Skip to content

Language

Country

<transcy>Pray (9Marks) (La prière (9Marks))</transcy>

John Onwuchekwa
Original price $13.00 - Original price $13.00
Original price
$13.00
$13.00 - $13.00
Current price $13.00
Availability:
110 in stock, ready to be shipped

WHAT IS THE ROLE OF ASSEMBLY PRAYER? Prayer is as necessary for Christians as breathing is for the human body. However, it is usually not our first instinct. In fact, prayer is often subtly sidelined in the Church in favor of practices that promise tangible results.


This book emphasizes the need to make prayer a regular and central practice in the local Church. He shows us the importance of prayer in assembly and makes us aware of its benefits. By examining Jesus' teachings on prayer as well as the practices of early Christians, the author explains why prayer should be a priority in our assemblies.

Browse through the first pages

Author

JOHN ONWUCHEKWA (MA, Dallas Theological Seminary) is the pastor of Cornerstone Church in Atlanta, Georgia. He is a board member of The Gospel Coalition.

Recommendations

“There are many books on prayer, but very few on the power of the Church of Jesus Christ's biblical, strategic, and collective prayer. This practical little book has the potential to transform your local church to the glory of God. "
- GAÉTAN BRASSARD, Senior Pastor of Le Portail Church

“From a solid theological foundation and a proven pastoral ministry, John Onwuchekwa studies in particular the Our Father, the events of Gethsemane and the prayers of Acts to motivate and inspire our community prayer life. His book follows the well-established formula of this precious series proposed by 9Marks. The author goes straight to the point, with clear illustrations and practical avenues for reflection and application. Every Christian should take the time to listen to what God expects from the prayer life of his Church. The subject is disturbing, moving, powerful but beneficial. Must read! "
- FRÉDÉRIC BICAN, pastor, Action Biblique Church of Grasse; president of Action Biblique France

“Question: Why publish another book on prayer? Answer: To place in the hands of French-speaking readers a resource that deals, concretely and with great theological accuracy, with community prayer within the framework of the weekly meetings and the regular prayer meetings of the local Church. May the reading of this book lead our churches to glorify God more. "
- JAMES HELY HUTCHINSON, director of the Institut Biblique de Bruxelles

“'Pray often, for prayer is a shield for the soul, a sacrifice for God and a plague for Satan,” said John Bunyan. Nothing is more true, especially with regard to community prayer. If you find that your prayer life is dry and arid, this little work by John Onwuchekwa will lead you to the sources of living water of communion with God! "
- GUILLAUME BOURIN, pastor of the Reformed Baptist Church of the Trinity; author of the book I will pour pure water on you ; founder of the blog Le Bon Combat; director of the Biblical Institute #Transmit

“I found the author refreshing and transparent. The heart and the head are united there. Here is a biblical and practical book on community prayer, a subject that has unfortunately been almost forgotten during the last three decades in Quebec. Through the study of the Our Father, this little work reminds us of the importance of "we" in the Church. He concretely equips us on how to create lively times of prayer during services and during one-off prayer meetings of the Church. It fills a real need. May God use this book for a renewal of community prayer. "
- RICHARD HOULE, associate pastor of the Evangelical Baptist Church of Vaudreuil; head of the 24/7 Prayer Movement, AEBEQ

“Prayer is a weapon in the life of the believer, but it is still necessary to use it. John Onwuchekwa encourages us with great humility to rediscover how prayer helps us to remain dependent on God. Not only does it refer to our daily prayer life, but it also emphasizes the role of community prayer. He gives a lot of importance to this one, because it teaches us how to supplicate, confess, worship and show gratitude to God in a way that announces and applies the Good News of Christ directly to the heart of our assembly. "
- MICHAËL CARON, pastor of vision, Evangelical Baptist Church of Shawinigan-Sud; partner of the 9Marks ministry for the Francophonie

“This book encourages us to take up the challenge of praying in the Church. Written in a pastoral and practical way, it offers reflections that move us to redefine the framework of our prayer meetings, to draw closer to God and to depend on him. It is when we pray to God together that we take best care of each other. The "I" becomes "we" because we are a body. I encourage you to read this little book with your study groups and prayer partners. "
- FRANÇOIS PICARD, former director general of the Séminaire Baptiste Évangélique du Québec (SEMBEQ); elder at the Evangelical Emmanuel Baptist Church, Montreal

“I don't think I've ever read a book on prayer that has led me to experience the full range of human emotions, until I read The Prayer, by John Onwuchekwa. Here is a human book: beautiful, poignant, funny, uncompromising and pastoral. This book is more useful than a rebuke for our often sluggish prayer lives. He does not seek to manipulate us by making us feel guilty. Onwuchekwa writes like a traveling companion and as such knows well that what travelers need most is refreshment. This book is a thirst-quenching encouragement to come together to seek our great God. I pray that all the Churches will read The Prayer together; it will change our assemblies. This work is a warm invitation for the whole Church; he draws the people of God to the wonders of prayer. "
- THABITI ANYABWILE, pastor, Anacostia Church River, Washington, DC; author of What Is a Healthy Church Member?

“Prayer is an excellent book written by my dear friend John Onwuchekwa. He is biblically and theologically rich. He is also concrete and honest. Do you want to establish a prayer group in your Church? This book is a great start. "
- DANIEL L. AKIN, President of Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary

"Everyone remembers that aunt or uncle who silenced our fears with this sentence:" We're just going to pray for that, my darling ". John Onwuchekwa is that voice for today, calling the Church to return to one of the simplest and most powerful tools in its arsenal: the practice of collective prayer. He doesn't just want to wake up our atrophied prayer muscles; he invites us to the much more arduous task of reorienting our priorities so that they align more with those of God. Onwuchekwa's call to return to these "first things" is an excellent starting point for seeing Christian communities moving in the same direction: that of the kingdom of God. "
- KA ELLIS, Cannada Fellow for World Christianity, Reformed Theological Seminary

“Surely there is something missing in your church, something that you haven't given much thought to or that you probably haven't even noticed. It is about prayer. Onwuchekwa explains to us the compelling, relevant and biblical reasons why collective prayer should be a priority in the Church. It is a great privilege to pray together as a family - this is the vision Onwuchekwa communicates to us. This book has the potential to transform not only individuals, but also our relationships and culture in our churches. I the
highly recommend. "
- TRILLIA NEWBELL, author of God's very good idea , Enjoy and Fear and Faith

“The early Church progressed mightily because she was a praying Church (Acts 4:31). If today we have mastered the inner workings of ministry so well that we can succeed without power from above, then we have failed. But if our Churches today hear this exhortation to the prayer of John Onwuchekwa, we too will prevail over all earthly powers, for the glory of God! "
- RAY ORTLUND, board member of The Gospel Coalition

“This book prompts us to reflect on the prayer life in the local Church. Onwuchekwa establishes a theological framework, then gives us concrete and realistic solutions to flesh it out. I have had the privilege of working with John for the past decade, and I know of no one who knows better than to present him with imposing concepts in a way that pleases the body of Christ. He goes above and beyond in this book. It takes biblical principles and transmits them effectively. His work on this subject is a gift for the Church. "
- DHATI LEWIS, Senior Pastor, Blueprint Church, Atlanta, Georgia; general manager of community catering, North American Mission Board; author of Among Wolves: Disciple-Making in the City

“What could our Churches need more, if not a renewed spirituality, centered on the Gospel? And what more could we do to experience this renewal than to re-engage in nurturing communion with our Father, through prayer? This is why I am grateful for this exceptional book by John Onwuchekwa. It is a practical, accessible and touching guide that leads us into the depths of the immense and glorious privilege of being able to speak to the God of the universe. "
- JARED C. WILSON, director of content strategies, Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary; director of the Pastoral Training Center at Liberty Baptist Church, Kansas City, Missouri; author of Supernatural Power for Everyday People

“I have a lot to say about this little book, because it is excellent. In fact, I think it's one of the best books in this series. Short and well written, this book by Pastor John Onwuchekwa focuses primarily on two passages from the Gospels: the Our Father and Jesus' Prayer in the Garden of Gethsemane. Onwuchekwa shares important observations with us that seem intuitive, but which are also surprising. It is a well-illustrated book, faithful to the Scriptures and theologically correct. It is useful for thinking about not only when we should pray, but also how we should pray, and even what our prayers are about. It puts us in touch with the scope of collective prayer in the Church. Inspirational and hopeful, precise and practical, this book is peppered with hints of humor. Taking the time to read this little book, on such an important subject, could be of benefit to you. "
- MARK DEVER, Senior Pastor, Capitol Hill Baptist Church, Washington, DC; president of 9Marks

Contents

Preface to the series
Introduction

1. BREATHE AGAIN - The problem of the lack of prayer
2. EXCELLENCE - Teach us to pray
3. THE WORLD IS YOURS - A Guided Family
4. A COMFORTABLE MEAL - A nourished family
5. ROOTS - A deeply rooted family
6. GLORY - The role of prayer in worship service
7. REST ON ME - The Role of Prayer in the Care of Community Members
8. DO WHAT IS RIGHT - The Role of Prayer in Mission

Conclusion - Fighting temptations
Notes
Subject index
Biblical References Index

Details

Original title : Pray
Author : John Onwuchekwa
Publisher: Cruciforme Editions
ISBN : 978-2-924595-77-0
Pages : 174
Release : August 2020
Dimensions : 5 "x 7"
Format : paperback
Weight : 162 g

Customer Reviews

Based on 2 reviews
100%
(2)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
B
Benjamin Eggen

Un très bon livre pour rafraîchir sa vie de prière... et en comprendre la dimension communaitre.

.
.
Clair, concis et percutant

Si vous n’êtes pas encore convaincus de l’importance de la prière en Église, ce livre est pour vous. Si vous vivez déjà cette réalité essentielle, il vous encouragera à persévérer et à l’enrichir.

La prière (9Marks)

Cruciforme
Bientôt disponible
15,95 $
Disponible : septembre 2020
QUEL EST LE RÔLE DE LA PRIÈRE EN ASSEMBLÉE ? La prière est aussi nécessaire au chrétien que la respiration l'est au corps humain. Cependant, elle n’est généralement pas notre premier réflexe. En fait, la prière est souvent subtilement mise de côté dans l’Église en faveur de pratiques qui promettent des résultats tangibles.

Ce livre met l'accent sur la nécessité de faire de la prière une pratique régulière et centrale dans l'Église locale. Il nous démontre l’importance de la prière en assemblée et nous sensibilise à ses bienfaits. En examinant les enseignements de Jésus sur la prière ainsi que les pratiques des premiers chrétiens, l’auteur nous explique pourquoi la prière devrait être une priorité dans nos assemblées.

Auteur

JOHN ONWUCHEKWA (M. A., Dallas Theological Seminary) est le pasteur de Cornerstone Church à Atlanta, en Géorgie. Il est membre du conseil de The Gospel Coalition.

« Il existe de nombreux livres sur la prière, mais très peu sur la puissance de la prière biblique, stratégique et collective de l’Église de Jésus-Christ. Ce petit livre pratique a le potentiel de transformer votre Église locale pour la gloire de Dieu. »
– GAÉTAN BRASSARD, pasteur principal de l’Église Le Portail

« À partir d’une assise théologique solide et d’un ministère pastoral éprouvé, John Onwuchekwa étudie notamment le Notre Père, les événements de Gethsémané et les prières des Actes pour motiver et inspirer notre vie de prière communautaire. Son livre suit la formule bien rodée de cette précieuse série proposée par 9Marks. L’auteur va à l’essentiel, avec des illustrations claires et des pistes pratiques de réflexion et d’application. Chaque chrétien devrait prendre le temps d’écouter ce que Dieu attend de la vie de prière de son Église. Le propos est dérangeant, émouvant, percutant mais bienfaisant. À lire absolument ! »
– FRÉDÉRIC BICAN, pasteur, Église Action Biblique de Grasse ; président de l’Action Biblique France

« Question : Pourquoi publier un autre livre sur la prière ? Réponse : Pour placer entre les mains des lecteurs francophones une ressource qui traite, concrètement et avec une grande justesse théologique, de la prière communautaire dans le cadre des rencontres hebdomadaires et des réunions de prière régulières de l’Église locale. Que la lecture de ce livre puisse amener nos Églises à glorifier Dieu davantage. »
– JAMES HELY HUTCHINSON, directeur de l’Institut Biblique de Bruxelles

« "Priez souvent, car la prière est un bouclier pour l’âme, un sacrifice pour Dieu et un fléau pour Satan", disait John Bunyan. Rien n’est plus vrai, surtout en ce qui concerne la prière communautaire. Si vous trouvez que votre vie de prière est sèche et aride, ce petit ouvrage de John Onwuchekwa saura vous mener aux sources d’eau vive de la communion avec Dieu ! »
– GUILLAUME BOURIN, pasteur de l’Église réformée baptiste de la Trinité ; auteur du livre Je répandrai sur vous une eau pure ; fondateur du blog Le Bon Combat ; directeur de l’Institut Biblique #Transmettre

« J’ai trouvé l’auteur rafraîchissant et transparent. Le coeur et la tête y sont réunis. Voici un livre biblique et pratique sur la prière communautaire, un sujet qui fut malheureusement presque oublié durant les trois dernières décennies au Québec. À travers l’étude du Notre Père, ce petit ouvrage nous rappelle l’importance du "nous" dans l’Église. Il nous équipe concrètement sur la façon de créer des temps de prière vivants durant les cultes et lors des réunions de prières ponctuelles de l’Église. Il vient combler un réel besoin. Que Dieu utilise ce livre pour un renouveau de la prière communautaire. »
– RICHARD HOULE, pasteur associé de l’Église Baptiste Évangélique de Vaudreuil ; responsable du Mouvement de prière 24/7, AEBEQ

« La prière est une arme dans la vie du croyant, mais encore faut-il l’utiliser. John Onwuchekwa nous encourage avec beaucoup d’humilité à redécouvrir comment la prière nous aide à rester dépendants de Dieu. Non seulement fait-il référence à notre vie de prière quotidienne, mais il souligne également le rôle de la prière communautaire. Il donne beaucoup d’importance à celle-ci, car elle nous enseigne comment supplier, confesser, adorer et démontrer de la reconnaissance à Dieu d’une manière qui annonce et qui applique la Bonne Nouvelle de Christ directement au coeur de notre assemblée. »
– MICHAËL CARON, pasteur de la vision, Église Évangélique Baptiste de Shawinigan-Sud ; partenaire du ministère 9Marks pour la francophonie

« Ce livre nous encourage à relever le défi de prier en Église. Écrit de manière pastorale et pratique, il offre des réflexions qui nous poussent à redéfinir le cadre de nos réunions de prière, à nous rapprocher de Dieu et à dépendre de lui. C'est lorsque nous prions Dieu ensemble que nous prenons le mieux soin les uns des autres. Le "je" devient "nous", car nous formons un corps. Je vous encourage à lire ce petit livre avec vos groupes d'étude et vos partenaires de prière. »
– FRANÇOIS PICARD, ancien directeur général du Séminaire Baptiste Évangélique du Québec (SEMBEQ) ; ancien à l’Église Baptiste Évangélique Emmanuel, Montréal

« Je ne crois pas avoir déjà lu un livre sur la prière qui m’ait conduit à éprouver toute la gamme des émotions humaines, jusqu’à ce que je lise La prière, de John Onwuchekwa. Voilà un livre humain : beau, poignant, drôle, sans concession et pastoral. Ce livre est plus utile qu’une réprimande pour nos vies de prière souvent léthargiques. Il ne cherche pas à nous manipuler en nous culpabilisant. Onwuchekwa écrit à la manière d’un compagnon de voyage et, en tant que tel, il sait bien que ce dont les voyageurs ont le plus besoin, c’est de rafraîchissement. Ce livre est un encouragement désaltérant à nous rassembler pour chercher notre grand Dieu. Je prie que toutes les Églises lisent La prière ensemble ; cela changera nos assemblées. Cet ouvrage est une chaleureuse invitation pour l’Église entière ; il attire le peuple de Dieu vers les merveilles de la prière. »
– THABITI ANYABWILE, pasteur, Anacostia Church River, Washington, D. C. ; auteur de What Is a Healthy Church Member?

« La prière est un excellent livre écrit par mon cher ami John Onwuchekwa. Il est riche sur le plan biblique et théologique. Il est aussi concret et honnête. Vous souhaitez instaurer un groupe de prière dans votre Église ? Ce livre est un très bon début. »
– DANIEL L. AKIN, président du Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary

« Tout le monde se souvient de cette tante ou de cet oncle qui a fait taire nos peurs avec cette phrase : "On va simplement prier pour ça, mon chéri". John Onwuchekwa est cette voix pour aujourd’hui, qui appelle l’Église à revenir à l’un des plus simples et des plus puissants outils dans son arsenal : la pratique de la prière collective. Il ne souhaite pas simplement réveiller nos muscles de prière atrophiés ; il nous invite à la tâche bien plus ardue de réorienter nos priorités pour qu’elles s’alignent davantage avec celles de Dieu. L’appel d’Onwuchekwa à revenir à ces "choses premières" constitue un excellent point de départ pour voir les communautés chrétiennes avancer dans la même direction : celle du royaume de Dieu. »
– K. A. ELLIS, Cannada Fellow for World Christianity, Reformed Theological Seminary

« Il y a sûrement quelque chose qui manque dans votre Église, quelque chose auquel vous n’avez pas beaucoup réfléchi ou que vous n’avez probablement même pas remarqué. Il s’agit de la prière. Onwuchekwa nous explique les raisons convaincantes, pertinentes et bibliques pour lesquelles la prière collective devrait être une priorité dans l’Église. C’est un grand privilège de prier ensemble, en tant que famille – voilà la vision qu’Onwuchekwa nous communique. Ce livre a le potentiel de transformer non seulement les individus, mais aussi nos relations et la culture dans nos Églises. Je le
recommande vivement. »
– TRILLIA NEWBELL, auteure de La très bonne idée de Dieu, Enjoy et Fear and Faith

« L’Église primitive a puissamment progressé parce qu’elle était une Église qui priait (Ac 4.31). Si aujourd’hui, nous maîtrisons si bien les rouages du ministère que nous pouvons réussir sans la puissance d’en haut, alors nous avons échoué. Mais si nos Églises d’aujourd’hui entendent cette exhortation à la prière de John Onwuchekwa, nous l’emporterons nous aussi sur toutes les puissances terrestres, pour la gloire de Dieu ! »
– RAY ORTLUND, membre du conseil de The Gospel Coalition

« Ce livre nous pousse à réfléchir à la vie de prière dans l’Église locale. Onwuchekwa établit un cadre théologique, puis nous donne des solutions concrètes et réalistes pour l’étoffer. J’ai eu le privilège de travailler avec John durant cette dernière décennie, et je ne connais personne qui sache mieux que lui présenter des concepts imposants de manière agréable pour le corps de Christ. Il se surpasse dans ce livre. Il prend des principes bibliques et les transmet efficacement. Son oeuvre sur ce sujet est un don pour l’Église. »
– DHATI LEWIS, pasteur principal, Blueprint Church, Atlanta, Géorgie ; directeur général de la restauration communautaire, North American Mission Board ; auteur de Among Wolves: Disciple-Making in the City

« De quoi nos Églises pourraient-elles avoir plus besoin, sinon d’une spiritualité renouvelée, centrée sur l’Évangile ? Et que pourrions-nous faire de plus pour vivre ce renouveau que de nous réengager dans la communion nourricière avec notre Père, par la prière ? C’est pourquoi je suis reconnaissant pour ce livre exceptionnel de John Onwuchekwa. C’est un guide pratique, accessible et touchant qui nous conduit dans les profondeurs du privilège immense et glorieux de pouvoir parler au Dieu de l’univers. »
– JARED C. WILSON, directeur des stratégies de contenu, Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary ; directeur du Pastoral Training Center à Liberty Baptist Church, Kansas City, Missouri ; auteur de Supernatural Power for Everyday People

« J’ai beaucoup à dire sur ce petit livre, parce qu’il est excellent. En fait, je pense que c’est l’un des meilleurs livres de cette série. Court et bien écrit, ce livre du pasteur John Onwuchekwa se penche principalement sur deux passages des Évangiles : le Notre Père et la prière de Jésus dans le jardin de Gethsémané. Onwuchekwa nous fait part d’observations importantes qui semblent intuitives, mais qui sont aussi surprenantes. C’est un livre bien illustré, fidèle aux Écritures et théologiquement juste. Il est utile pour réfléchir non seulement aux moments où nous devrions prier, mais aussi à la manière dont nous devrions le faire, et même aux sujets de nos prières. Il nous remet en contact avec la portée de la prière collective à l’Église. Inspirant et plein d’espoir, précis et pratique, ce livre est parsemé de pointes d’humour. Prendre le temps de lire ce petit livre, sur un sujet aussi important, pourrait vous être profitable. »
– MARK DEVER, pasteur principal, Capitol Hill Baptist Church, Washington, D. C. ; président de 9Marks

Préface de la série
Introduction

1. RESPIRER À NOUVEAU - La problématique du manque de prière
2. L’EXCELLENCE - Enseigne-nous à prier
3. LE MONDE VOUS APPARTIENT - Une famille guidée
4. UN REPAS RÉCONFORTANT - Une famille nourrie
5. LES RACINES - Une famille enracinée
6. LA GLOIRE - Le rôle de la prière lors du culte d’adoration
7. REPOSEZ-VOUS SUR MOI - Le rôle de la prière dans les soins apportés aux membres de la communauté
8. FAIRE CE QUI EST JUSTE - Le rôle de la prière dans la mission

Conclusion - Lutter contre les tentations
Notes
Index des sujets
Index des références bibliques

Titre original : Prayer
Auteur : John Onwuchekwa
Édition : Éditions Cruciforme
ISBN : 978-2-924595-77-0
Parution : avril 2020
Dimensions : 5" x 7"
Format : broché