Skip to content

Language

Country

<transcy>Counseling the Hard Cases (Le counseling biblique et les cas difficiles) </transcy>

Heath Lambert
by Impact
Original price $21.00 - Original price $21.00
Original price
$21.00
$21.00 - $21.00
Current price $21.00
Availability:
110 in stock, ready to be shipped

Bible counselors have worked for decades to demonstrate that God's resources in the scriptures are sufficient to help people solve their problems. In this book, Stuart Scott and Heath Lambert use real life cases to show how the truths of God's Word can be used to bring hope and healing to the lives of those struggling with some of the most difficult psychiatric diagnoses.

In this book, a team of highly trained counselors, made up of pastors, academics, doctors, and psychiatrists, provide examples of Bible stories that have helped many people struggle with bipolar disorder, dissociative disorder of identity, obsessive-compulsive disorder, postpartum depression, panic attacks, addiction, childhood sexual abuse issues, homosexuality, and more. All of these contributors show us how the grace of Christ as revealed in the Bible brought powerful spiritual changes in the lives of those people who were previously burdened with mental and emotional problems.

Browse the first pages

Authors

Stuart Scott is Associate Professor of Bible Counseling at The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, Ky.

Heath Lambert is Associate Professor of Bible Counseling at The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary and Boyce College.

Recommendations

“The Word of God is more than enough to provide a mode and a method for the helping relationship… If you want to know how to practice a caring, wise and biblically sound helping relationship with people who are going through difficult situations. Because of this fallen world, I invite you to continue reading. »
- John MacArthur, pastor-teacher, Grace Community Church, Sun Valley, California

Biblical counseling and difficult cases changes our perspective on the helping relationship. Proponents of Bible counseling will themselves feel inspired to grow in all respects. As for his detractors, they will quickly see the old caricatures melt away. The book exposes the beautifully balanced true wisdom. It diffuses the scent of such wisdom. I wish readers to taste something of my ultimate reaction: Compassionate Father, make my life and guidance more love and truth, more of your excellent gifts and useful skills. »
- David Powlison (1949–2019), Former Faculty Member and Advisor, Christian Counseling & Educational Foundation (CCEF)

“Bible counseling and difficult cases is a prime example of how to do the helping relationship that is both true to the Word of God and practical to deal with the complex issues lurking in the fallen human heart. I commend all of these knowledgeable counselors for the invaluable help they have given us in our mission to give hope to people who are suffering and to support them in their spiritual lives. I especially appreciated the steadfast confidence of each contributor in the sufficiency and superiority of the scriptures in the helping relationship. May this book be used extensively by counselors in their work with those seeking help, and in teaching the Bible helping relationship. »
- Lance Quinn, pastor, Grace Advance, Grace Community Church, Sun Valley, California

"While many works have defended the sufficiency of the Scriptures, few have demonstrated it in the way it intervenes to solve the problems of everyday life. This is why Bible counseling and difficult cases will be a valuable resource for both counselors and pastors, showing that the Word of God is fully sufficient to solve the most difficult existential problems. »
- Deepak Reju, Pastor, Bible and Family Counselor, Capitol Hill Baptist Church, Washington, D. C.

"'That's all well and good, Dr Mack, but what do you do when people are really in serious trouble?" With this brief question, the woman interviewing me revealed to me her perspective on the inadequacy of the scriptures to help those who constituted what she and others considered difficult cases of helping relationships. Sadly, this woman’s perspective speaks to the views of many, Christians and non-Christians alike. How I would have liked to recommend to her a book with examples of individuals powerfully rescued through a competent and precise use of the scriptures, but by the time I met her, the book Biblical Counseling and Difficult Cases had failed. not yet been written. I am delighted to know that it is now available, and I feel that it will be powerfully used by the Lord to further anchor the faith of his people in the all-sufficient and superior Word of God, and to make better use of it. .
- Wayne Mack, Bible Counselor, Author and Ministry Trainer in South Africa

Table of contents

Preface to the original edition
Preface to the French edition
Foreword

Chapter 1
Introduction: Scripture Sufficiency, the Biblical Counseling Movement, and the Purpose of This Book
HEATH LAMBERT

Chapter 2
"MARIANNE": surviving sexual violence
LAURA HENDRICKSON

Chapter 3 - "BRIAN": Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
STEVE VIARS

Chapter 4
"SARAH": postnatal depression
HEATH LAMBERT

Chapter 5
"MARY": paralyzing fear
DAN WICKERT

Chapter 6
"ASHLEY": anorexia
MARTHA PEACE

Chapter 7
"TONY": bipolar disorder
GARRETT HIGBEE

Chapter 8 - “JACKIE”: Dissociated Personality Disorder
STUART SCOTT

Chapter 9
"JASON": homosexuality
KEVIN CARSON

Chapter 10
"JULIE": addictions and adultery
ROBERT D. JONES

Chapter 11
"JENNIFER": a seemingly difficult case
JOHN BABLER

Final thoughts
HEATH LAMBERT AND STUART SCOTT

Contributors

Details

Original title : Counseling the Hard Cases
Authors : Stuart Scott & Heath Lambert
Publisher : Editions Impact
ISBN : 978-2-89082-386-0
Publication : January 2020
Pages : 335
Dimensions : 6 "x 9"
Format : paperback
Weight : 454 g

Le counseling biblique et les cas difficiles

Impact
24,95 $

Les conseillers bibliques s’acharnent depuis des décennies à démontrer que les ressources offertes par Dieu dans les Écritures sont suffisantes pour aider les gens à résoudre leurs problèmes. Dans ce livre, Stuart Scott et Heath Lambert utilisent des cas réels pour montrer comment les vérités de la Parole de Dieu peuvent être utilisées pour apporter l’espoir et la guérison dans la vie de ceux qui luttent avec certains des diagnostics psychiatriques les plus difficiles.

Dans cet ouvrage, une équipe de conseillers hautement qualifiés, composée de pasteurs, d’universitaires, de médecins et de psychiatres, donne des exemples de récits bibliques qui ont aidé plusieurs personnes à lutter contre les troubles bipolaires, le trouble dissociatif de l’identité, le trouble obsessionnel compulsif, la dépression post-partum, les crises de panique, la dépendance, les problèmes liés aux abus sexuels durant l'enfance, l'homosexualité, et plus encore. Tous ces contributeurs nous montrent comment la grâce de Christ, telle que révélée dans la Bible, a apporté de puissants changements spirituels dans la vie de ces personnes qui étaient auparavant accablées par des problèmes mentaux et émotionnels.

Feuilleter les premières pages

Stuart Scott est professeur agrégé de counseling biblique à The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary à Louisville, au Kentucky.

Heath Lambert est professeur agrégé de counseling biblique à The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary et au Boyce College.

« La Parole de Dieu suffit amplement pour fournir un mode et une méthode à la relation d’aide… Si vous désirez savoir comment pratiquer une relation d’aide attentionnée, sage et bibliquement saine envers des personnes qui vivent des situations difficiles à cause de ce monde déchu, je vous invite à poursuivre cette lecture. »
– John MacArthur, pasteur-enseignant, Grace Community Church, Sun Valley, Californie

« Le counseling biblique et les cas difficiles change notre perspective sur la relation d'aide. Les partisans du counseling biblique se sentiront eux-mêmes incités à croître à tous égards. Quant à ses détracteurs, ils verront fondre à vue d'oeil les vieilles caricatures. L’ouvrage expose la véritable sagesse admirablement équilibrée. Il diffuse le parfum d’une telle sagesse. Je souhaite que les lecteurs goûtent quelque chose de ma réaction ultime : Père de toute compassion, fais que ma vie et mes conseils incarnent plus d’amour et de vérité, plus de tes dons excellents et de compétences utiles. »
– David Powlison (1949–2019), ancien membre de la Faculté et conseiller, Christian Counseling & Educational Foundation (CCEF)

« Le counseling biblique et les cas difficiles est un excellent exemple de la manière de faire de la relation d’aide qui est à la fois fidèle à la Parole de Dieu et concrètement adaptée aux problèmes complexes tapis dans le coeur humain déchu. Je félicite tous ces conseillers compétents pour l’aide précieuse qu’ils nous ont fournie dans notre mission de redonner de l’espoir aux gens qui souffrent et de les soutenir dans leur vie spirituelle. J’ai particulièrement apprécié la ferme confiance de chaque contributeur en la suffisance et la supériorité des Écritures dans la relation d’aide. Que ce livre soit abondamment utilisé par les conseillers dans leurs tâches auprès de ceux qui sollicitent de l’aide, et dans l’enseignement de la relation d’aide biblique. »
– Lance Quinn, pasteur, Grace Advance, Grace Community Church, Sun Valley, Californie

« Si de nombreux ouvrages ont défendu la suffisance des Écritures, peu l’ont démontrée dans sa façon d’intervenir pour résoudre les problèmes de la vie courante. C’est pourquoi Le counseling biblique et les cas difficiles constituera une ressource précieuse aussi bien pour les conseillers que pour les pasteurs, en montrant que la Parole de Dieu est pleinement suffisante pour résoudre les problèmes existentiels les plus difficiles. »
– Deepak Reju, pasteur, conseiller biblique et familial, Capitol Hill Baptist Church, Washington, D. C.

« “C’est bien beau, Dr Mack, mais que faites-vous lorsque les gens rencontrent réellement de sérieuses difficultés ?” Par cette brève question, la femme qui m’interrogeait me révéla son point de vue sur l’insuffisance des Écritures pour aider les gens qui constituaient ce qu’elle et d’autres considéraient comme des cas difficiles de relation d’aide. Malheureusement, la perspective de cette femme exprime l’opinion de beaucoup, chrétiens et non-chrétiens. Combien j’aurais aimé lui recommander un ouvrage avec des exemples d’individus puissamment secourus grâce à une utilisation compétente et précise des Écritures, mais au moment où je l’ai rencontrée, l’ouvrage Le counseling biblique et les cas difficiles n’avait pas encore été écrit. Je me réjouis de savoir qu’il est désormais disponible, et je sens qu’il sera puissamment utilisé par le Seigneur pour mieux ancrer encore la foi de son peuple dans la Parole de Dieu toute-suffisante et supérieure, et pour mieux l’employer. »
– Wayne Mack, conseiller biblique, auteur et formateur exerçant un ministère en Afrique du Sud

Préface à l'édition originale
Préface à l'édition française
Avant-propos

Chapitre 1
Introduction : la suffisance des Écritures, le mouvement du counseling biblique et le but de ce livre
HEATH LAMBERT

Chapitre 2
« MARIANNE » : survivre à des violences sexuelles
LAURA HENDRICKSON

Chapitre 3
« BRIAN » : le trouble obsessionnel compulsif
STEVE VIARS

Chapitre 4
« SARAH » : la dépression postnatale
HEATH LAMBERT

Chapitre 5
« MARIE » : la peur paralysante
DAN WICKERT

Chapitre 6
« ASHLEY » : l’anorexie
MARTHA PEACE

Chapitre 7
« TONY » : le trouble bipolaire
GARRETT HIGBEE

Chapitre 8
« JACKIE » : le trouble de la personnalité dissociée
STUART SCOTT

Chapitre 9
« JASON » : l’homosexualité
KEVIN CARSON

Chapitre 10
« JULIE » : les dépendances et l’adultère
ROBERT D. JONES

Chapitre 11
« JENNIFER » : un cas difficile en apparence
JOHN BABLER

Réflexions finales
HEATH LAMBERT ET STUART SCOTT

Contributeurs

Titre original : Counseling the Hard Cases
Auteurs : Stuart Scott & Heath Lambert
Édition : Éditions Impact
ISBN : 978-2-89082-386-0
Parution : janvier 2020
Pages : 335
Dimensions : 6" x 9"
Format : broché
Poids : 454 g