Skip to content

 Church in Hard Places (eBook) (Être l'Église là où c'est difficile)  

8,95 $

** eBook in ePub and Kindle (.mobi) format **

------------------------

Do you need help reading our eBooks?
CLICK HERE

It is impossible to alleviate poverty, in the broad sense, outside the local Church.

In recent years, evangelical Christians seem to be increasingly involved in the fight against poverty. However, this renewed interest in alleviating poverty is doomed to failure if it is not grounded in the local church, the means established by God to draw the oppressed into a transformative relationship with Him. Emphasizing the priority of the gospel, Mez McConnell and Mike McKinley, two pastors working in successful ministries with the poor, offer Bible counseling and practical strategies for church planting, revitalization and growth where it is. difficult, whether in our own communities or elsewhere in the world.

Browse the first pages

Authors

MEZ MCCONNELL (B. A., Moorlands College) is the Senior Pastor of Niddrie Community Church in Edinburgh, Scotland. He is the founder of 20Schemes, a ministry dedicated to the planting of gospel-centered churches in the public housing areas of Scotland.

MIKE MCKINLEY (M. Div., Westminster Theological Seminary) is the Senior Pastor of Sterling Park Baptist Church in Sterling, Virginia.

Recommendations

“Coming from both sides of the Atlantic, two pastors unite to tell their stories of pastoring in difficult terrain. Mike McKinley and Mez McConnell care about what the Bible teaches, about people, and about the local church. Their stories are filled with love, joy, humor and wisdom. I pray that this inspiring and compelling book will encourage others to work for the advancement of the gospel in places where there are no witnesses to this day.
- MARK DEVER, Senior Pastor of Capitol Hill Baptist Church, Washington, DC; president of 9Marks

Mez McConnell and Mike McKinley wrote a book we need. Being the Church where it is difficult comes in handy and will teach the new generation to take seriously the advancement of the gospel and church planting in difficult settings and settings. Those who have the highest regard for God and grace must be the ones who show the most passion to see the Church grow in the most difficult places. Mez and Mike encourage us in this direction. »
- J. LIGON DUNCAN III, President and CEO of Reformed Theological Seminary, Jackson, Mississippi

"McConnell and McKinley have done us a great service in coming together to write an accessible, passionate and fundamental book. Rarely have I read such a mixture of gospel ambition and startling realism. This is probably because the authors are not just theorists; they are also active in the field. May God grant us to see many more rise up and take action, through reading this book, to accomplish the vital task of reaching the hardest to reach. "
- Steve Timmis, Managing Director of Acts 29 Church Planting Network

"Finally! A book that touches on the crucial aspect of gospel mission and that is saturated with scripture, gospel-centered, and church-centered. To be the Church where it is difficult is a gift for the Church. »
- JARED C. WILSON, Strategic Marketing Director at Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

“If your heart is moved with compassion for the weak and the afflicted of this world, this book is for you. But I have to warn you: this book is not what you think. Rather, this is the book you need to read. Mike McKinley and Mez McConnell argue that while it is cruel to ignore the needs of the weak and the afflicted, their greatest need remains the same as that of all human beings: to turn away from sin, to cling to Christ, and to to grow in grace and in the knowledge of Christ within a good community of believers who support one another under the faithful leadership of caring pastors who equip the Church for constant ministry. Without it, we only meet temporary needs and offer no immediate hope for a transformed life. »
- Juan R. Sanchez Jr., Senior Pastor of High Point Baptist Church, Austin, Texas

Table of contents

Preface to the
Preface
Introduction

Part One: The Gospel Where It Is Difficult
1 What is poverty?
2 What gospel do they need?
3 Does doctrine matter?

Part two: The Church where it is difficult
4 The paraecclesial problem
5 The local Church: the solution
6 The work of evangelization
7 The role of preaching
8 The importance of membership
and discipline

Part Three: Work Where It Is Difficult
9 Prepare yourself
10 Prepare the ground
11 Prepare to change your mentality
12 Before embarking on a compassionate ministry

Conclusion: Evaluate the cost ... and the reward

Details

Original title : Church in Hard Places
Authors : Mez McConnell & Mike McKinley
Publisher : Cruciforme
ISBN : 978-2-924595-51-0
Publication : October 2018
Pages : 214
Format : eBook
Weight : 236 g

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
S
Sylvain
Livre pertinent sur la mission

Ce livre place l'église locale au centre de la mission auprès des milieux défavorisés. La priorité à la proclamation de L'Evangile contrairement au ministère d'entraide car il s'agit du plus sérieux problème des nécessiteux.

Être l'Église là où c'est difficile (eBook)

Cruciforme
9,95 $

**eBook en format ePub et Kindle (.mobi)**

------------------------

Vous avez besoin d'aide pour lire nos eBooks ?
CLIQUEZ ICI

Il est impossible de soulager la pauvreté, au sens large, en dehors de l'Église locale.

Depuis quelques années, les chrétiens évangéliques semblent s’engager de plus en plus dans la lutte contre la pauvreté. Toutefois, cet intérêt renouvelé pour le soulagement de la pauvreté est voué à l’échec s’il n’est pas fondé sur l’Église locale, le moyen établi par Dieu pour attirer les opprimés dans une relation transformatrice avec lui. Accentuant la priorité de l’Évangile, Mez McConnell et Mike McKinley, deux pasteurs œuvrant dans des ministères fructueux auprès des pauvres, offrent des conseils bibliques et des stratégies pratiques pour l’implantation, la revitalisation et la croissance des Églises là où c’est difficile, que cela soit dans nos propres communautés ou ailleurs dans le monde.

MEZ MCCONNELL (B. A., Moorlands College) est le pasteur principal de Niddrie Community Church à Édimbourg, en Écosse. Il est le fondateur de 20Schemes, un ministère dévoué à l’implantation d’Églises centrées sur l’Évangile dans les quartiers de logements sociaux d’Écosse.

MIKE MCKINLEY (M. Div., Westminster Theological Seminary) est le pasteur principal de Sterling Park Baptist Church à Sterling, en Virginie.

« Provenant des deux côtés de l’Atlantique, deux pasteurs s’unissent pour raconter leurs histoires de pastorat en terrains difficiles. Mike McKinley et Mez McConnell se soucient de ce que la Bible enseigne, des gens et de l’Église locale. Leurs histoires sont empreintes d’amour, de joie, d’humour et de sagesse. Je prie que ce livre inspirant et convaincant encourage les autres à œuvrer pour l’avancement de l’Évangile dans les endroits où il n’y a à ce jour aucun témoin. »
— MARK DEVER, pasteur principal de Capitol Hill Baptist Church, Washington, DC ; président de 9Marks

Mez McConnell et Mike McKinley ont écrit un livre dont nous avons besoin. Être l’Église là où c’est difficile arrive à point et enseignera la nouvelle génération à prendre au sérieux l’avancement de l’Évangile et l’implantation d’Églises dans les milieux et les contextes difficiles. Ceux qui ont la plus haute estime de Dieu et de la grâce se doivent d’être ceux qui démontrent le plus de passion pour voir l’Église grandir dans les endroits les plus ardus. Mez et Mike nous encouragent dans cette direction. »
— J. LIGON DUNCAN III, président et PDG du Reformed Theological Seminary, Jackson, Mississippi

« McConnell et McKinley nous ont rendu un grand service en s’unissant pour écrire un livre accessible, passionné et fondamental. J’ai rarement lu un tel mélange d’ambition pour l’Évangile et de réalisme saisissant. C’est probablement parce que les auteurs ne sont pas simplement des théoriciens ; ils sont aussi actifs sur le terrain. Que Dieu nous donne de voir beaucoup d’autres personnes se lever et agir, grâce à la lecture de ce livre, pour accomplir la tâche vitale d’atteindre les plus difficiles à rejoindre. »
— Steve Timmis, directeur général d’Acts 29 Church Planting Network

« Enfin ! Un livre qui aborde l’aspect crucial de la mission de l’Évangile et qui est saturé des Écritures, centré sur l’Évangile et axé sur l’Église. Être l’Église là où c’est difficile est un cadeau pour l’Église. »
— JARED C. WILSON, directeur marketing stratégique au Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary

« Si votre coeur est ému de compassion pour les faibles et les affligés de ce monde, ce livre est pour vous. Mais je dois vous prévenir : ce livre n’est pas ce que vous pensez. Il s’agit plutôt du livre que vous devez lire. Mike McKinley et Mez McConnell soutiennent que bien qu’il soit cruel d’ignorer les besoins des faibles et des affligés, leur plus grand besoin demeure le même que celui de tous les êtres humains : se détourner du péché, s’attacher à Christ et croître dans la grâce et la connaissance de Christ au sein d’une bonne communauté de croyants qui se soutiennent les uns les autres sous le leadership fidèle de pasteurs attentionnés qui équipent l’Église pour un ministère constant. Sans cela, nous ne comblons que des besoins temporaires et nous n’offrons aucun espoir immédiat pour une vie transformée. »
— Juan R. Sanchez Jr., pasteur principal de High Point Baptist Church, Austin, Texas

Préface de la série
Préface
Introduction

Première partie : L’Évangile là où c’est difficile
1 Qu’est-ce que la pauvreté ?
2 De quel Évangile ont‑ils besoin ?
3 Est-ce que la doctrine compte ?

Deuxième partie : L’Église là où c’est difficile
4 Le problème paraecclésial
5 L’Église locale : la solution
6 Le travail d’évangélisation
7 Le rôle de la prédication
8 L’importance de l’adhésion comme membre
et de la discipline

Troisième partie : L’oeuvre là où c’est difficile
9 Préparez-vous
10 Préparez le terrain
11 Préparez-vous à changer votre mentalité
12 Avant de se lancer dans un ministère de compassion

Conclusion : Évaluez le coût… et la récompense

Titre original : Church in Hard Places
Auteurs : Mez McConnell & Mike McKinley
Édition : Cruciforme
ISBN : 978-2-924595-51-0
Parution : octobre 2018
Pages : 214
Format : eBook
Poids : 236 g

Lire un extrait

Autre format : broché