Skip to content

Scandalous: The Cross and Resurrection of Jesus (La croix est un scandale)

17,95 $
Availability: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon Only 18 left!

Many Christians accept that the cross of Christ is a central part of the gospel of salvation fulfilled in Christ. And this is true. But it is less common to grasp its full scandalous dimension. This very special crucified one should never have been so if there had been only men in the running. Behind the cross is the shadow of its greatest actor - God himself. This is why it is followed by the glorious certainty of the resurrection.

Don Carson is a renowned and accomplished theologian, but he also knows how to speak with freshness to the heart of the “ordinary” Christian. In this book, he shows with great finesse and sensitivity what God was doing in the event of the cross. He explains the fundamental meaning of this sacrifice and how this divine triumph has enriching eschatological implications for today.

It examines the amazing resurrection of Lazarus, a parable of another far more sublime resurrection. It reveals the dynamics that carry the message of salvation to the ends of the earth and to the end of the age.

This book is misleading. Behind the remarkable ease of reading lies a tremendous amount of biblical reflection, scholarship and faithfulness. As you close it, the reader is sure to wonder, "Why haven't I seen this before? "

Author

Donald Carson - Of Canadian origin, he is professor of the New Testament at the Trinity Evangelical Theological Institute, near Chicago. He is also a Doctor of New Testament Philosophy (Cambridge) and considered one of today's earliest theologians. He gives conferences all over the world and in French-speaking Europe. A prolific author, several of his books have been translated into French, notably In the intimacy of Jesus published by Europresse.

Table of contents

Preface
The ironies of the cross
The central point of the Bible
The astonishing triumph of a slain lamb
A miracle full of surprises
Doubts about the reality of the resurrection

Details

Original title : Scandalous: The Cross and Resurrection of Jesus
Author
: DA Carson
Publisher 
: Europresse
Publication : June 2015
Pages : 176
Weight : 212 g
Dimensions : 13.8 x 21.6 cm
ISBN : 9782914562683
Format : paperback

Related resources

Read an extract

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
J
Jacques Thiboutot
La croix est un scandale

Très bien apprécié
Contenu intéressent

La croix est un scandale

Europresse
17,95 $

Nouveau prix !!!

Beaucoup de chrétiens acceptent le fait que la croix de Christ est un élément central de l’Évangile du salut accompli en Christ. Et cela est vrai. Mais il est moins courant d’en saisir toute la dimension scandaleuse. Ce crucifié si particulier n’aurait jamais dû l’être s’il n’y avait eu que les hommes en lice. Derrière la croix, se projette l’ombre de son plus grand acteur – Dieu lui-même. C’est pourquoi elle est suivie par la certitude glorieuse de la résurrection.

Don Carson est un théologien renommé et accompli, mais il sait aussi parler avec fraîcheur au cœur du chrétien « ordinaire ». Dans ce livre, il montre avec grande finesse et sensibilité ce que Dieu faisait dans l’événement de la croix. Il explique le sens fondamental de ce sacrifice et comment ce triomphe divin a des portées eschatologiques enrichissantes pour aujourd’hui.

Il examine l’étonnante résurrection de Lazare, une parabole d’une autre résurrection bien plus sublime. Il révèle quelle est la dynamique qui propage le message du salut jusqu’aux extrémités de la terre et jusqu’à la fin de l’âge.

Ce livre est trompeur. Derrière une facilité de lecture remarquable, se cache une somme énorme de réflexion, d’érudition et de fidélité biblique. En le refermant, le lecteur ne manquera pas de se demander : « Pourquoi n’ai-je jamais vu cela avant ? »
Donald Carson

Auteur

D’origine canadienne, il est professeur de Nouveau Testament à l’Institut théologique évangélique Trinity, près de Chicago. Il est aussi docteur en philosophie du Nouveau Testament (Cambridge) et considéré comme l’un des tous premiers théologiens actuels. Il donne des conférences partout dans le monde et en Europe francophone. Auteur prolifique, plusieurs de ses livres sont traduits en français, notamment Dans l’intimité de Jésus aux éditions Europresse.

Table des matières

Préface
Les ironies de la croix
Le point central de la Bible
Le triomphe étonnant d’un agneau immolé
Un miracle plein de surprises
Doutes sur la réalité de la résurrection

Détails

Édition : Europresse
Parution : juin 2015
Pages : 176
Poids : 212 g
Dimensions : 13,8 x 21,6 cm
ISBN : 9782914562683
Format : broché