Skip to content

A little practical ethics manual (Petit manuel d'éthique pratique)

by CLÉ
17,95 $
translation missing: en.product.item.price.tax_line_html
Availablity: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon Only 9 remains!

Presentation

End of life, voluntary termination of pregnancy, parentage, lies, doping, cheating and other ethical questions do not only concern specialists or professionals in a discipline. They concern us all. What personal answer to give? How to justify it? What approach to follow?

Thanks to this Small practical ethics manual , Dr Vincent Rébeillé-Borgella accompanies us in our reflection. The author has animated numerous meetings, conferences and discussions on this topic, and in particular for students and health practitioners. This book is the result of his rich experience. It is intended for all those who must make ethical decisions in their personal or professional environment (medical, business, media, education, sport…).

The author begins with an overview of ethics in history and philosophy. With this summary, we become aware of the stakes and the complexity of these questions. He then offers us a simple ethical approach in 3 steps: analyze, believe and act. It emphasizes the role of the Bible as standards / beliefs of Christian ethics. To illustrate this approach, the author ends with several practical cases, analyzed according to two reference frames of belief (religion and reason).

This Small practical ethics manual is educational, abundantly illustrated with diagrams and resolutely oriented towards everyday life. It will not make you an ethics specialist but will allow you to act and be consistent.

Author

Vincent RÉBEILLÉ-BORGELLA is a general practitioner in Lyon. He exercised union responsibilities as general secretary of the main union of general practitioners. He also works with students of the Faculty of Medicine of Lyon Est as a teacher in the 3 e cycle of general medicine and as an internship supervisor. He supports students and health personnel within his church in Villeurbanne.

Table of contents

Presentation

  • Ethics or morals?
  • Are ethics a fashion?

Overview of ethics in the history of philosophy

  • Antiquity
  • The Middle Ages
  • Summary of different conceptions of ethics, from Antiquity to the Middle Ages
  • Summary of the different types of ethics standards
  • The Reformation in the 16th and 17th centuries
  • Synthesis of the ethics of the Reformation
  • The empowerment of morals for finality
  • Synthesis of the ethics of consequences through the empowerment of morals
  • The empowerment of morals for principles
  • Summary of the different types of ethics

Issues of reflection around ethics

  • No ethics without complexity
  • Limits and contradictions
  • Two big questions
  • So what is ethics?

The ethical approach

  • The three stages of the process
  • Issues and consequences of the ethical approach
  • To go further

The example of Christian ethics

  • What foundations for a Christian ethics?
  • Understanding Christian ethics

Practical cases of the ethical approach

  • Voluntary termination of pregnancy
  • Euthanasia
  • The lie
  • Suicide
  • The death penalty
  • Cheating (at an exam, to have a job, a social advantage ...)

Opening
Bibliography
Notes
General index

Details

Author : Vincent Rébeillé-Borgella
Publisher : Clé
Pages : 116
ISBN : 978-2-35843-118-7
Publication : 2017
Dimensions : 14 x 21 cm
Weight : 146
Format : paperback

Related resources

Read an excerpt

Petit manuel d'éthique pratique

CLÉ
17,95 $

Fin de vie, interruption volontaire de grossesse, filiation, mensonge, dopage, tricherie et autres questions éthiques ne concernent pas uniquement les spécialistes ou les professionnels d'une discipline. Elles nous concernent tous. Quelle réponse personnelle donner ? Comment la justifier ? Quelle démarche suivre ?

Grâce à ce Petit manuel d'éthique pratique, le Dr Vincent Rébeillé-Borgella nous accompagne dans notre réflexion. L'auteur a animé de nombreuses rencontres, conférences et discussions sur ce thème, et notamment pour des étudiants et praticiens de la santé. Ce livre est le résultat de sa riche expérience. Il est destiné à tous ceux qui doivent prendre des décisions éthiques dans leur milieu personnel ou professionnel (médical, affaires, médias, éducation, sport …).

L'auteur commence par un survol de l'éthique dans l'histoire et la philosophie. Avec ce résumé, nous prenons conscience des enjeux et de la complexité de ces questions. Il nous propose ensuite une démarche éthique simple en 3 étapes : analyser, croire et agir. Il souligne le rôle de la Bible comme normes/croyances de l'éthique chrétienne. Pour illustrer cette démarche, l'auteur termine avec plusieurs cas pratiques, analysés selon deux référentiels de croyance (religion et raison).

Ce Petit manuel d'éthique pratique est pédagogique, abondamment illustré de schémas et résolument orienté vers le quotidien. Il ne fera pas de vous un spécialiste de l'éthique mais vous permettra d'agir et d'être conséquent.

Auteur

Vincent RÉBEILLÉ-BORGELLA est médecin généraliste à Lyon. Il a exercé des responsabilités syndicales en tant que secrétaire général du principal syndicat de médecins généralistes. Il intervient également auprès des étudiants de la faculté de médecine de Lyon Est comme enseignant en 3e cycle de médecine générale et comme maître de stage. Il accompagne les étudiants et personnels de la santé au sein de son église à Villeurbanne.

Présentation

  • Éthique ou morale ?
  • L’éthique est-elle une mode ?

Survol de l’éthique dans l’histoire de la philosophie

  • L’Antiquité
  • Le Moyen-Âge
  • Synthèse des différentes conceptions de l’éthique, de l’Antiquité au Moyen-Âge
  • Synthèse des différents types de référentiels de l’éthique
  • La Réforme aux 16e et 17e siècles
  • Synthèse de l’éthique de la Réforme
  • L’autonomisation de la morale pour la finalité
  • Synthèse de l’éthique des conséquences par l’autonomisation de la morale
  • L’autonomisation de la morale pour les principes
  • Synthèse des différents types d’éthiques

Enjeux de la réflexion autour de l’éthique

  • Pas d’éthique sans complexité
  • Limites et contradictions
  • Deux grandes questions
  • Alors qu’est-ce que l’éthique ?

La démarche éthique

  • Les trois étapes de la démarche
  • Enjeux et conséquences de la démarche éthique
  • Pour aller plus loin

L’exemple de l’éthique chrétienne

  • Quels fondements pour une éthique chrétienne ?
  • Comprendre l’éthique chrétienne

Cas pratiques de la démarche éthique

  • L’interruption volontaire de grossesse
  • L’euthanasie
  • Le mensonge
  • Le suicide
  • La peine de mort
  • La tricherie (à un examen, pour avoir un emploi, un avantage social…)

Ouverture
Bibliographie
Notes
Index général

Auteur : Vincent Rébeillé-Borgella
Édition : Clé
Pages : 116
ISBN : 978-2-35843-118-7
Parution : 2017
Dimensions: 14 x 21 cm
Poids : 146
Format : broché