Skip to content

Depression: finding the light in the dark (La dépression : retrouver la lumière au sein des ténèbres)

33,95 $
translation missing: en.product.item.price.tax_line_html
Availablity: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon Only 4 remains!

Presentation

Depression, a disease of the century that some describe as a storm unleashed in the brain, a "storm of darkness", affects more people than it seems: this psychic pathology, which was called once "melancholy", will appear in 2020, according to the World Health Organization, in the second rank of diseases affecting the human species.

For Edward Welch, the essence of depression is to bring the affected person back to basic questions of existence, such as suffering, God and the meaning of life. This is why, in his desire to provide healing aid, he presents depression in all its complexity, with compassion and insight, far from simplistic platitudes or unrealistic catchwords. He explains the causes and multiple factors, not to mention the consequences that the patient must face: fear, anger, despair, failure and shame, guilt, death.

Throughout his reflection, imbued with biblical wisdom, personal empathy and in which a long experience as a counselor shines through, Edward Welch, speaking mostly to the sick himself, calls on the infinite treasures of the Gospel to encourage him in his fight, revive his hope and make him rediscover true joy.

To be read by those who, plunged into the abyss of despair, want to find the light again, and by those who, with unparalleled dedication, seek to provide them with constant support.

Author

A graduate psychologist, Edward Welch is a teaching member of the Christian Counseling & Educational Foundation (CCEF), created nearly fifty years ago to train in helping relationships and to provide psychological support and pastoral rooted in the Bible. A consultant for over thirty years, he has authored books on addictions, fear and anxiety. After When men have more importance than God (Impact), this book is his second work translated into French.

Table of contents

Introduction
1. The path ahead
2. How Depression Affects Us
3. Definitions and causes

Part 1: Depression hurts
4. Suffering
5. God
6. Cry out to God!
7. The fight
8. Remember
9. Having a purpose in life
10. Persevere

Part 2: Listening to Depression
11. Depression and its causes: the others, "Adam" and Satan
12. Depression and its causes: culture
13. The Heart of Depression
14. The Heart Unveiled
15. Fear
16. Anger
17. Shattered Hopes
18. Failure and Shame
19. Guilt and Legalism
20. Death

Part Three: More Help and Advice
21. Medical care
22. For families and friends
23. What Helped
24. What to expect

Part Four: Hope and Joy: Thinking Like God
25. Humility and Hope
26. Gratitude and joy

The last word

Details

Publisher : Excelsis
Author : Edward T. Welch
Publication : June 2015
Pages : 296
Weight : 365 g
Dimensions : 14 x 21 x 1.6 centimeters
ISBN : 9782755002379

La dépression : retrouver la lumière au sein des ténèbres

Excelsis
34,65 $

La dépression, maladie du siècle que certains décrivent comme une tempête qui se déchaîne dans le cerveau, une « tempête des ténèbres », touche plus de personnes qu’il n’y paraît : cette pathologie psychique, que l’on appelait jadis « mélancolie », figurera en 2020, selon l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, au deuxième rang des maladies affectant l’espèce humaine.

Pour Edward Welch, le propre de la dépression est de ramener la personne atteinte aux questions fondamentales de l’existence, comme la souffrance, Dieu et le sens de la vie. C’est pourquoi, dans sa volonté d’apporter une aide à la guérison, il présente la dépression dans toute sa complexité, avec compassion et perspicacité, loin des platitudes simplistes ou des formules passe-partout irréalistes. Il en expose les causes et les facteurs multiples, sans oublier les conséquences auxquelles le malade doit faire face : la peur, la colère, le désespoir, l’échec et la honte, la culpabilité, la mort.

Tout au long de sa réflexion, empreinte de sagesse biblique, d’empathie personnelle et où transparaît une longue expérience de conseiller, Edward Welch, s’adressant la plupart du temps au malade lui-même, fait appel aux trésors infinis de l’Évangile pour encourager celui-ci dans son combat, raviver son espérance et lui faire retrouver la vraie joie.

À lire par ceux qui, plongés dans le gouffre du désespoir, veulent retrouver la lumière, et par ceux qui, avec un dévouement sans égal, cherchent à leur apporter un soutien de tous les instants.

Auteur

Psychologue diplômé, Edward Welch est un membre enseignant de la Christian Counseling & Educational Foundation (CCEF), créée il y a près de cinquante ans dans le but de former à la relation d’aide et d’apporter un soutien psychologique et pastoral enraciné dans la Bible. Conseiller depuis plus de trente ans, il est l’auteur d’ouvrages sur les addictions, la peur et l’anxiété. Après Quand les hommes ont plus d’importance que Dieu (Impact), ce livre est son deuxième ouvrage traduit en français.

Introduction
1. Le chemin devant soi
2. Comment la dépression nous affecte
3. Des définitions et des causes

Première partie : La dépression fait souffrir
4. La souffrance
5. Dieu
6. Criez à Dieu !
7. Le combat
8. Se souvenir
9. Avoir un but dans la vie
10. Persévérez

Deuxième partie : Être à l’écoute de la dépression
11. La dépression et ses causes : les autres, « Adam » et Satan
12. La dépression et ses causes : la culture
13. Le cœur de la dépression
14. Le cœur dévoilé
15. La peur
16. La colère
17. Des espoirs anéantis
18. L’échec et la honte
19. La culpabilité et le légalisme
20. La mort

Troisième partie : De l’aide et des conseils supplémentaires
21. Des soins médicaux
22. Pour les familles et les amis
23. Ce qui a aidé
24. Ce à quoi s’attendre

Quatrième partie : L’espérance et la joie : Penser comme Dieu
25. L’humilité et l’espérance
26. De la reconnaissance et de la joie

Le mot de la fin

Édition : Excelsis
Auteur : Edward T. Welch
Parution : juin 2015
Pages : 296
Poids : 365 g
Dimensions : 14 x 21 x 1,6 centimètres
ISBN : 9782755002379