Skip to content

Memoirs of an Ordinary Pastor (Mémoires d'un pasteur ordinaire)

Original price 19,95 $ - Original price 19,95 $
Original price
19,95 $
19,95 $ - 19,95 $
Current price 19,95 $
Browse the first pages
Recommendations

“Read this book and be strengthened. You have in your hands a mixture of history, humor and an impressive amount of wisdom for the Christian life (and wisdom especially for pastors!). You will find in abundance surprising and even striking statements. God still encourages His Church by the example and writings of Don Carson. "
–Mark Dever, Pastor Capitol Hill Baptist Church

" In these days when we honor the pastors of the mega-churches, it is refreshing to read the story of an ordinary pastor. This represents the unsung heroes among us who do not aspire to greatness, but rather godliness and faith. This account from Dr. Don Carson's father provides us with a good understanding of the life of a man who accepted the challenges of ministry with grace and integrity. The story also gives us the rare opportunity to understand the life of a Protestant pastor in French-speaking Quebec. This book is a powerful reminder that there are no small ministries if we are faithful to the God who called us. Read it so that you will be blessed, challenged, and educated in the things that really matter. "
–Erwin W. Lutzer, Senior Pastor, Moody Church , Chicago

" Memories of an Ordinary Pastor: Life and reflections by Tom Carson is a deeply edifying and topical book. The seal of the ministry of the gospel is not numbers, “success”, novelty or “relevance”, but fidelity, and this message is heard loud and clear from beginning to end of these memoirs. . This reading recalls the powerful words of Anna Waring: “Happy to occupy this little place, if You are glorified by it”. I find the content deeply evocative and informative from a pastoral perspective. In this age of famous preachers and celebrity-led ministries, it is quite refreshing to be educated and encouraged by the record of quiet, lifelong Biblical faithfulness in the work of God. gospel. Read, Repent. Be encouraged. And go and do the same.
–Ligon Duncan, Senior Pastor, First Presbyterian Church , Jackson, Mississippi; president, Alliance of Confessing Evangelicals ; Assistant Professor, Reformed Theological Seminary

"This book is a rare and precious gift from one of the foremost scholars of the evangelical movement. It is rare, because given our modern fascination with mega-churches and famous pastors, we tend to put aside the simple and faithful pastor. He is precious to ordinary pastors like me, because the life of Tom Carson is an inspiring biblical model for pastoral ministry, a ministry that is gospel-centered, full of integrity, and faithful to the end. Dr. Carson is very generous in leaving his father's quiet legacy to us in this way. May every pastor and Christian who reads this book aspire to bequeath such an “ordinary” heritage. »
–C.J. Mahaney, Sovereign Grace Ministries

"Could there be a better story to encourage pastors than the one told by a Bible-steeped mind (Don's) about 'a life steeped in the Bible (Tom's)? And this “intelligence” applies to it with a lot of love because the “life” in question is that of his father. Add to that yet a certain kind of creativity in storytelling that you never knew from Don Carson. See the result. »
–John Piper, pastor responsible for preaching and vision, Bethlehem Baptist Church , Minneapolis

Author
Donald Carson is Professor of New Testament Research at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School , where he has taught since 1978. He has served as a pastor and in itinerant ministry in Canada and the United Kingdom . Dr. Carson is a frequently invited preacher and teacher in many churches and conferences in academic circles around the world. He is the author and publisher of over forty-five books.
Table of contents
Preface
1. O Canada! Brief History of Quebec
2. Tom Carson: The Beginnings of His Life and Ministry
3. French Work in Montreal
4. The crisis
5. The first years in Drummondville
6. Discouragement, Despair, Commitment
7. Official and Servant of the Gospel
8. The Work Continues: Transformation and Growth
9. Marg's Alzheimer's Years
10. A happy ending: the last ministry and a glorious promotion
Details
Original title : Memoirs of an Ordinary Pastor
Author : DA Carson
Publisher : Cruciforme
ISBN : 978-2-924110-27-0
Pages : 197
Publication : 2013
Dimensions : 5.5 "x 8.5"
Format : paperback
Weight : 244 g

Mémoires d'un pasteur ordinaire

Cruciforme
19,95 $

« Lisez ce livre et soyez fortifié. Vous avez entre les mains un mélange d’histoire, d’humour et une impressionnante quantité de sagesse pour la vie chrétienne (et de la sagesse particulièrement pour les pasteurs !). Vous y trouverez en abondance des affirmations surprenantes et même saisissantes. Dieu encourage encore son Église par l’exemple et les écrits de Don Carson. »
Mark Dever, pasteur Capitol Hill Baptist Church

« En ces jours où nous honorons les pasteurs des mégaéglises, il est rafraîchissant de lire le récit d’un pasteur ordinaire. Celui-ci représente les héros méconnus parmi nous qui n’aspirent pas aux grandeurs, mais plutôt à la piété et la foi. Ce récit du père du docteur Don Carson nous fournit une bonne compréhension de la vie de cet homme qui a accepté les défis du ministère avec grâce et intégrité. Le récit nous donne aussi la rare occasion de comprendre la vie d’un pasteur protestant dans le Québec francophone. Ce livre est un rappel puissant qu’il n’y a pas de petits ministères si nous sommes fidèles au Dieu qui nous a appelés. Lisez-le afin d’être bénis, mis au défi et instruits dans les choses qui comptent vraiment. »
Erwin W. Lutzer, pasteur principal, Moody Church, Chicago

« Mémoires d’un pasteur ordinaire : la vie et les réflexions de Tom Carson est un livre profondément édifiant et d’actualité. Le sceau du ministère de l’évangile, ce ne sont pas les chiffres, le “succès”, la nouveauté ou la “pertinence”, mais la fidélité, et ce message se fait entendre haut et fort du début à la fin de ces mémoires. Cette lecture rappelle les paroles puissantes d’Anna Waring : “heureuse d’occuper cette petite place, si Tu en es glorifié”. Je trouve le contenu profondément évocateur et instructif d’un point de vue pastoral. Dans cette ère de prédicateurs célèbres et de ministères tenus par des personnalités, il est tout à fait rafraîchissant d’être instruit et encouragé par le récit d’une fidélité biblique discrète, tout au long d’une vie, dans l’œuvre de l’évangile. Lisez, Repentez-vous. Soyez encouragés. Et allez et faites de même. »
Ligon Duncan, pasteur principal, First Presbyterian Church, Jackson, Mississippi ; président, Alliance of Confessing Evangelicals ; professeur adjoint, Reformed Theological Seminary

« Ce livre est un cadeau rare et précieux de la part d’un des plus grands érudits du mouvement évangélique. Il est rare, car étant donné notre fascination moderne pour les mégaéglises et les pasteurs célèbres, nous avons tendance à mettre de côté le pasteur simple et fidèle. Il est précieux pour des pasteurs ordinaires comme moi, parce que la vie de Tom Carson est un modèle biblique inspirant pour le ministère pastoral, un ministère qui est centré sur l’évangile, empreint d’intégrité et fidèle jusqu’à la fin. Le docteur Carson est très généreux de nous léguer ainsi l’héritage discret de son père. Que chaque pasteur et chrétien qui lira ce livre aspire léguer un tel héritage “ordinaire”. »
C.J. MahaneySovereign Grace Ministries

« Pourrait-il y avoir meilleure histoire pour encourager les pasteurs que celle racontée par une intelligence imprégnée de la Bible (celle de Don) au sujet d’une vie imprégnée de la Bible (celle de Tom) ? Et cette “intelligence” s’y applique avec beaucoup d’amour parce que la “vie” en question est celle de son père. Ajoutez-y encore un certain genre de créativité dans la narration que vous ne soupçonniez pas chez Don Carson. Constatez le résultat. » 
John Piper, pasteur responsable de la prédication et de la vision,Bethlehem Baptist Church, Minneapolis

Donald Carson est professeur de recherche du Nouveau Testament à laTrinity Evangelical Divinity School, où il enseigne depuis 1978. Il a été pasteur et a assumé un ministère itinérant au Canada et Royaume-Uni. Le docteur Carson est un prédicateur et enseignant fréquemment invité dans de nombreuses Églises et conférences dans les milieux académiques à travers le monde. Il est l’auteur et l’éditeur de plus de quarante-cinq ouvrages.

  • Préface
  1. Ô Canada ! Bref historique du Québec
  2. Tom Carson : Les débuts de sa vie et de son ministère
  3. L’œuvre française à Montréal
  4. La crise
  5. Les premières années à Drummondville
  6. Découragement, désespoir, engagement
  7. Fonctionnaire et serviteur de l’évangile
  8. L’œuvre continue : transformation et croissance
  9. Les années d’Alzheimer de Marg
  10. Une fin heureuse : le dernier ministère et une promotion glorieuse

Titre originalMemoirs of an Ordinary Pastor
Auteur : D.A. Carson

Édition : Cruciforme
ISBN : 978-2-924110-27-0
Pages : 197
Parution : 2013
Dimensions : 5,5" x 8,5"
Format : broché
Poids : 244 g