Skip to content

Engaging with God. A Biblical Theology of Worship (En Esprit et en vérité) 

Out of stock
Original price 45,00 $
Current price 19,95 $
translation missing: en.product.item.price.tax_line_html
Availablity: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon Out of stock

So what is this relationship to God that we call "worship" and "praise'', depending on the place and time? The author, at the end of a masterful overview of the biblical books concerned, shows that it is a particular way of entering into a relationship with God, a relationship for which God himself sets the conditions and the means. 

But this worshipful relationship is not just individual. Worship, contrary to popular belief, is not a simple act of personal piety. Indeed, the worship relationship is twofold: an expression of the believer's attachment to God, it is also service to others.

It is important that the worship, the adoration, the praise of Christians are nourished by the biblical text, otherwise this fundamental dimension of the life and the commitment of the Christian risks losing part of its richness. This book offers us an opportunity to revise our practices, our habits, and especially our ways of thinking, in the light of the richness of the practice and the thought of the Temple of the Old Testament, of Jesus, of the first Churches, of Paul, from the Epistle to the Hebrews and even from the Apocalypse to finally worship ... in Spirit and in truth.

Details

Original title : Engaging with God. A Biblical Theology of Worship
Author : David Peterson
Publisher : Excelsis
Pages : 344
Weight : 370 g
Legal deposit : 2005
Dimensions : 14 x 21 cm
ISBN : 9782755000245

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

En Esprit et en vérité

Excelsis
Vente
22,50 $

Quel est donc ce rapport à Dieu qu’on appelle « adoration », « louange » ou « culte », selon les lieux et les moments ? L’auteur, au terme d’un magistral survol des livres bibliques concernés, montre qu’il s’agit d’une manière particulière d’entrer en relation avec Dieu, relation dont Dieu lui-même fixe les conditions et les moyens.

Mais cette relation d’adoration n’est pas seulement individuelle. Le culte, contrairement à ce qu’on suppose parfois, n’est pas un simple acte de piété personnelle. En effet, la relation d’adoration est double : expression de l’attachement du croyant à Dieu, elle est aussi service des autres.

Il est important que le culte, l’adoration, la louange des chrétiens soient nourris du texte biblique, faute de quoi cette dimension fondamentale de la vie et de l’engagement du chrétien risque de perdre une partie de sa richesse. Ce livre nous offre une occasion de réviser nos pratiques, nos habitudes, et surtout nos manières de penser, à la lumière de la richesse de la pratique et de la pensée du Temple de l’Ancien Testament, de Jésus, des premières Églises, de Paul, de l’épître aux Hébreux et même de l’Apocalypse pour enfin adorer... en Esprit et en vérité.

David Peterson est un théologien australien ayant fait des études de théologie à Londres. Il a obtenu un doctorat à l’université de Manchester (sa thèse portait sur le concept de la perfection dans l’épitre aux Hébreux) en 1978. Il a été pasteur de l’église anglicane d’Australie, professeur de Nouveau Testament au Moore College à Sydney, doyen du Oak Hill Theological College à Londres.

Titre original : Engaging with God. A Biblical Theology of Worship
Auteur : David Peterson
Éditeur : Excelsis
Pages : 344
Parution : 2005
Dimensions : 14 x 21 cm
ISBN : 978-2-7550-0024-5
Format : broché