en compagnie d’autres croyants
10. Renforcez votre attachement à Dieu par le jeûne
11. Tenir un journal : un chemin vers la joie
12. Sortez du tumulte ambiant

Troisième partie - APPARTENIR À SON CORPS (LA COMMUNION FRATERNELLE)

13. Apprenez à évoluer au sein de votre communauté
14. Attisez la flamme par l’adoration collective
15. Discerner la grâce au sein de la prédication
16. Se replonger dans les eaux purifiantes
17. Grandir en grâce à la table du Seigneur
18. Se laisser reprendre : une bénédiction

Quatrième partie - ET POUR FINIR…

19. L’ordre de mission
20. L’argent
21. Le temps

ÉPILOGUE - Communier avec Jésus pendant vos « folles journées »
Remerciements
Notes
Index des références bibliques

Titre originalHabits of Grace : Enjoying Jesus through the Spiritual Disciplines
Édition : BLF Éditions
Auteur : David Mathis
Parution : mars 2019
ISBN : 978-2-924595-56-5
Pages : 256
Dimensions : 14 x 21 cm
Format : broché