Skip to content

The cross in four words (La croix en quatre mots)

15,95 $
translation missing: en.product.item.price.tax_line_html
Availablity: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon 102 in stock, ready to ship

If you would like to purchase more than 10 copies of this book for your church or for others, please use promo code CROIXEN4MOTS to receive a discount of 20%.

Liberty + forgiveness + justice + meaning

Whatever we aspire to, the cross offers us! With the resurrection, it is the great turning point in all of history and in our lives. Over the years, however, we become less sensitive to it.

This book explores key passages from the Old and New Testaments to sum up the triumph of the cross in four words: freedom, forgiveness, justice and meaning. The modern and dynamic illustrations will immerse you in the wonderful implications of the cross for your personal and church life.

Strengths

- An extraordinarily new and judicious treatment of the cross by three theologians.
- A small format with clear explanations, to meditate in the Church 4 facets of the cross, around Easter.
- Allows you to develop a clear communication of the cross around you.

Browse the first pages

Authors

Kevin DeYoung is the pastor of Christ Covenant Church in Matthews, USA. He teaches systematic theology at the Reformed Theological Seminary. He is the author of numerous books, including Believe God in Word and The Greatest Story .

Richard Coekin heads the Co-Mission Church Planting Network in London. He is pastor of Dundonald Church in London.

Yannick Christos-Wahab is pastor of the Stockwell Baptist Church (London) and is part of the Co-Mission network.

Recommendations

In The Cross in Four Words , the authors deliver a clear, refreshing and stimulating account of the work of Jesus Christ. From major biblical texts, they resonate in our hearts four words that define our salvation and our new life. An easy-to-read book that reminds us of the beauty of the Gospel and prompts us to share it.
- Vincent Bourrel, pastor of the Baptist Church Toulouse Métropole

This little book leads us to meditate on the privileges that flow from the cross. Let your heart marvel as you realize once again the greatness of what Jesus has accomplished for you! I particularly appreciated the link which is made between the cross and the mission, in the last chapter.
- Benjamin EGGEN, author of Thirst for more? and A life of challenges

The gospel of Jesus Christ will always meet the most basic human needs, freedom, forgiveness, justice. Whatever the culture, or the time, the purpose of our existence finds its full meaning only at the cross. This contemporary meditation on the work of Christ is good for the soul.
- Yanick ETHIER, pastor, president of Sola, Coalition for the Gospel, Canada

Are you intrigued by the cross of Christ? Does your heart need to marvel again? The Cross in Four Words is an excellent work. Short and easy to read, this book will immerse you in the heart of the mystery of God's reconciling love.
- Tim CHESTER, Pastor of Grace Church (Boroughbridge, UK), Crosslands Training faculty member , author of The Church in Daily Life

This little book invites us to look at what is at the very heart of the Christian faith: the death of Jesus on the cross, its meaning and its significance for each of us. The speakers' approach, pedagogical and concise, is particularly suited to those who are taking their first steps in the Christian faith. But these four chapters are also good for the established Christian reader, by refocusing him on the essential: the work of Christ and the new life it implies for each of us.
- Matthieu SANDERS, pastor of the Evangelical Baptist Church of Paris-Center

This is a really useful book and I will distribute it widely. I read it straight through, taking lots of notes.
- Alistair BEGG, author, pastor of Parkside Church (Ohio, USA)

"Tell me the story again!" What a magnificent reminder, and accessible to those who do not yet know Christ, of the heart of the glorious gospel - of redemption, propitiation and justification.
- James HELY HUTCHINSON, director of the Biblical Institute of Brussels

We lose our joy when we forget the cross or fail to realize that we absolutely need his work of reconciliation. The Cross in four words redirects our gaze to “Christ crucified”. This book reminds us of the love that carried our sin so that we can experience true freedom, forgiveness, righteousness and recognize the meaning it gives to our lives. This very useful book will renew your heart and mind as you rediscover the wonders of such a great salvation.
- Melissa KRUGER, author, director of content at The Gospel Coalition, Author of whatever you do, i want you to know (BLF, 2021)

This remarkable little book is both deeply biblical and intensely concrete, easy to read, heartwarming and stimulating. I recognize there the ministries of the authors. They deliver a clear explanation of the cross. They faithfully define the mission and give precise applications, each one embellished with new illustrations, very well chosen. This little book is excellent. It deserves to be bought in several copies and offered to all Christians, young converts or long-time disciples. I liked it very much and it was very useful to me. He urged me to praise God, once again, for the cross of Christ!
- Trevor JOHNSTON, Rector, All Saints Church in Belfast (UK), President of the Irish Men's Convention [ Irish Men's Convention]

Each of the four words chosen by the authors (freedom, forgiveness, justice, meaning) evokes a fundamental stage in what the cross represents in the Christian faith. With a dynamic style and well-chosen illustrations, four exhortations encourage us and end with a series of questions to ponder, in order to concretely appropriate each of the topic-chapters. This book should make our hearts tremble with the joy of being set free, make us cry over our erased sin, and make us love the One who justified us without derogating from the perfect righteousness of God. Finally, he wants to encourage us to devote all our strength to living and proclaiming the Gospel of Jesus Christ.
- Fred Bican, pastor of Action Biblique de Grasse, president of Action Biblique France

Table of contents

Introduction (Richard Coekin)

1. Freedom (Kevin DeYoung)
How God Redeems His People
2. Forgiveness (Yannick Christos-Wahab)
How God provides atonement for sin
3. Justice (Kevin DeYoung)
How God just makes the guilty
4. Purpose (Richard Coekin)
How the cross calls us to mission

Details

Original title : The Cross in four words
Authors : Kevin DeYoung, Richard Coekin & Yannick Christos-Wahab
Publisher : BLF Éditions
Publication : March 2021
ISBN : 978-2-36249-588-5
Pages : 120
Dimensions : 12.5 x 18 cm
Format : paperback
Weight : 118 g

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Passer au contenu

La croix en quatre mots

15,95 $
Disponibilité: translation missing: fr.general.icons.icon_check_circle icône 109 en stock, prêt à être expédié

Si vous souhaitez acheter plus de 10 exemplaires de ce livre pour votre église ou pour d’autres personnes, veuillez utiliser le code promotionnel CROIXEN4MOTS pour bénéficier d’une réduction de 20 %.

Liberté + pardon + justice + sens

Tout ce à quoi nous aspirons, la croix nous l’offre ! Avec la résurrection, elle est le grand tournant de toute l’histoire et de notre vie. Au fil des ans, cependant, nous y devenons moins sensibles.

Ce livre sonde des passages-clés de l’Ancien et du Nouveau Testament pour résumer le triomphe de la croix en quatre mots : liberté, pardon, justice et sens. Les illustrations modernes et dynamiques vous plongeront dans les implications merveilleuses de la croix pour votre vie personnelle et d’Église.

Points forts

– Un traitement extraordinairement neuf et judicieux de la croix par trois théologiens.
– Un petit format aux explications limpides, pour méditer en Église 4 facettes de la croix, autour de Pâques.
– Permet de développer une communication claire de la croix autour de soi.

Feuilleter les premières pages

Auteurs

Kevin DeYoung est pasteur de l’Église Christ Covenant Church à Matthews (États-Unis). Il enseigne la théologie systématique au Reformed Theological Seminary. Il est l’auteur de nombreux livres, dont Croire Dieu sur Parole et La plus grande histoire.

Richard Coekin dirige le réseau d’implantation d’Églises Co-Mission à Londres. Il est pasteur de l’Église Dundonald à Londres.

Yannick Christos-Wahab est pasteur de l’Église baptiste Stockwell (Londres) et fait partie du réseau Co-Mission.

Recommandations

Dans La croix en quatre mots, les auteurs livrent un exposé clair, rafraichissant et stimulant de l’œuvre de Jésus-Christ. À partir de textes bibliques majeurs, ils font résonner dans nos cœurs quatre mots qui définissent notre salut et notre vie nouvelle. Un livre facile à lire qui nous rappelle la beauté de l’Évangile et nous pousse à le partager.
– Vincent Bourrel, pasteur de l’Église Baptiste Toulouse Métropole

Ce petit livre amène à méditer sur les privilèges qui découlent de la croix. Laissez votre coeur s’émerveiller en réalisant tout à nouveau la grandeur de ce que Jésus a accompli pour vous ! J’ai particulièrement apprécié le lien qui est fait entre la croix et la mission, dans le dernier chapitre.
– Benjamin EGGEN, auteur de Soif de plus ? et Une vie de défis

L’Évangile de Jésus-Christ répondra toujours aux besoins les plus fondamentaux de l’être humain, liberté, pardon, justice. Quelle que soit la culture, ou l’époque le but de notre existence ne trouve tout son sens qu’à la croix. Cette méditation contemporaine de l’oeuvre de Christ fait du bien à l’âme.
– Yanick ETHIER, pasteur, président de Sola, Coalition pour l’Évangile, Canada

La croix de Christ vous intrigue ? Votre coeur a besoin de s’émerveiller à nouveau ? La Croix en quatre mots est un excellent ouvrage. Court et facile à lire, ce livre vous plongera au coeur du mystère de l’amour réconciliateur de Dieu.
– Tim CHESTER, pasteur de la Grace Church (Boroughbridge, Royaume-Uni) membre de la faculté Crosslands Training, auteur de L’Église au quotidien

Ce petit ouvrage invite à poser nos regards sur ce qui est au coeur même de la foi chrétienne : la mort de Jésus sur la croix, son sens et sa portée pour chacun de nous. L’approche des orateurs, pédagogique et concise, est particulièrement adaptée à ceux et celles qui font leurs premiers pas dans la foi chrétienne. Mais ces quatre chapitres font aussi du bien au lecteur chrétien affermi, en le recentrant sur l’essentiel : l’oeuvre de Christ et la nouvelle vie qu’elle implique pour chacun de nous.
– Matthieu SANDERS, pasteur de l'Église évangélique baptiste de Paris-Centre

C’est un livre vraiment utile et je vais largement le diffuser. Je l’ai lu d’une traite en prenant beaucoup de notes.
– Alistair BEGG, auteur, pasteur de l’Église Parkside Church (Ohio, États-Unis)

« Redites-moi l'histoire ! » Quel rappel magnifique, et accessible aux personnes qui ne connaissent pas encore le Christ, du coeur du glorieux Evangile – de la rédemption, de la propitiation et de la justification.
– James HELY HUTCHINSON, directeur de l’Institut Biblique de Bruxelles

Nous perdons notre joie lorsque nous oublions la croix ou que nous ne saisissons pas que nous avons absolument besoin de son oeuvre de réconciliation. La Croix en quatre mots redirige notre regard vers « Christ crucifié ». Ce livre nous rappelle l’amour qui a porté notre péché afin que nous puissions connaître la vraie liberté, le pardon, la justice et reconnaître le sens qu’il donne à notre vie. Cet ouvrage très utile renouvellera votre coeur et votre esprit en vous faisant redécouvrir les merveilles d’un si grand salut.
– Melissa KRUGER, auteure, directrice du contenu à The Gospel Coalition, Auteure de Quoi que tu fasses, je veux que tu saches (BLF, 2021)

Ce remarquable petit livre est à la fois profondément biblique et intensément concret, facile à lire, réconfortant et stimulant. Je reconnais bien là les ministères des auteurs. Ils livrent une explication limpide de la croix. Ils définissent fidèlement la mission et en donnent des applications précises, chacune agrémentée d’illustrations nouvelles, très bien choisies. Ce petit livre est excellent. Il mérite d’être acheté en plusieurs exemplaires et offert à tous les chrétiens, jeunes convertis ou disciples de longue date. Je l’ai beaucoup aimé et il m’a été très utile. Il m’a poussé à louer Dieu, une fois de plus, pour la croix de Christ !
– Trevor JOHNSTON, recteur, Église All Saints de Belfast (Royaume-Uni), président de la Irish Men’s Convention [Convention des hommes irlandais]

Chacun des quatre mots choisis par les auteurs (liberté, pardon, justice, sens) évoque une étape fondamentale de ce que représente la croix dans la foi chrétienne. Par un style dynamique et des illustrations bien choisies, quatre exhortations nous encouragent et s’achèvent par une série de questions à méditer, pour s'approprier concrètement chacun des sujets-chapitres. Ce livre devrait faire tressaillir nos coeurs de la joie d'être libérés, nous faire pleurer sur notre péché effacé et nous faire aimer celui qui nous a justifié sans déroger à la justice parfaite de Dieu. Il veut enfin nous encourager à consacrer toutes nos forces à vivre et à proclamer l'Évangile de Jésus Christ.
– Fred Bican, pasteur de l’Action Biblique de Grasse, président de l’Action Biblique France

Table des matières

Introduction (Richard Coekin)

1. Liberté (Kevin DeYoung)
Comment Dieu rachète son peuple
2. Pardon (Yannick Christos-Wahab)
Comment Dieu pourvoit à la propitiation pour le péché
3. Justice (Kevin DeYoung)
Comment Dieu rend juste le coupable
4. But (Richard Coekin)
Comment la croix nous appelle à la mission

Détails

Titre original : The Cross in four words
Auteurs : Kevin DeYoung, Richard Coekin & Yannick Christos-Wahab
Édition : BLF Éditions
Parution : mars 2021
ISBN : 978-2-36249-588-5
Pages : 120
Dimensions : 12,5 x 18 cm
Format : broché
Poids : 118 g

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)