Skip to content

sing! (Chantons!)

15,95 $
translation missing: en.product.item.price.tax_line_html
Availablity: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon 71 in stock, ready to ship

There are many books to help us with Bible study, prayer, service, or evangelism, but few to help us sing. Yet this area deserves to receive so much attention; it is even linked to the development of these other spheres of our spiritual life.

In this book, Keith and Kristyn Getty present song as a vital aspect of our fellowship with God. They give us biblical, practical, and gospel-centered counsel to promote song and worship in the Church, as well as in our personal and family lives.

Browse through the first pages

Authors

KEITH and KRISTYN GETTY are known for their work as composers of modern hymns. By renewing the style of traditional hymns, creating new theologically rich songs, and integrating different musical genres into their compositions, they have rekindled the interest of a whole new generation in hymns. Their hymns, such as “In Jesus Alone,” are sung by millions of Christians every year. Through their tours and lectures, Keith and Kristyn encourage the Assemblies in their worship ministry.

Recommendations

“The importance of collective spiritual singing has never been demonstrated with such accuracy and simplicity as by the Getty. Let's sing! is an accessible and relevant book that will help pastors and worship teams lead their congregation in worship. By its practical approach and firmly anchored in the Word of God, this work leads us to better understand the mechanics of collective singing and pushes us to develop the art of singing together for the glory of God. "
- Sebastian Demrey, producer, arranger, composer and member of the group Héritage

“The Getty are a precious blessing sent from heaven to
enrich our praise. They were used by the Lord to give
to the Church, in this generation, songs both rich in
theological point of view and easy to sing about. More than anyone,
they paved the way for the long-awaited renewal of the hymns that
have always been the true music of the Church. "
- John MacArthur, pastor-teacher of Grace Community Church

“Two of the contemporary songs that never cease to move our French-speaking Churches“ In Jesus Alone ”and“ The Power of the Cross ”come from the pen of Keith and Kristyn Getty. Theological content, poetry and melody converge to uplift our soul in wonder and worship. However, Keith and Kristyn don't just compose and perform their songs! They want to revalue assembly song by reminding pastors, musicians and all Christians that song is an integral part of dynamic Church life. This book is unique, because it obliges everyone to put the quality of the performance into perspective and to direct their eyes to the One who created the music and the song to fill us with joy! "
- Mike Evans, Gospel 21 president

“Keith and Kristyn Getty's spiritual contribution to our generation is immeasurable. Their songwriting ministry and their zeal to offer God quality praise has contributed to a true revival of the English-speaking Church to put back at the center of praise songs rich in doctrine and musicality that instruct, nourish and edify. the Church. The Francophonie also needs such an awakening. Let's sing! highlights biblical and practical principles that will enable churches and families to rediscover true intention and depth in their common praise. I highly recommend this book to all Christians because it is rooted in the Gospel and rich in applications. "
- Philippe Viguier, pastor, author and coordinator of Hymns 21

“As a Christian who practices song in assembly (like you), I am convinced of the accuracy of the purpose of this book, in all its nuances. As a lyricist, co-editor of a songbook and worship leader, Chantons! touches me, calls out to me and questions me. The truths he exposes motivate me to get even more involved in the development of singing in assembly. No matter how involved you are in worshiping your church, you will find plenty of reasons to share the rich content of this totally relevant little book with others. Martin Luther was right: the song should not be confiscated from the community. Thanks to Keith and Kristyn for reminding you of this with this book, which seems rather simple, but how risky! "
- Marc Varidel, translator, lyricist, co-manager of the collection “Reflets” and co-founder of the choir Psalmodie

“This book is in perfect harmony with who the Getty have been and what they have represented to the Church for a decade, and that is what makes it so beautiful. Their contribution is decisive, not because of the extraordinary, but because it is marked by the ordinary: they are ordinary Christians who have an extraordinary impact, not thanks to their musical or theological qualifications, but thanks to their desire and willingness to devote themselves to the mundane things in life. Let's sing! reveals those ordinary things which made it possible for the Getty to be used by the Lord to bless, encourage and inspire many of us not only to “[sing] to the Lord a new song,” but also to love and appreciate the old hymns. I hope this practical, pastoral, theological, accessible and wonderful book will help and bless many of you. May he encourage us all to sing! "
- Voddie Baucham Jr., Dean of Theological Education, African Christian University in Lusaka, Zambia

“Let's sing! is wonderful! It is a treasure trove of forgotten and rediscovered principles for a new generation of worshipers. Let's sing! reminds me and my family that God uses music and the Word to transform the world, and that our role in his process of renewing all things is to open our mouths. "
- Kirk Cameron, actor and producer

“Here is a book worth buying. It is filled with biblical and practical reflections that, if we understand and take them to heart, will revolutionize singing in our congregations. "
- Alistair Begg, Pastor, Truth for Life Radio and Editor-in-Chief of the Spurgeon Study Bible

“It is rare to succeed in bringing together in a single book a theological reflection, lessons learned from several years of experience in the field, and remarkable readability. This book is at the same time evocative, informative, and accessible. "
- DA Carson, author, president and founder of The Gospel Coalition

“The Getty's have been helping us praise God for years now through the songs they have composed. Here they help us in a different way. This book encourages us to understand the importance of the place that song occupies in our spiritual life. Each chapter is short and easy to read, and concludes with good questions. Use it individually, in Bible studies or in Sunday school classes - read, savor, discuss -
and sing! "
- Mark Dever, Senior Pastor, Capitol Hill Baptist Church in Washington DC

“If there is one area of worship in the evangelical churches that needs reform, it is that of congregation singing. I am truly grateful that the Getty's take this vital aspect of our fellowship with God to heart. To experience this renewal, we must understand why singing together is so important. This book will be of great help to us on the subject. Everyone, pastors or not, should read it. "
- Ligon Duncan, President, Reformed Theological Seminary

“Keith and Kristyn's music has always been an inspiration to my worship life and has also helped deepen my faith. In an age when many contemporary Christian songs are bland, shallow, and theologically fragile, the songs of this team of reformers will stand the test of time. "
- Os Guinness, author of Beyond Doubt

“This practical book has four remarkable features: it is written by seasoned musicians and composers; he calls out to the whole body of Christ - including pastoral leaders, worship leaders, and professional Christian musicians - calling him to meaningful worship; it deals with personal, family and congregational worship; and it provides useful discussion questions that provide a framework for group study and reflection. This book will be widely used to promote song and worship in the Church. "
- Matthew Ebenezer, elder and teacher, Reformed Presbyterian Church of India and author of What the Apostles Believed: A Devotional Commentary

“It seems that at some point the Western Church began to believe that singing was reserved for singers. In this book, the Getty's take us back to an essential truth, which is that song is for all believers. Once we understand this, the question is no longer whether we have a good voice, but whether we have a good song. Let's sing! allows us to discover all the reasons why God put a new song in our hearts the moment we met him. Keith and Kristyn, thank you for this essential message. "
- Mike Harland, Director, LifeWay Worship Resource

“This book is full of ideas. In this tormented world we find our greatest joy in the deep truths of Jesus' love - truths communicated through excellent texts and melodies, and carried from Sunday into eternal life. That's what the Getty's do. This book explains why and how. "
- Matthew Harrison, President, LCMS

“Keith and Kristyn have served the Church with their songs for years. They decided to go even further and bless us today with their book Sing!, A veritable treasure trove of biblical, practical and gospel-centered advice for those who love to sing, who want to sing or who don't think they can. to sing. "
- Bob Kauflin, Director, Sovereign Grace Music

“This book reminds us that the most effective way to teach our children in the Christian faith is often to teach them the great truths contained in the lyrics of songs, hymns, and spiritual songs that we sing as families. I hope this book will motivate more mothers and fathers to make sure their children memorize the songs of Watts, Wesley, Toplady and so many others. "
- Bob Lepine, Vice President, FamilyLife Today, Radio Host

“Jonathan Edwards declared 'that no light in understanding is good unless it produces holy affection in the heart'. Keith and Kristyn Getty demonstrate, in their music and in this book, how singing God-centered songs creates “holy affection” in the hearts of God's people. So I urge all those who care to give God the worship he deserves to read this book along with Edwards', Treatise on Religious Affections. "
- Samuel Logan, President Emeritus, Westminster Theological Seminary (Penns.) And Deputy International Director, The World Reformed Fellowship

“I have a long history of observing trends in contemporary Church music, and had a strong desire that someone with the requisite knowledge and courage write such a book. I cannot recommend it enough to you. I also recommend that you share it with your church, small group, choir, and even the friends who are on your Christmas list. We must talk about what has become of worship today. We need to make sure that we sing to the Lord with his truth flowing in our hearts, filling our lungs, and pleasing our Lord. This is what we were created to do, but we are missing out on that end. Let Keith and Kristyn give you singing lessons for the soul with this book steeped in their beliefs and experiences. Read it and sing! "
- Robert Morgan, author of Then Sings My Soul

“I really like Keith and Kristyn Getty! I love them as friends, songwriters and worship leaders. They always manage to encourage my heart and make it sing! I pray not only that their music, but also this book, will have the same effect on others. "
- Anne Graham Lotz, author, speaker and daughter of Billy Graham


“I have read a lot about worship and music in worship - but I had never read anything about singing before! What a wonderful subject, and what a wonderful book! I didn't think I needed another reason to be grateful to Keith and Kristyn Getty. But now I have one! "
—Richard Mouw, President Emeritus, Fuller Theological Seminary

“One of Martin Luther's earliest works emphasizes the two essential elements of Church worship: preaching and song in congregation. This Getty's book makes an urgent appeal to Christians today not to give up our immense privilege of singing the praises that are rightfully theirs to our Creator and Redeemer. Read it, then sing. "
- Stephen J. Nichols, President, Reformation Bible College and Director of Studies, Ligonier Ministries

“Keith and Kristyn Getty are good friends of mine, and gifts from God to his Church. They teach us, help us, and lead us to sing in a way that reveres the holiness of God, reflects the Word of God, builds up the Church of God, and inspires us to serve in the mission for God in a world that desperately has need to know his glory. "
- David Platt, author of Follow me

“Keith and Kristyn are an inspiration to me and to many others. This excellent book is a stimulating treatise on Christian song that any pastor and worship leader, regardless of culture, should practice along with the Bible, so that Church song becomes a central part of the work. transformative experience of worship. "
- Yusin Pons, worship leader and composer, Baptist Convention of Western Cuba

“Many sing“ for the love of art ”, as artistic as it may sound. When it comes to singing to God, however, doing it “for the love of art” is not enough. Keith and Kristyn combine biblical precision with a dynamic writing style to show us the privilege and beauty of worshiping our Lord through song. This very easy to read book has already become a reference that will certainly help me train the next generation of worshipers in the personal, family and congregational context. "
- Otto Sanchez, author and pastor, Ozama Baptist Church in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

“Let's sing! is not just a book, it's a revolution. The music of Keith and Kristyn Getty has turned into a real movement in our churches. This book will take that movement from the platform to the congregation. What a wonderful gift for the Church that the Getty! What a wonderful gift for the future of our Churches is this book. "
- Thom S. Rainer, author of I Am a Church Member and President, LifeWay Christian Resources

“It is one thing to sing a song of praise to God when we are alone, and quite another when Christian friends join us with their harmonies. God designed and created us to sing together! Keith and Kristyn have a passion for making the Church sing in fellowship, with voices marrying in unison. Singing!, Their excellent new book, is a practical guide to reintroducing classical and contemporary hymns of the Church into the Church.
faith. You can help bring a refreshing, Spirit-blessed ministry of praise to your small group or congregation just by practicing the book you are holding ... So, turn the page and start singing! "
- Joni Eareckson Tada, Joni and Friends International Disability Center

“No other book, to my knowledge, has done what the Getty's on congregational singing does. It is informative, convincing and motivating; all serious pastors and Christians should read it. "
- Paul Tripp, author and president, Paul Tripp Ministries

Contents

Preface
How to use this book
Prelude: Let's sing!
Chapter 1. Created to… sing!
Chapter 2. God commands us to… sing!
Chapter 3. Urged to… sing!
Chapter 4. Let's Sing… with Heart and Spirit!
Chapter 5. Singing… with our family!
Chapter 6. Let's sing… with our local Church!
Chapter 7. The radical testimony of an assembly that… sings!
Postlude: Are you ready to sing?
Complementary tracks
• Track 1: For pastors and elders
• Track 2: For worship leaders and song leaders
• Track 3: For musicians, choirs and the technical team
• Track 4: For composers and creatives
Thanks
Notes

Details

Original title : Sing!
Authors : Keith & Kristyn Getty
Editing : Cruciform
Release : September 10, 2018
ISBN : 978-2-924595-38-1
Pages : 170
Dimensions : 5 "x 7"
Format : paperback
Weight : 190 g

Articles
Let's sing! - Kevin Stauffer
The radical testimony of an assembly that sings! - Keith Getty
Why Singing Together Matters Today More Than Ever - Keith Getty
5 Ways to Improve Common Praise - Keith Getty
OUR SAVIOR, JESUS CHRIST, SING (KEITH AND KRISTYN GETTY)
SONGS OF SALVATION IN SCRIPTURES (KEITH AND KRISTYN GETTY)
SING TO REMIND US OF WHAT GOD HAS ACCOMPLISHED IN OUR LIFE (KEITH AND KRISTYN GETTY)
CREATED TO… SING! (KEITH AND KRISTYN GETTY)
LET'S SING… WITH OUR FAMILY! TEN PRACTICAL IDEAS (KEITH AND KRISTYN GETTY)

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
.
.
Cet ouvrage est retenu dans notre assortiment.

Très bon livre qui replace le chant chrétien dans la vie quotidienne du croyant. L’auteur montre que le chant favorise la louange et aidera le chrétien à approfondir sa relation avec le Seigneur. Ce livre encourage tous les chrétiens à louer le Seigneur par le chant.

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
.
.
Cet ouvrage est retenu dans notre assortiment.

Très bon livre qui replace le chant chrétien dans la vie quotidienne du croyant. L’auteur montre que le chant favorise la louange et aidera le chrétien à approfondir sa relation avec le Seigneur. Ce livre encourage tous les chrétiens à louer le Seigneur par le chant.

Chantons !

Cruciforme
Bientôt disponible
15,95 $

Disponible : 10 septembre 2018

Il existe plusieurs livres pour nous aider avec l’étude de la Bible, la prière, le service ou l’évangélisation, mais peu pour nous aider à chanter. Pourtant, ce domaine mérite de recevoir autant d’attention ; il est même lié à l’épanouissement de ces autres sphères de notre vie spirituelle.

Dans ce livre, Keith et Kristyn Getty présentent le chant comme un aspect vital de notre communion avec Dieu. Ils nous donnent des conseils bibliques, pratiques et centrés sur l’Évangile pour promouvoir le chant et l’adoration dans l’Église ainsi que dans notre vie personnelle et familiale.

Auteurs

KEITH et KRISTYN GETTY sont connus pour leur travail en tant que compositeurs d’hymnes modernes. En renouvelant le style des hymnes traditionnels, en créant de nouveaux chants théologiquement riches, et en intégrant différents genres musicaux dans leurs compositions, ils ont su raviver l’intérêt d’une toute nouvelle génération pour les hymnes. Leurs cantiques, comme « En Jésus seul », sont chantés chaque année par des millions de chrétiens. À travers leurs tournées et leurs conférences, Keith et Kristyn encouragent les assemblées dans leur ministère de louange.

« L’importance du chant spirituel collectif n’a jamais été démontrée avec autant de justesse et de simplicité que par les Getty. Chantons ! est un livre accessible et pertinent qui aidera les pasteurs et les équipes de louange à conduire leur assemblée dans l’adoration. Par son approche pratique et ancrée solidement dans la Parole de Dieu, cet ouvrage nous amène à mieux comprendre la mécanique du chant collectif et nous pousse à développer l’art du chanter ensemble pour la gloire de Dieu. »
— Sebastian Demrey, producteur, arrangeur, compositeur et membre du groupe Héritage

« Les Getty sont une bénédiction précieuse envoyée du ciel pour
enrichir notre louange. Ils ont été utilisés par le Seigneur pour donner
à l’Église, dans cette génération, des chants à la fois riches du
point de vue théologique et faciles à chanter. Plus que quiconque,
ils ont ouvert la voie au renouveau tant attendu des cantiques qui
ont toujours été la véritable musique de l’Église. »
— John MacArthur, pasteur-enseignant de Grace Community Church

« Deux des chants contemporains qui ne cessent d’émouvoir nos Églises francophones « En Jésus seul » et « La Puissance de la Croix » nous proviennent de la plume de Keith et Kristyn Getty. Le contenu théologique, la poésie et la mélodie convergent pour élever notre âme dans l’émerveillement et l’adoration. Cependant, Keith et Kristyn ne se contentent pas de composer et d’interpréter leurs chants ! Ils veulent revaloriser le chant d’assemblée en rappelant aux pasteurs, comme aux musiciens et à l’ensemble des chrétiens, que le chant fait partie intégrante d’une vie d’Église dynamique. Ce livre est unique, car il oblige chacun à relativiser la qualité de la prestation et à diriger ses regards vers Celui qui a créé la musique et le chant pour nous remplir de joie ! »
— Mike Evans, président d’Évangile 21

« La contribution spirituelle de Keith et Kristyn Getty pour notre génération est immesurable. Leur ministère d’écriture de chants et leur zèle pour offrir à Dieu une louange de qualité ont contribué à un vrai réveil de l’Église anglophone pour remettre au centre de la louange des chants riches en doctrine et en musicalité qui instruisent, nourrissent et édifient l’Église. La francophonie a aussi besoin d’un tel réveil. Chantons ! met en lumière les principes bibliques et pratiques qui permettront aux Églises et aux familles de retrouver une vraie intentionnalité et une profondeur dans leur louange en commun. Je recommande vivement cet ouvrage à tous les chrétiens, car il est ancré dans l’Évangile et riche en applications. »
— Philippe Viguier, pasteur, auteur et coordinateur d’Hymnes 21

« En tant chrétien qui pratique le chant en assemblée (comme vous), je suis convaincu de la justesse du propos de ce livre, et ce, dans toutes ses nuances. En tant que parolier, co-responsable d’un recueil de chants et animateur de louange, Chantons ! me touche, m’interpelle et me remet en question. Les vérités qu’il expose me motivent à m’engager encore plus dans la mise en valeur du chant en assemblée. Quelle que soit votre implication dans la louange à votre église, vous y trouverez de nombreuses raisons de transmettre à d’autres le riche contenu de ce petit livre totalement pertinent. Martin Luther avait raison : le chant ne doit pas être confisqué à la communauté. Merci à Keith et Kristyn de le rappeler par cet ouvrage plutôt simple en apparence, mais combien risqué ! »
— Marc Varidel, traducteur, parolier, co-responsable du recueil « Reflets » et co-fondateur de la chorale Psalmodie

« Ce livre est en parfaite harmonie avec ce que sont les Getty et ce qu’ils représentent pour l’Église depuis une décennie, et c’est là ce qui en fait toute la beauté. Leur contribution est déterminante, non en raison de l’extraordinaire, mais parce qu’elle est marquée par l’ordinaire : ce sont des chrétiens ordinaires qui ont un impact extraordinaire, non pas grâce à leurs qualifications musicales ou théologiques, mais grâce à leur désir et leur volonté de se dévouer aux choses ordinaires de la vie. Chantons ! révèle ces choses ordinaires qui ont permis aux Getty d’être utilisés par le Seigneur pour bénir, encourager et pousser nombre d’entre nous non seulement à “[chanter] à l’Éternel un cantique nouveau”, mais également à aimer et à apprécier les anciens cantiques. J’espère que ce livre pratique, pastoral, théologique, accessible et merveilleux aidera et bénira beaucoup d’entre vous. Qu’il puisse tous nous encourager à chanter ! »
— Voddie Baucham Jr., doyen de l’éducation théologique, African Christian University à Lusaka, en Zambie

« Chantons ! est merveilleux ! C’est un trésor de principes oubliés et redécouverts pour une nouvelle génération d’adorateurs. Chantons ! nous rappelle, à moi et à ma famille, que Dieu se sert de la musique et de la Parole pour transformer le monde, et que notre rôle, dans son processus de renouvellement de toutes choses consiste à ouvrir notre bouche. »
— Kirk Cameron, acteur et producteur

« Voici un ouvrage qu’il vaut la peine d’acheter. Il est rempli de réflexions bibliques et pratiques qui, si nous les comprenons et les prenons à cœur, révolutionneront le chant dans nos congrégations. »
— Alistair Begg, pasteur, Truth for Life Radio et rédacteur en chef de la Spurgeon Study Bible

« Il est rare de réussir à réunir dans un seul livre une réflexion théologique, des leçons tirées de plusieurs années d’expérience sur le terrain et une remarquable lisibilité. Cet ouvrage est à la fois évocateur, instructif, et accessible. »
— D. A. Carson, auteur, président et fondateur de The Gospel Coalition

« Voilà des années maintenant que les Getty nous aident à louer Dieu grâce aux chants qu’ils ont composés. Ici, ils nous aident d’une façon différente. Ce livre nous encourage à saisir l’importance de la place qu’occupe le chant dans notre vie spirituelle. Chaque chapitre est court et facile à lire, et conclut en posant de bonnes questions. Utilisez-le de manière individuelle, dans des études bibliques ou dans des classes d’école du dimanche – lisez, savourez, discutez –
et chantez ! »
— Mark Dever, pasteur principal, Capitol Hill Baptist Church à Washington D.C.

« S’il y a, dans les Églises évangéliques, un domaine de l’adoration qui a besoin d’être réformé, c’est bien celui du chant en assemblée. Je suis vraiment reconnaissant que les Getty aient à cœur cet aspect vital de notre communion avec Dieu. Pour faire l’expérience de ce renouvellement, nous devons comprendre pourquoi le fait de chanter ensemble est si important. Ce livre nous sera d’une grande aide sur le sujet. Tous, pasteurs ou non, devraient le lire. »
— Ligon Duncan, président, Reformed Theological Seminary

« La musique de Keith et Kristyn a toujours été une source d’inspiration pour ma vie d’adoration et a également contribué à approfondir ma foi. À une époque où bien des chants chrétiens contemporains sont insipides, superficiels et théologiquement fragiles, les chants de cette équipe de réformateurs résisteront à l’épreuve du temps. »
— Os Guinness, auteur d’Au-delà du doute

« Ce livre pratique possède quatre particularités remarquables : il est rédigé par des musiciens et compositeurs chevronnés ; il interpelle tout le corps de Christ – y compris les responsables pastoraux, les dirigeants de la louange et les musiciens chrétiens professionnels – en l’appelant à une adoration pleine de sens ; il aborde l’adoration personnelle, familiale et congrégationnelle ; et il fournit des questions de discussion utiles qui donnent un cadre pour des études en groupe et pour la réflexion. Ce livre sera largement employé pour promouvoir le chant et l’adoration dans l’Église. »
— Matthew Ebenezer, ancien et enseignant, Reformed Presbyterian Church of India et auteur de What the Apostles Believed: A Devotional Commentary

« Il semble qu’à un certain moment l’Église occidentale ait commencé à croire que le chant était réservé aux chanteurs. Dans ce livre, les Getty nous ramènent à une vérité essentielle, à savoir que le chant est pour tous les croyants. Une fois que nous l’avons compris, la question n’est plus de savoir si nous avons une bonne voix, mais si nous avons un bon chant. Chantons ! nous permet de découvrir toutes les raisons pour lesquelles Dieu a mis un chant nouveau dans notre cœur au moment où nous l’avons rencontré. Keith et Kristyn, merci pour ce message indispensable. »
— Mike Harland, directeur, LifeWay Worship Resource

« Ce livre pétille d’idées. Dans ce monde tourmenté, nous trouvons notre plus grande joie dans les vérités profondes de l’amour de Jésus – vérités communiquées par d’excellents textes et mélodies, et portées du dimanche jusque dans la vie éternelle. C’est ce que font les Getty. Ce livre en explique le pourquoi et le comment. »
— Matthew Harrison, président, LCMS

« Keith et Kristyn servent l’Église par leurs chants depuis des années. Ils ont décidé d’aller encore plus loin et nous bénissent aujourd’hui avec leur livre Chantons !, un véritable trésor de conseils bibliques, pratiques et centrés sur l’Évangile pour ceux qui aiment chanter, qui veulent chanter ou qui ne pensent pas pouvoir chanter. »
— Bob Kauflin, directeur, Sovereign Grace Music

« Ce livre nous rappelle que le moyen le plus efficace d’instruire nos enfants dans la foi chrétienne est souvent de leur enseigner les grandes vérités contenues dans les paroles des chansons, des cantiques et des chants spirituels que nous chantons en famille. J’espère que cet ouvrage motivera plus de mères et de pères à s’assurer que leurs enfants mémorisent les chants de Watts, Wesley, Toplady et de tant d’autres. »
— Bob Lepine, vice-président, FamilyLife Today, animateur de radio

« Jonathan Edwards a déclaré “qu’aucune lumière dans la compréhension n’est bonne sans qu’elle ne produise dans le cœur une sainte affection”. Keith et Kristyn Getty démontrent, dans leur musique et dans ce livre, comment le fait de chanter des chants centrés sur Dieu crée “une sainte affection” dans le cœur du peuple de Dieu. J’exhorte donc tous ceux qui sont soucieux d’apporter à Dieu l’adoration qu’il mérite à lire ce livre en même temps que celui d’Edwards, Treatise on Religious Affections. »
— Samuel Logan, président émérite, Westminster Theological Seminary (Penns.) et directeur international adjoint, The World Reformed Fellowship

« J’observe depuis longtemps les tendances de la musique contemporaine de l’Église, et je désirais vivement que quelqu’un ayant la connaissance et le courage requis écrive un tel livre. Je ne peux me contenter de vous le recommander. Je recommande également que vous le partagiez avec votre Église, votre petit groupe, votre chorale et même les amis qui figurent sur votre liste de Noël. Il faut parler de ce qu’est devenue l’adoration aujourd’hui. Nous devons nous assurer que nous chantons au Seigneur avec sa vérité qui coule dans notre cœur, remplit nos poumons et plaît à notre Seigneur. C’est ce pour quoi nous avons été créés, mais nous sommes en train de passer à côté de cette finalité. Laissez Keith et Kristyn vous donner des leçons de chant pour l’âme avec ce livre empreint de leurs convictions et de leurs expériences. Lisez-le et chantez ! »
— Robert Morgan, auteur de Then Sings My Soul

« J’aime beaucoup Keith et Kristyn Getty ! Je les aime en tant qu’amis, compositeurs et dirigeants de louange. Ils arrivent toujours à encourager mon coeur et à l’inciter à chanter ! Je prie non seulement que leur musique, mais aussi ce livre, aient le même effet pour d’autres. »
— Anne Graham Lotz, auteure, oratrice et fille de Billy Graham


« J’ai beaucoup lu sur l’adoration et sur la musique dans la louange – mais je n’avais encore jamais rien lu sur le simple fait de chanter ! Quel merveilleux sujet, et quel merveilleux livre ! Je ne pensais pas avoir besoin d’une raison supplémentaire pour être reconnaissant envers Keith et Kristyn Getty. Mais maintenant, j’en ai une ! »
—Richard Mouw, président émérite, Fuller Theological Seminary

« L’un des premiers ouvrages de Martin Luther souligne les deux éléments essentiels du culte de l’Église : la prédication et le chant en assemblée. Ce livre des Getty lance un appel urgent aux chrétiens de notre époque à ne pas abandonner notre immense privilège de chanter à notre Créateur et Rédempteur les louanges qui lui reviennent. Lisez-le, puis, chantez. »
— Stephen J. Nichols, président, Reformation Bible College et directeur des études, Ligonier Ministries

« Keith et Kristyn Getty sont de bons amis à moi, et des dons de Dieu pour son Église. Ils nous enseignent, nous aident et nous conduisent à chanter d’une manière qui révère la sainteté de Dieu, reflète la Parole de Dieu, édifie l’Église de Dieu et nous pousse à servir dans la mission pour Dieu dans un monde qui a désespérément besoin de connaître sa gloire. »
— David Platt, auteur de Suis-moi

« Keith et Kristyn sont une source d’inspiration pour moi et pour beaucoup d’autres. Cet excellent livre est un traité stimulant sur le chant chrétien que tout pasteur et dirigeant de louange, quelle que soit sa culture, devrait mettre en pratique en même temps que la Bible, afin que le chant de l’Église devienne un élément primordial de l’expérience transformatrice qu’est l’adoration. »
— Yusin Pons, dirigeant de louange et compositeur, Baptist Convention of Western Cuba

« Plusieurs chantent “par amour de l’art”, aussi artistique que cela puisse paraître. Lorsqu’il s’agit de chanter à Dieu, pourtant, le faire “par amour de l’art” ne suffit pas. Keith et Kristyn associent la précision biblique et un style d’écriture dynamique afin de nous montrer le privilège et la beauté d’adorer notre Seigneur par le chant. Ce livre très facile à lire est déjà devenu une référence qui m’aidera certainement à former la prochaine génération d’adorateurs dans le contexte personnel, familial et congrégationnel. »
— Otto Sanchez, auteur et pasteur, Ozama Baptist Church à Saint-Domingue, en République dominicaine

« Chantons ! n’est pas seulement un livre, c’est une révolution. La musique de Keith et Kristyn Getty s’est transformée en véritable mouvement dans nos Églises. Ce livre amènera ce mouvement de l’estrade jusqu’à la congrégation. Quel don merveilleux pour l’Église que les Getty ! Quel don merveilleux pour l’avenir de nos Églises que ce livre. »
— Thom S. Rainer, auteur de I Am a Church Member et président, LifeWay Christian Resources

« C’est une chose de chanter un chant de louange à Dieu lorsque nous sommes seuls et c’en est une autre lorsque des amis chrétiens se joignent à nous avec leurs harmonies. Dieu nous a conçus et créés pour chanter ensemble ! Keith et Kristyn ont une passion pour faire chanter l’Église en communion, avec les voix se mariant à l’unisson. Chantons !, leur excellent nouveau livre, est un guide pratique pour réintroduire dans l’Église des cantiques classiques et actuels de la
foi. Vous pouvez contribuer à présenter un ministère de louange rafraîchissant et béni par l’Esprit dans votre petit groupe ou votre congrégation simplement en mettant en pratique le livre que vous tenez entre les mains… Alors, tournez la page et commencez à chanter ! »
— Joni Eareckson Tada, Joni and Friends International Disability Center

« Aucun autre livre, à ma connaissance, n’est parvenu à faire ce que celui des Getty sur le chant en assemblée accomplit. Il est instructif, convaincant et motivant ; tous les pasteurs et chrétiens sérieux devraient le lire. »
— Paul Tripp, auteur et président, Paul Tripp Ministries

Préface
Comment utiliser ce livre
Prélude : Chantons !
Chapitre 1. Créés pour… chanter ! 
Chapitre 2. Dieu nous ordonne de… chanter !
Chapitre 3. Poussés à… chanter !
Chapitre 4. Chantons… avec le cœur et l’esprit !
Chapitre 5. Chantons… avec notre famille !
Chapitre 6. Chantons… avec notre Église locale !
Chapitre 7. Le témoignage radical d’une assemblée qui… chante !
Postlude : Êtes-vous prêts à chanter ?
Pistes complémentaires
• Piste 1 : Pour les pasteurs et les anciens
• Piste 2 : Pour les responsables de la louange et les conducteurs de chants
• Piste 3 : Pour les musiciens, les chorales et l’équipe technique
• Piste 4 : Pour les compositeurs et les créatifs
Remerciements
Notes

Titre original : Sing!
Auteurs : Keith & Kristyn Getty
Édition : Cruciforme
Parution : 10 septembre 2018
ISBN : 978-2-924595-381
Pages : 170
Dimensions : 5" x 7"
Format : broché