Skip to content

Delight for a Wretched Man (Je veux être saint, mais...) 

Original price 17,95 $ - Original price 17,95 $
Original price
17,95 $
17,95 $ - 17,95 $
Current price 17,95 $

Chapter 7 of Paul's Epistle to the Romans is one of the most memorable passages in the apostle's writings. In it he vividly expresses man's moral struggle against imperfection and his inability to attain the level of perfection towards which his being strives. It is a passage that contains the famous cry of the heart:

“Wretch that I am!
Who will deliver me from this body of death?”

But who is the "miserable" man who hints at this terrible complaint? What is he looking for? Is this Paul? If so, is he talking about himself as a Christian, or is he referring to the days before his conversion? If these are the words of a genuine child of God, how does such an expression of defeat and frustration fit with the victory emphasis of chapter 8 of the epistle?

Our answers to these questions will have a very real influence on our understanding of the doctrine of sanctification, as well as on our lives. In this book, the author examines the various interpretations of Romans 7 adopted by ancient and modern Christian leaders. It assesses various perspectives in light of the biblical context. He finally concludes that a correct understanding of this passage has important practical implications for growth in grace, both in the life of the individual believer and in that of the Church as a family of God's people.

Browse the first pages

Author

Benjamin Clark - Irish by birth, he studied at Union College in Belfast and at the University of London. He obtained his master's degree in theology in Aix-en-Provence. He held pastoral positions in Switzerland, Northern Ireland and served for a time as General Secretary of GBU in Italy. After pastoring an evangelical assembly in central England, he spent an active retirement in north-eastern France

Table of contents

Preface
1. To set the scene
2. Romans - the triumph of grace
3. A Conflict Caused by the Spirit
4. A paraphrase of Romans 7: 14-25
5. Important principles of sanctification

Appendices - evaluation of other points of view
1. Miserable because unbeliever
2. The Carnal Christian
3. Karl Barth and the liberal approach

Details

Original title : Delight for a Wretched Man
Author : Benjamin Clark
Publisher : Europresse
Publication : 2005
ISBN : 978-2-914562-22-5
Pages : 174
Dimensions : 5.43 "x 8.5"
Format : paperback
Weight : 216 g

Passer au contenu

Je veux être saint, mais...

17,95 $
Disponibilité: translation missing: fr.general.icons.icon_check_circle icône 25 en stock, prêt à être expédié

Le chapitre 7 de l’épître de Paul aux Romains est un des passages les plus mémorables des écrits de l’apôtre. Il y exprime de manière frappante la lutte morale de l’homme contre l’imperfection et son incapacité d’atteindre le niveau de perfection vers lequel se tend son être. C’est un passage qui contient le célèbre cri du cœur :

«Misérable que je suis !
Qui me délivrera de ce corps de mort ?»

Mais qui est l’homme «misérable» qui laisse entendre cette terrible plainte ? Que cherche-t-il ? S’agit-il de Paul ? Si oui, parle-t-il de lui-même comme chrétien, ou se réfère-t-il aux jours d’avant sa conversion ? Si ce sont les paroles d’un enfant de Dieu authentique, comment une telle expression de défaite et de frustration s’accorde-t-elle avec l’accent de victoire du chapitre 8 de l’épître ?

Les réponses que nous apportons à ces questions auront une influence très réelle sur notre compréhension de la doctrine de la sanctification, ainsi que sur notre vie. Dans ce livre, l’auteur examine les diverses interprétations de Romains 7 adoptées par les responsables chrétiens anciens et modernes. Il évalue les diverses perspectives à la lumière du contexte biblique. Il conclut enfin qu’une compréhension correcte de ce passage comporte des implications pratiques importantes pour la croissance dans la grâce, à la fois dans la vie du croyant individuel et dans celle de l’Église en tant que famille du peuple de Dieu.

Feuilleter les premières pages

Auteur

Benjamin Clark – Irlandais d’origine, il étudia au Collège de l’Union à Belfast et à l’université de Londres. Il obtint sa maîtrise en théologie à Aix-en-Provence. Il a occupé des postes pastoraux en Suisse, en Irlande du nord et servit pendant un temps comme secrétaire général des GBU en Italie. Après avoir été pasteur d’une assemblée évangélique au centre de l’Angleterre, il passe une retraite active dans le nord-est de la France

Table des matières

Préface
1. Pour planter le décor
2. Romains - le triomphe de la grâce
3. Un conflit provoqué par l’Esprit
4. Une paraphrase de Romains 7:14-25
5. Principes importants de sanctification

Appendices - évaluation des autres points de vue
1. Misérable parce qu’incroyant
2. Le chrétien charnel
3. Karl Barth et l’approche libérale

Détails

Titre originalDelight for a Wretched Man
Auteur : Benjamin Clark
Édition : Europresse
Parution : 2005
ISBN : 978-2-914562-22-5
Pages : 174
Dimensions : 5,43" x 8,5"
Format : broché
Poids : 216 g

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)