Skip to content

Christ-Centered Preaching (Prêcher, l'art et la manière)

Original price 46,95 $ - Original price 46,95 $
Original price
46,95 $
46,95 $ - 46,95 $
Current price 46,95 $
Presentation

Faith comes from what you hear

Bryan Chapell’s book is a real homiletics manual, as we had very little in French until now. The preaching is approached from the conception to the final amen, from the study of the biblical text to the techniques of communication, from the function of the introduction to that of the conclusion without forgetting the essential transitions, from the plan and the structure to the use of illustrations and application, a capital element for the listener on which the author particularly insists.

Because, as with all praxis, you better know what lies behind it, Chapell does not limit his talk to practical teaching and advice. It begins with what one might call the philosophy of preaching, its reason for being, the foundations of this and of its effectiveness, the work of the Spirit, without forgetting the qualities of the preacher, the balance of 'humility and authority.

In homiletics, if the form is important, the content is essential: the preaching will not be that of the good news of Jesus Christ if grace does not occupy the central place. The author's educational concern is also reflected in this more theological field: by his insistence on the reality of the human condition and on the redemptive dimension of preaching, he shows how to be faithful to Scripture and in particular to avoid all legalism and moralism. in proclaiming the biblical message.

By its theoretical, practical and theological dimensions, this work will allow the preacher, whether he is a novice or already experienced, to refine his practice, to become aware of his possible shortcomings or shortcomings and to remedy them. But above all, he will know how to arouse in him the creativity and originality to be deployed in the practice of homiletics. All the more so as he will have guided the latter step by step in learning and perfecting what constitutes the art and manner of preaching.

New revised and enlarged edition

Author

Bryan Chapell pastor of the Presbyterian Church of Grace in Peoria, Illinois, continues to minister in practical theological education in several theological schools (Covenant Theological Seminary , Knox Theological Seminary, Reformed Theological Seminary, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School).

Table of contents

Table of contents

Details

Original title : Christ-Centered Preaching
Author : Bryan Chapell
Publisher : Excelsis
ISBN : 978-2-7550-0361-1
Publication : 2019
Pages : 480
Weight : 700 g
Dimensions : 15 x 22 cm
Format : paperback

Related resources

Read an excerpt

Prêcher, l'art et la manière

Excelsis
46,05 $

La foi vient de ce qu’on entend

Le livre de Bryan Chapell est un véritable manuel d’homilétique comme on en avait jusque-là bien peu en français. La prédication est abordée de la conception à l’amen final, de l’étude du texte biblique aux techniques de communication, de la fonction de l’introduction à celle de la conclusion sans oublier les indispensables transitions, du plan et de la structure à l’usage des illustrations et à l’application, élément capital pour l’auditeur sur lequel l’auteur insiste particulièrement.

Parce que, comme pour toute praxis, mieux vaut savoir ce qui la sous-tend, Chapell ne limite pas son propos à un enseignement et des conseils d’ordre pratique. Il commence en effet par ce que l’on pourrait appeler la philosophie de la prédication, sa raison d’être, les fondements de celle-ci et de son efficacité, oeuvre de l’Esprit, sans oublier les qualités du prédicateur, équilibre d’humilité et d’autorité.

En matière d’homilétique, si la forme est importante, le contenu est primordial : la prédication ne sera pas celle de la bonne nouvelle de Jésus-Christ si la grâce n’y occupe pas la place centrale. Le souci pédagogique de l’auteur transparaît aussi dans ce domaine plus théologique : par son insistance sur la réalité de la condition humaine et sur la dimension rédemptrice de la prédication, il montre comment être fidèle à l’Écriture et éviter notamment tout légalisme et moralisme dans la proclamation du message biblique.

Par ses dimensions théoriques, pratiques et théologiques, cet ouvrage permettra au prédicateur, que celui-ci soit novice ou déjà expérimenté, d’affiner sa pratique, de prendre conscience de ses manques ou travers éventuels et d’y remédier. Mais surtout il saura susciter chez lui la créativité et l’originalité à déployer dans la pratique homilétique. Et ce, d’autant mieux qu’il aura guidé ce dernier pas à pas dans l’apprentissage et le perfectionnement de ce qui constitue l’art et la manière de la prédication.

Bryan Chapell est professeur de théologie pratique au Covenant Theological Seminary, dont il est également le président, à Saint Louis, dans le Missouri (États-Unis).

Titre originalChrist-Centered Preaching
Auteur : Bryan Chapell
Édition : Excelsis
ISBN : 978-2-7550-0099-3
Parution : avril 2017
Pages : 480
Poids : 670 g
Dimensions : 15 x 22 cm
Format : broché