Skip to content

Dare To Stand Alone (Daniel - debout, jusqu'au bout) 

19,95 $
translation missing: en.product.item.price.tax_line_html
Availablity: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon 25 in stock, ready to ship

Daniel is a strange character. Everyone seems to know him, but we often find that we don't know much about him. One of the very few men of whom the Bible says nothing negative, he lived at a time of great spiritual and societal cataclysms. The testimony of his life is therefore very relevant to the present day.

Deported to a distant and foreign land while still a teenager, he must live out his faith in an entirely pagan culture and in hostile and confusing situations. And, through it all, Daniel stands firm for God, and he does so until the end of his very long life.

There is another aspect to the book of his prophecy. God entrusts to him the mysteries of what he is going to do in the history of this world to accomplish his plan of redemption, both in the centuries to come and until the end of time.

The style of the book is confusing at times, since much of it belongs to a literary style that is unused today. So it's good to have a guide like Dr. Olyott to explore the twists and turns of this prophecy to good effect. The believer who perseveres in this task will be greatly rewarded, because a good understanding of Daniel's prophecy illuminates many panoramas on the plan of redemption that God pursues in his grace in Jesus Christ.

A lively and simple style, but complete and faithful to the text. A welcome addition to the French-speaking believer's library.

Browse the first pages

Author

Stuart Olyott - After serving many years as a pastor, in Liverpool and then in Lausanne, he served as pastoral director of the Evangelical Movement in Wales. He also taught at Bryntirion, the Welsh Evangelical Theological College before going on a very active retreat. He is the author of numerous books, many of which have been translated into French.

Table of contents

Preface
Introduction - Let's set the scene

1. In Babylon
2. Nebuchadnezzar's Dream
3. The Burning Furnace
4. Nebuchadnezzar's U-turn
5. The road to perdition
6. In the lion's den
7. The vision of the four animals
8. The little horn
9. A big prayer
10. The Old Man's Vision
11. History is His story
12. Antiochus Epiphanes!
13. The end!

Details

Original title : Dare To Stand Alone
Author : Stuart Olyott
Edition : Europresse
Publication : October 2020
ISBN : 978-2-914562-97-3
Pages : 197
Dimensions : 5.43 "x 8.5"
Format : paperback
Weight : 242 g

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Daniel - debout, jusqu'au bout

Europresse
Bientôt disponible
19,95 $

Disponible : 3 novembre

Daniel est un personnage étrange. Tout le monde semble le connaître, mais on s’aperçoit souvent qu’on ne sait pas grand-chose sur lui. Un des très rares hommes desquels la Bible ne dit rien de négatif, il vécut à une époque de grands cataclysmes spirituels et sociétaux. Le témoignage de sa vie est donc très pertinent pour l’époque actuelle.

Déporté dans un pays lointain et étranger alors qu’il est encore un adolescent, il doit vivre sa foi dans une culture entièrement païenne et dans des situations hostiles et déroutantes. Et, au travers de tout cela, Daniel tient bon pour Dieu, et il le fait jusqu’au bout de sa très longue vie.

Le livre de sa prophétie présente aussi un autre aspect. Dieu lui confie les mystères de ce qu’il va faire dans l’histoire de ce monde pour accomplir son dessein de rédemption, à la fois dans les siècles à venir et jusqu’à la fin des temps.

Le style du livre est parfois déroutant puisqu’il appartient pour une bonne partie à un style littéraire inutilisé aujourd’hui. Il est donc bon d’avoir un guide tel que le docteur Olyott pour explorer à profit les méandres de cette prophétie. Le croyant qui persévérera dans cette tâche sera grandement récompensé, car une bonne compréhension de la prophétie de Daniel éclaire de très nombreux panoramas sur le plan de rédemption que Dieu poursuit dans sa grâce en Jésus-Christ.

Un style vivant et simple, mais complet et fidèle au texte. Un ajout bienvenu dans la bibliothèque du croyant francophone.

Feuilleter les premières pages

Stuart Olyott — Après avoir servi de nombreuses années comme pasteur, à Liverpool puis à Lausanne, il a servi comme directeur pastoral du Mouvement évangélique du Pays de Galles. Il a aussi donné des cours à Bryntirion, le Collège de théologie évangélique gallois avant de mener une retraite très active. Il est l’auteur de très nombreux livres, dont plusieurs sont traduits en français.

Préface
Introduction - Mettons le décor en place

1. À Babylone
2. Le rêve de Nebucadnetsar
3. La fournaise ardente
4. Le demi-tour de Nebucadnetsar
5. Le chemin de la perdition
6. Dans la fosse aux lions
7. La vision des quatre animaux
8. La petite corne
9. Une grande prière
10. La vision du vieil homme
11. L'Histoire est Son histoire
12. Antiochus Épiphane !
13. La fin !

Titre originalDare To Stand Alone
Auteur : Stuart Olyott
Édition : Europresse
Parution : octobre 2020
ISBN : 978-2-914562-97-3
Pages : 197
Dimensions : 5,43" x 8,5"
Format : broché

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)