Skip to content

When the storm's flight (Quand le vol de la tempête)

Out of stock
22,00 $
translation missing: en.product.item.price.tax_line_html
Availablity: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon Out of stock

Presentation

Very often in the history of redemption and of the Church, the Lord allows difficult circumstances, even incomprehensible, for the good of His people.

What grieving believer has not blessed the name of the Lord for Job's painful and tragic experiences? What about the wanderings of the people of Israel in the desert, which warn the believer not to rebel against God? Or, even more mysterious, David's incident with Batsheba and Uriah, to equip God's people to fight against temptation?

We do not know the details that produced the great cry of distress in Psalm 22: "My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? But how many believers have withdrawn from this prophecy the assurance that Christ was indeed the Messiah of God who perfectly accomplished the salvation of His people on the cross.

Likewise with this book. The author, having already lost two young children, was deprived of his beloved daughter at the age of 21. The pain of this loss, united with the life of grace implanted by the Spirit, results in pages filled with sensitivity and compassion.

But these are not pages of pity. The believer never laments like other men, who have no hope. Instead, Pastor Cuyler will draw from the riches of the Word of God the treasures of strength he needs. Although trained in the best theological institutions of his day, he speaks more like a shepherd, whose care of the sheep burns in his heart.

A book filled with consolation and hope that directs the gaze to the Lamb whom God provided to bring his people into his glorious presence.

Author

Théodore Cuyler (1822-1909): Born in New York State, he studied at Princeton seminary. He served various churches in the region, where he experienced several revivals. He was invited to take over the leadership of the Presbyterian Church at Lafayette Avenue, Brooklyn, which under his service became the largest Presbyterian church in the United States at the time. A remarkable influence among his peers, he was also the friend of servants of God like Charles Spurgeon and H. Bonar.

Table of contents
  • Foreword
  1. Light of God in the dark
  2. The barley field fire
  3. Tears and action
  4. There is enough trouble for each day
  5. Did you flower the grave?
  6. Trust in God in the dark
  7. The school of God and its lessons
  8. Wait for God to reveal himself
  9. The Shepherd of the Sheep
  10. The eternal arms of God
  11. A word for the fallen Christian
  12. The Lord reigns
  13. Look up to the mountains
  14. You saw well
  15. The Lord is my strength
  16. Implement your salvation
  17. Holiness and happiness
  18. Angels at the tomb
  19. Tears in the evening, but joy in the morning
  20. The two residences of the Christian
  21. Fall asleep "in Jesus"
  22. Fall Time in Greenwood
Details

Subtitle : Words of encouragement for those who suffer in depression and mourning
Author : Théodore Cuyler
Publisher : Europresse
Pages : 144
Weight : 190 g
Publication : June 17, 2011
Dimensions : 14 x 21.5 cm
ISBN : 978-2-914562-62-1
Format : paperback

Quand le vol de la tempête

Europresse
22,00 $

Très souvent dans l’histoire de la rédemption et de l’Église, le Seigneur permet des circonstances difficiles, incompréhensibles même, pour le bien de son peuple.

Quel croyant affligé n’a pas béni le nom de l’Éternel pour les expériences pénibles et tragiques de Job ? Que dire des errements du peuple d’Israël dans le désert, qui avertissent le croyant de ne pas se rebeller contre Dieu ? Ou bien, encore plus mystérieux, l’incident de David avec Batshéba et Urie, pour équiper le peuple de Dieu à lutter contre la tentation ?

On ne connaît pas les détails qui produisirent le grand cri de détresse du Psaume 22 : « Mon Dieu, mon Dieu, pourquoi m’as-tu abandonné ? » Mais combien de croyants ont retiré de cette prophétie l’assurance que Christ était effectivement le Messie de Dieu qui accomplissait parfaitement le salut de son peuple sur la croix.

De même avec le présent livre. L’auteur, après avoir déjà perdu deux enfants en bas âge, se vit privé de sa fille bien-aimée à l’âge de 21 ans. La douleur de cette perte, unie à la vie de la grâce implantée par l’Esprit, résulte en des pages remplies de sensibilité et de compassion.

Mais ce ne sont pas des pages d’apitoiement. Le croyant ne se lamente jamais comme les autres hommes, qui n’ont pas d’espérance. Au lieu de cela, le pasteur Cuyler va puiser dans les richesses de la Parole de Dieu les trésors de forces dont il a besoin. Bien que formé dans les meilleures institutions théologiques de son époque, il parle plutôt comme un berger, dont le soin des brebis brûle dans son cœur.

Un livre rempli de consolation et d’espérance qui dirige le regard sur l’Agneau dont Dieu s’est pourvu pour faire entrer son peuple dans sa présence glorieuse.

Auteur

Théodore Cuyler (1822-1909) : Né dans l’État de New York, il se forma au séminaire de Princeton. Il servit diverses églises dans la région, où il connut plusieurs réveils. Il fut invité à prendre la conduite de l’église presbytérienne de Lafayette avenue, à Brooklyn, qui devint sous ses services la plus grande église presbytérienne des États-Unis à l’époque. Exerçant une influence remarquable parmi ses pairs, il était aussi l’ami de serviteurs de Dieu comme Charles Spurgeon et H. Bonar.

Table des matières
  • Avant-propos
  1. Lumière de Dieu dans l’obscurité
  2. L’incendie du champ d’orge
  3. Larmes et action
  4. À chaque jour suffit sa peine
  5. Avez-vous fleuri la tombe ?
  6. Confiance en Dieu dans l’obscurité
  7. L’école de Dieu et ses leçons
  8. Attendez que Dieu se révèle
  9. Le Berger des brebis
  10. Les bras éternels de Dieu
  11. Une parole pour le chrétien abattu
  12. L’Éternel règne
  13. Levez les yeux vers les montagnes
  14. Tu as bien vu
  15. L’Éternel est ma force
  16. Mettez en œuvre votre salut
  17. Sainteté et bonheur
  18. Les anges au tombeau
  19. Au soir les pleurs, mais l’allégresse au matin
  20. Les deux demeures du chrétien
  21. S’endormir « en Jésus »
  22. Heure d’automne à Greenwood
Détails

Sous-titre : Paroles d’encouragement pour ceux qui souffrent dans l’abattement et le deuil
Auteur : Théodore Cuyler
Éditeur : Europresse
Pages : 144
Poids : 190 g
Date de parution : 17 juin 2011
Dimensions : 14 x 21,5 cm
ISBN : 9782914562621
Format : broché