Skip to content

Language

<transcy>The meaning of marriage (Le marriage)</transcy>

Timothy Keller
by CLÉ
Original price 29,95 $ - Original price 29,95 $
Original price
29,95 $
29,95 $ - 29,95 $
Current price 29,95 $
Availability:
96 in stock, ready to be shipped
Presentation 

No marriage book is quite like this one!

This book is for all those who are looking for a thousand-year-old wisdom relevant to face the complexity of married life.

Christians or skeptics, married or in thought. Modern culture would have us believe that everyone has a soul mate that we discover on love at first sight, that feelings are the essential of a successful marriage, that our spouse is there to help us realize our potential, that marriage has a limited duration, and that starting over after divorce is the only way out of seemingly intractable problems.

These modern claims are false.

Timothy Keller presents with the intelligence that we know him the marriage lessons of the Bible, enriched by his long experience as a pastor and husband. Marriage is a glorious relationship that can bring us closer to God and bring us lasting joy. It is also the most misunderstood and the most mysterious of relationships. Marriage is essential reading for anyone who wants to know God within marriage, and love more deeply in this life.

Kathy Keller, Timothy's wife, helped write this book. It is therefore the fruit of a couple who experienced the biblical principles and values ​​that they emphasize in the heart of this book.

Authors

Timothy Keller studied at Bucknell University, Gordon Conwell School of Theology and Westminster School of Theology. He is the New York pastor of the Presbyterian Church of the Redeemer, which he established in 1989 with his wife Kathy and their three young sons. Today, the Church of the Redeemer is regularly attended by nearly five thousand people. It has many partner Churches and accompanies the birth of new Churches in several metropolises. He is the author of numerous books including Reason is for God and Idols of the Heart.

Kathy Keller holds an MA from the Gordon-Conwell School of Theology.

Table of contents

Introduction
1. The Secret of Marriage
2. Power for Marriage
3. The essence of marriage
4. The Mission of Marriage
5. Love the stranger
6. Welcoming the Other
7. Marriage and Celibacy
8. Sexual relations and marriage
Epilogue - The mystery of marriage
Appendix - Male-female roles in decision-making
Acknowledgments
A few words about the authors
Notes

Details

Original title: The meaning of marriage: facing the complexities of commmitment with the Wisdom of God
Subtitle
: Un engagement complex à living with the wisdom of God
Authors : Timothy & Kathy Keller
Publisher : Clé
ISBN : 978-2-35843- 036-4
Pages : 293
Dimensions : 5.5 '' X 8.5 ''
Weight : 358 g
Format : paperback

Related resources

Read an excerpt

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
E
Edouard

Je suis très heureux d'avoir eu la grâce de me procurer ce livre, c'est une réelle bénédiction pour moi. Ce qui rend ce livre particulier, c'est qu'en plus d'être très bibliquement fondé, Timothy Keller y a mis à disposition des lecteurs la sagesse qu'il a reçue de Dieu dans son couple après plusieurs décennies de mariage, ainsi que son expérience pastorale. Les enseignements y sont très pratiques, et propres à désillusionner et préparer pour ce chemin béni qu'est celui du mariage ou renforcer les liens de ceux/celles qui s'y sont déjà engagés. Je recommande forrrrrt !

Le mariage

CLÉ
29,95 $

Aucun livre sur le mariage n'est semblable à celui-ci !

Ce livre s'adresse à tous ceux qui recherchent une sagesse millénaire pertinente pour faire face à la complexité de la vie conjugale.

Chrétiens ou sceptiques, mariés ou en réflexion. La culture moderne voudrait nous faire croire que chacun a une âme sœur que l'on découvre sur un coup de foudre, que les sentiments sont l'essentiel d'un mariage réussi, que notre conjoint est là pour nous aider à réaliser notre potentiel, que le mariage a une durée limitée, et que recommencer après un divorce est la seule issue aux problèmes apparemment insolubles.

Ces allégations modernes sont fausses.

Timothy Keller présente avec l'intelligence qu'on lui connaît les leçons conjugales de la Bible, enrichies de sa longue expérience de pasteur et d'époux. Le mariage est une relation glorieuse qui peut nous rapprocher de Dieu et nous apporter une joie durable. C'est aussi la plus incomprise et la plus mystérieuse des relations. Le mariage est une lecture essentielle pour quiconque veut connaître Dieu au sein du mariage, et aimer plus profondément dans cette vie.

Kathy Keller, l'épouse de Timothy, a collaborée à l'écriture de ce livre. C'est donc le fruit d'un couple qui a expérimenté les principes et valeurs bibliques qu'ils soulignent en cœur dans cet ouvrage.

Auteurs

Timothy Keller a étudié à l’Université Bucknell, à la faculté de théologie Gordon-Conwell et à la faculté de théologie de Westminster. Il est pasteur à New York de l’Église presbytérienne du Rédempteur qu’il a implantée en 1989 avec son épouse Kathy et leurs trois jeunes fils. Aujourd’hui, l’Église du Rédempteur est régulièrement fréquentée par près de cinq mille personnes. Elle compte de nombreuses Églises partenaires et accompagne la naissance de nouvelles Églises dans plusieurs métropoles. Il est l’auteur de nombreux livres dont La raison est pour Dieu et Les idoles du coeur.

Kathy Keller détient un master de la faculté de théologie Gordon-Conwell.

Introduction
1. Le secret du mariage
2. La puissance pour le mariage
3. L’essence du mariage
4. La mission du mariage
5. Aimer l’étranger
6. Accueillir l’Autre
7. Mariage et célibat
8. Les relations sexuelles et le mariage
Épilogue - Le mystère du mariage
Appendice - Les rôles homme-femme dans la prise de décision
Remerciements
Quelques mots sur les auteurs
Notes

Titre original : The meaning of mariage: facing the complexities of commmitment with the Wisdom of God
Sous-titre
 : Un engagement complexe à vivre avec la sagesse de Dieu
Auteurs : Timothy & Kathy Keller
Édition : Clé
ISBN : 978-2-35843-036-4
Pages : 293
Dimensions : 5,5'' X 8,5''
Poids : 358 g
Format : broché