Skip to content

How Does Sanctification Work? (Qu'est-ce que la sanctification ?)

by Impact
Original price 17,95 $ - Original price 17,95 $
Original price
17,95 $
17,95 $ - 17,95 $
Current price 17,95 $
Presentation
The process of sanctification is a deeply personal and organic process. It cannot be the subject of a one-size-fits-all formula.

Many popular views attempt to reduce the process of Christian growth to a single model: Remember past grace. Remember your identity in Christ. Use the means of grace. Discipline yourself. But Scripture presents the dynamics of sanctification in a multitude of different ways. How a person is transformed into the image of Christ cannot be explained by a single factor, truth or protocol.

David Powlison shows us the unique and personal ways in which God intervenes in the process. people's lives, where they are, in order to transform them. It does this by interweaving real-life stories, biblical teachings and theological reflections. It highlights the great diversity of factors that are involved in this change, and thus helps us to brush aside the hasty generalizations and ready-made answers that arise when we seek guidance for growth in holiness. This book is an excellent resource for understanding the thousand facets of the sanctification process - a deeply personal journey that lasts a lifetime.

Author

DAVID POWLISON (Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania) is a teacher, advisor, and executive director of the Christian Counseling & Educational Foundation. He is also the editor of the Journal of Biblical Counseling and the author of Towards a Renewed Helping Relationship and Speaking the Truth with Love .
Recommendations

"There is nothing more invigorating when you walk with Jesus than to wake up each morning and find yourself actively involved in your own sanctification. Being a partner with the Spirit of Christ in your transformation, growth, and maturation is a wonderful way to nurture an ambition that is pleasing to Him. I am especially happy that David Powlison shows the reader just how to do this in his excellent book What Is Sanctification? I fully support it! »
- JONI EARECKSON TADA, founder and manager of the Joni and Friends International Disability Center

"David Powlison should be able to whisper in the ear of any Christian leader, writer or pastor: 'The Word of God is deep and rich. Do not rely on a single paradigm, but teach all of God's counsel . " Well, Powlison's book will do that for you. »
- PAUL MILLER, executive director of the seeJesus mission; author of the
books A life in prayer and A Loving Life

"To know David Powlison is to know a man who grows like the tasty fruit of sanctifying grace. To witness his ministry is to see a man whom the Lord is using to sanctify many Christians. This is why I am so grateful for What is sanctification? The doctrine of sanctification is one of the most heated areas of Christianity today. David represents the voice of biblical wisdom amidst great cacophony. If you are looking for a book on sanctification that is deeply personal, biblically balanced, and deeply relevant, then you have found it. »
- HEATH LAMBERT, Associate Pastor, First Baptist Church of Jacksonville; Executive Director, Association of Certified Biblical Counselors

"In this book, David Powlison takes issue with the simplistic claims that sanctification can be summed up as a process like 'you just have to do this or that' or 'you just have to believe this or that' . As he always does so brilliantly, he shows us how the riches of the scriptures can be applied to the details of our lives. Here is a personal, practical book full of fresh ideas, important ideas, a book that can help God's people become more and more like Christ. »
- Steve Midgley, Executive Director, Biblical Counseling UK; Senior Pastor, Christ Church Cambridge

"When I think of the wise men who have shaped my life and my thinking, David Powlison is always the first that comes to mind. We all urgently need his insightful and thoughtful vision of the human heart and what makes sanctification effective. David recognizes that despite everything that has been said and written about sanctification, something seems to have been left out: you! David enriches the discussion about sanctification with his personal testimony and that of others, and in doing so reminds us that God works in people's lives in many ways. Take this book, read it, soak it up today, and join David and many others who are being transformed into our Savior's image.
- Jonathan Holmes, pastor in counseling, Parkside Church, Uniontown, Ohio; author of The Company We Keep: In Search of Biblical Friendship

“Sanctification is a rather long word. Many Christians might give a simple definition, such as “to grow in holiness” or “to become like Jesus”; however, few have looked at the dynamics that produce sanctification or how sanctification works. In What is
Sanctification? , Powlison usefully identifies five different ways in which we can grow in holiness. The principles of his approach are grounded in the scriptures and exemplified by his lucid gaze on how it “worked” in his own life. Additionally, we are encouraged to see how it - or rather, how the Spirit of God - works in our lives. »
- Timothy Witmer, Professor of Practical Theology, Westminster Theological Seminary; pastor of St. Stephen Reformed Church, New Holland, Pennsylvania; author of The Shepherd Leader and The Shepherd Leader at Home

“Sanctification is essential because it enables us to respond to the greatest call we have ever received: to love God with all our heart and to love our neighbor as ourselves. David didn't just outline the process of sanctification, but also described the many spiritual nuances that guide us through this blessed transformation. »
- Ken Sande, Founder of Peacemaker Ministries and Relational Wisdom 360; author of Resolving Daily Conflicts

“Sanctification is a matter of life and death. What David Powlison offers in this book is not just a method of personal worship. In fact, behind this fairly straightforward title hides a powerful, explosive and concrete theology of transformation. This book is deep enough to provide a useful teaching for those who have spent their lives trying to understand how sanctification works, and it is accessible enough to guide those who have never really thought about it. In short, when you close this book, you will be radically changed, and for the better. »
- Alasdair Groves, Director of Counseling, CCEF New England

Table of contents
Introduction

1. God comes to us with his promises
2. Is there only one fundamental principle for sanctification?
3. The Truth: Imbalance and Balance
4. God comes to us with his commandments
5. We are sanctified by remembering our justification
6. What Changes Us?
7. My Story (Part One)
8. My Story (Part Two)
9. Charles's Story
10. Charlotte's Story
11. The trip
Details

Original title : How Does Sanctification Work?
Author : David Powlison
Publisher : Impact
Publication : May 2019
ISBN : 978-2-89082-341-9
Pages : 123
Dimensions : 5.5 "x 8.5"
Format : paperback
Weight : 164 g

Related resources

Read an excerpt

Blog articles

If God is for us… - Returning to the Gospel
Our earthly journey - Returning to the Gospel
Love for God and for our neighbor is good - Returning to the Gospel
What transforms us? - Return to the Gospel

Qu'est-ce que la sanctification ?

Impact
17,95 $
Le processus de la sanctification est un processus éminemment personnel et organique. Il ne saurait faire l’objet d’une formule passe-partout.

Un bon nombre de conceptions populaires tentent de réduire le processus de la croissance chrétienne à un modèle unique : Souvenez-vous de la grâce passée. Rappelez-vous de votre identité en Christ. Usez des moyens de la grâce. Disciplinez-vous. Mais l’Écriture présente la dynamique de la sanctification d’une multitude de façons différentes. La manière dont une personne est transformée à l’image de Christ ne peut s’expliquer par un facteur, une vérité ou un protocole unique.

David Powlison nous montre les façons toutes particulières et personnelles dont Dieu intervient dans la vie des gens, là où ils sont, dans le but de les transformer. Il le fait en entremêlant des histoires vécues, des enseignements bibliques et des réflexions théologiques. Il souligne la grande diversité des facteurs qui interviennent dans ce changement, et nous aide ainsi à balayer les généralisations hâtives et les réponses toutes faites qui surgissent lorsque nous sommes à la recherche de conseils pour croître dans la sainteté. Ce livre constitue une excellente ressource pour comprendre les mille facettes du processus de sanctification – un voyage éminemment personnel qui dure toute une vie.

Auteur

DAVID POWLISON (Ph. D., Université de Pennsylvanie) est enseignant, conseiller et directeur exécutif de la Christian Counseling & Educational Foundation. Il est également le rédacteur en chef du Journal of Biblical Counseling et l’auteur de Vers une relation d’aide renouvelée et de Dire la vérité avec amour.

« Il n’y a rien de plus tonifiant, lorsque vous marchez avec Jésus, que de vous lever chaque matin et de vous trouver activement impliqué dans votre propre sanctification. Le fait d’être le partenaire de l'Esprit de Christ dans votre transformation, votre croissance et votre maturation est un formidable moyen de nourrir une ambition qui lui soit agréable. Je suis particulièrement heureuse de ce que David Powlison montre justement au lecteur comment y parvenir dans son excellent livre Qu’est-ce que la sanctification ? Je lui accorde un soutien sans réserve ! »
– JONI EARECKSON TADA, fondatrice et responsable du Joni and Friends International Disability Centre

« Il faudrait que David Powlison puisse murmurer à l’oreille de tout leader, écrivain ou pasteur chrétien : "La Parole de Dieu est profonde et riche. Ne vous reposez pas sur un paradigme unique, mais enseignez tout le conseil de Dieu." Eh bien, le livre de Powlison fera cela pour vous. »
– PAUL MILLER, directeur exécutif de la mission seeJesus ; auteur des
livres Une vie en prière et A Loving Life

« Connaître David Powlison, c’est connaître un homme qui croît comme le fruit savoureux de la grâce sanctifiante. Être témoin de son ministère, c’est voir un homme que le Seigneur utilise pour sanctifier de nombreux chrétiens. Voilà pourquoi je suis si reconnaissant pour Qu’est-ce que la sanctification ? La doctrine de la sanctification est aujourd’hui l’un des domaines du christianisme où le débat est le plus passionné.David représente la voix de la sagesse biblique au milieu d’une grande cacophonie. Si vous cherchez un livre sur la sanctification qui soit profondément personnel, bibliquement équilibré et profondément pertinent, alors vous l’avez trouvé. »
– HEATH LAMBERT, pasteur associé, First Baptist Church of Jacksonville ; directeur exécutif, Association of Certified Biblical Counselors

« Dans ce livre, David Powlison s’élève contre les affirmations simplistes selon lesquelles la sanctification peut se résumer à un processus du style “il vous suffit de faire ceci ou cela” ou “il vous suffit de croire ceci ou cela”. Ainsi qu’il le fait toujours si brillamment, il nous montre comment les richesses des Écritures peuvent s’appliquer aux détails de notre vie. Voici un livre personnel, pratique, et qui regorge d’idées fraîches, d’idées importantes, un livre qui pourra aider le peuple de Dieu à devenir de plus en plus semblable à Christ. »
– Steve Midgley, directeur exécutif, Biblical Counselling UK ; pasteur principal, Christ Church Cambridge

« Lorsque je pense aux hommes sages qui ont façonné ma vie et ma pensée, David Powlison est toujours le premier qui me vient à l’esprit. Nous avons tous un besoin urgent de la vision pénétrante et réfléchie qu’il a du cœur humain et de ce qui rend la sanctification efficace. David reconnaît, qu’en dépit de tout ce qui s’est dit ou écrit sur la sanctification, quelque chose semble avoir été laissé de côté : vous ! David vient enrichir la discussion sur la sanctification avec son témoignage personnel et celui d’autres personnes, et nous rappelle ainsi que Dieu agit dans la vie des gens de multiples manières. Prenez ce livre, lisez-le, imprégnez-vous-en dès aujourd’hui, et joignez-vous à David et à de nombreuses autres personnes qui sont en cours de transformation à l’image de notre Sauveur. »
– Jonathan Holmes, pasteur en counseling, Parkside Church, Uniontown, Ohio ; auteur de The Company We Keep: In Search of Biblical Friendship

« Sanctification est un mot plutôt long. Nombre de chrétiens pourraient en donner une définition simple, telle que “grandir en sainteté” ou “devenir comme Jésus” ; cependant, il en est peu qui se soient penchés sur la dynamique qui produit la sanctification ou sur la façon dont la sanctification fonctionne. Dans Qu’est-ce que
la sanctification ?, Powlison identifie, d’une manière fort utile, cinq façons différentes dont nous pouvons croître en sainteté. Les principes de sa démarche sont fondés sur les Écritures et illustrés par le regard lucide qu’il porte sur la manière dont cela a “fonctionné” dans sa propre vie. En outre, nous sommes encouragés à voir comment cela – ou plutôt, comment l’Esprit de Dieu – agit dans nos vies. »
– Timothy Witmer, professeur de théologie pratique, Westminster Theological Seminary ; pasteur de St. Stephen Reformed Church, New Holland, Pennsylvanie ; auteur de The Shepherd Leader et de The Shepherd Leader at Home

« La sanctification est essentielle, car elle nous permet de répondre au plus grand appel que nous ayons reçu dans la vie : aimer Dieu de tout notre cœur et aimer notre prochain comme nous-mêmes. David ne s’est pas contenté d’exposer le processus de la sanctification dans ses grandes lignes, mais il en a également décrit les nombreuses nuances spirituelles qui nous guident tout au long de cette transformation bénie. »
– Ken Sande, fondateur de Peacemaker Ministries et de Relational Wisdom 360 ; auteur de Résoudre les conflits quotidiens

« La sanctification est une question de vie ou de mort. Ce que David Powlison offre dans ce livre n’est pas une simple méthode pour faire son culte personnel. En réalité, derrière ce titre assez direct se cache une théologie puissante, explosive et concrète de la transformation. Ce livre est suffisamment profond pour donner un enseignement utile à ceux qui ont passé leur vie à essayer de comprendre comment fonctionne la sanctification, et il est suffisamment accessible pour guider ceux qui ne se sont jamais vraiment posé la question. Bref, lorsque vous refermerez ce livre, vous serez radicalement changé, et pour le meilleur. »
– Alasdair Groves, directeur du counseling, CCEF Nouvelle-Angleterre

Introduction

1. Dieu vient à nous avec ses promesses
2. N’existe-t-il qu’un principe fondamental pour la sanctification ?
3. La vérité : déséquilibre et équilibre
4. Dieu vient à nous avec ses commandements
5. Nous sommes sanctifiés en nous rappelant notre justification
6. Qu’est-ce qui nous transforme ?
7. Mon histoire (Première partie)
8. Mon histoire (Deuxième partie)
9. L’histoire de Charles
10. L’histoire de Charlotte
11. Le voyage

Titre original : How Does Sanctification Work?
Auteur : David Powlison
Édition : Impact
Parution : mai 2019
ISBN : 978-2-89082-341-9
Pages : 123
Dimensions : 5,5" x 8,5"
Format : broché
Poids : 164 g