Skip to content

Jesus the Son of God (Jésus le Fils de Dieu)

by CLÉ
19,95 $
Availability: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon Only 11 left!
Presentation

Theologian Donald Carson offers a study of the term "Son of God" as it appears in the Bible. It demonstrates the richness of expression, which goes beyond emphasizing the divinity of Christ. It also takes into account the many texts in which “son of God” does not refer to Jesus.

In addition, Professor Carson immerses his readers in important current debates concerning the transmission of the biblical message to people of Muslim culture and faith. In their dealings with Muslims, should Christians present Jesus as the Son of God? Should biblical translations intended for populations influenced by Islam use other words to refer to Jesus, rather than sticking to an expression (“Son of God”) which arouses strong reactions in these circles?

Far from offering a simplistic answer to these complex debates, Carson traces a stimulating journey that will not leave any reader indifferent. He begins by analyzing the biblical data. He then wonders about the classic formulations that emanate from Christian theology: do they still conform to biblical language? Finally, it offers relevant suggestions to translators of the Bible and to Christians anxious to faithfully transmit the biblical portrait of Jesus, the Son of God.

Author

D.A. Carson is Professor of the New Testament at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School in Deerfield, Illinois, USA, where he has taught since 1978. He received a doctorate in New Testament Studies from Cambridge University. A very active speaker, he has also written or supervised the writing of more than 45 books. With Timothy Keller, he founded the Gospel Coalition movement (cf. Gospel 21). Father of 2 children, he lives north of Chicago with his wife Joy.

Table of contents

preface
1: the son of God, christological title: overview of biblical data
2: “son of God” in two crucial passages
3: “Jesus, the son of God” in the Christian and Muslim contexts
general index
index of writings
notes

Details

Original title: Jesus the Son of God
Author : DA Carson
Publisher : Clé
Publication : November 2016
ISBN : 978-2-35843-046-3
Pages : 116

Dimensions : 6 x 8.66 in
Format : paperback
Weight: 172 g

Related resources

Read an excerpt

Jesus, Son of God - Gospel21

Jésus le Fils de Dieu

CLÉ
19,95 $

Le théologien Donald Carson propose une étude de l’expression « Fils de Dieu » telle qu’elle apparaît dans la Bible. Il démontre toute la richesse de l’expression, qui ne se limite pas à mettre en avant la divinité de Christ. Il prend aussi en compte les nombreux textes dans lesquels « fils de Dieu » ne fait pas référence à Jésus.

En outre, le professeur Carson plonge ses lecteurs dans d’importants débats actuels concernant la transmission du message biblique aux personnes de culture et de confession musulmanes. Dans leurs échanges avec les musulmans, les chrétiens doivent-ils présenter Jésus comme le Fils de Dieu ? Les traductions bibliques destinées à des populations influencées par l’islam devraient-elles employer d’autres mots pour parler de Jésus, plutôt que d’en rester à une expression (« Fils de Dieu ») qui suscite de vives réactions dans ces milieux ?

Loin de proposer une réponse simpliste à ces débats complexes, Carson trace un parcours stimulant qui ne laissera aucun lecteur indifférent. Il commence par analyser les données bibliques. Il s’interroge ensuite sur les formulations classiques qui émanent de la théologie chrétienne : sont-elles toujours conformes au langage biblique ? Enfin, il offre des suggestions pertinentes aux traducteurs de la Bible et aux chrétiens soucieux de transmettre fidèlement le portrait biblique de Jésus, le Fils de Dieu.

Auteur

D.A. Carson est professeur de Nouveau Testament à Trinity Evangelical Divinity School à Deerfield, Illinois aux États-Unis, où il enseigne depuis 1978. Il a obtenu un doctorat en études du Nouveau Testament à l’Université de Cambridge. Conférencier très actif, il a également écrit ou supervisé la rédaction de plus de 45 ouvrages.  Avec Timothy Keller, il a fondé le mouvement de la Gospel Coalition (cf. Évangile 21). Père de 2 enfants, il vit au nord de Chicago avec son épouse Joy.

préface
1: le fils de Dieu, titre christologique: vue d’ensemble des données bibliques
2: « fils de Dieu » dans deux passages cruciaux
3: « Jésus, le fils de Dieu » dans les contextes chrétien et musulman
index général
index des écritures
notes

Titre original : Jesus the Son of God
Auteur : D. A. Carson
Édition : Clé
Parution : novembre 2016
ISBN978-2-35843-046-3
Pages : 116
Dimensions : 6 x 8,66 po
Format : broché
Poids : 172 g