Skip to content

No Adam, No Gospel (eBook) (Sans Adam, pas d'Évangile (eBook))

by Impact
2,99 $
translation missing: en.product.item.price.tax_line_html

** eBook in ePub, Kindle and PDF format **
----------------------- -
Do you need help reading our eBooks?
CLICK HERE

Many have expressed doubts and rejected the Bible teaching that humans are descended from an original couple, Adam and Eve. Some go so far as to assert that these doubts are compatible with the Christian faith. But is this possible? Richard Gaffin shows us that this idea undermines the entire history of redemption taught in Scripture. If you remove Adam and Eve from the equation, the story of redemption no longer holds. The author reminds us that without Adam there is no gospel.

Browse the first pages

Author

RICHARD B. GAFFIN JR. is Professor Emeritus of Biblical and Systematic Theology at Westminster Theological Seminary in Philadelphia, USA.

Recommendations

"Here Richard Gaffin provides a clear exposition of the necessary connection between the historicity of Adam and the death and resurrection of Christ. It shows the centrality of the biblical contrast between solidarity "in Adam" or "in Christ" for the good news of a restored fellowship with God. "
- YANNICK IMBERT, dean, professor of apologetics, Faculty Jean Calvin

"All of Christian doctrine rests on the person of Adam. The language and the main themes of Genesis 1 - 3 are found in every key sequence in the history of redemption, so much so that the New Testament makes it the basis of the soteriological edifice built by Christ. If Adam never had a historical existence, as some claim, then the basic doctrines of original sin and guilt can no longer be consistently maintained. However, the issue is not limited to theology; it is also deeply ethical. Without common ancestry, we no longer have a solid basis for asserting that all human beings of all ethnicities have the same nature, the same dignity, and the same problem with sin. If Adam did not exist, none of us can claim to be made in the image of God. This book by Richard B. Gaffin is therefore timely and strongly reminds us that if we lose Adam, we lose the gospel at the same time. "
- GUILLAUME BOURIN, pastor of the Reformed Baptist Church of the Trinity; author of the book I will pour pure water on you ; founder of the blog Le Bon Combat; director of the Biblical Institute #Transmit

“Unfortunately, many Christians today have marginalized the question of our origins and the historicity of Adam. And so it is often seen as of little importance. Nevertheless, it is crucial to be able to notice that such marginalization is mainly the consequence of a phenomenon of impoverishment of exegetical and theological knowledge within our evangelical circles. In addition, the deplorable individualistic approach offered by some to the gospel has overshadowed this biblical double foundation essential to the correct understanding of it: our union "in" Adam and our union "in" Jesus Christ. In this little book, Richard Gaffin Jr offers us a short defense of the historicity of Adam, making sure to remember this biblical reality of our double solidarity "in" Adam and "in" Jesus Christ. This work thus exposes some of the major doctrinal points which will then be neglected, and even jeopardized, when the reader of the Bible deviates from a faithful exegetical practice accomplished in the analogy of faith. "
- DANIEL SAGLIETTO, director of the Faculty of Evangelical Theology of Montreal, affiliated with Acadia University

“The sociological and ethical upheavals that accompany the rejection of the biblical doctrine of creation and its corollaries are serious and numerous. However, the greatest consequence of the absence of a historical Adam is its impact on the gospel. In this little book, Professor Gaffin demonstrates that one cannot maintain the wholeness and integrity of the gospel without the integral historicity of the first man as revealed in the scriptures. »
- PASCAL DENAULT, pastor of the Evangelical Church of Saint-Jérôme, author of the books Solas , A more excellent alliance and The dark side of the Christian life

"In Scripture, our identity in Adam determines who we are today as God-made human beings and who we will become as redeemed Christians in Christ. Richard Gaffin points out the serious theological implications that necessarily flow from the denial of the existence of a historical Adam, the first ancestor of mankind. "
- IAIN M. DUGUID, Old Testament professor, Westminster Theological Seminary, Philadelphia

Table of contents

Preface to the French edition
1. The problem
2. Scientific and Biblical Objections
3. The Bible and Science
4. Adam and Christ
5. Inadequate interpretations
6. The consequences of inadequate interpretations
7. A recent denial of the historicity of Adam: some additional remarks

Details

Original title : No Adam, No Gospel
Author : Richard B. Gaffin Jr.
Publisher : Impact
Publication : March 2020
ISBN : 978-2-89082-403-4
Pages : 65
Format : eBook

Sans Adam, pas d'Évangile (eBook)

Impact
2,99 $
**eBook en format ePub, Kindle et PDF**
------------------------
Vous avez besoin d'aide pour lire nos eBooks ?
CLIQUEZ ICI

Plusieurs ont exprimé leurs doutes et ont rejeté l’enseignement biblique selon lequel les humains descendent d’un couple originel, Adam et Ève. Certains vont jusqu’à affirmer que ces doutes sont compatibles avec la foi chrétienne. Mais cela est-il possible ? Richard Gaffin nous montre que cette idée sape toute l’histoire de la rédemption enseignée dans l’Écriture. Si l’on retire Adam et Ève de l’équation, l’histoire de la rédemption ne tient plus. L’auteur nous rappelle que, sans Adam, il n’y a pas d’Évangile.

Auteur

RICHARD B. GAFFIN JR. est professeur émérite de théologie biblique et systématique au Westminster Theological Seminary à Philadelphie, aux États-Unis.

« Richard Gaffin livre ici une claire exposition du lien nécessaire entre l’historicité d’Adam et la mort et résurrection de Christ. Il montre la centralité du contraste biblique entre la solidarité "en Adam" ou "en Christ" pour la bonne nouvelle d’une communion restaurée avec Dieu. »
– YANNICK IMBERT, doyen, professeur d’apologétique, Faculté Jean Calvin

« L’ensemble de la doctrine chrétienne repose sur la personne d’Adam. Le langage et les principaux thèmes de Genèse 1 – 3 se retrouvent à chaque séquence clé de l’histoire de la rédemption, à tel point que le Nouveau Testament en fait le socle de l’édifice sotériologique bâti par le Christ. Si Adam n’a jamais eu d’existence historique, comme certains l’affirment, alors les doctrines fondamentales du péché et de la culpabilité originels ne peuvent plus être maintenues de manière cohérente. Cela dit, l’enjeu ne se limite pas à la théologie ; il est également profondément éthique. Sans ascendance commune, nous n’avons plus aucune base solide pour affirmer que l’ensemble des êtres humains de toute origine ethnique ont la même nature, la même dignité, et le même problème avec le péché. Si Adam n’a pas existé, aucun d’entre nous ne peut se targuer d’être fait à l’image de Dieu. Cet ouvrage de Richard B. Gaffin arrive donc à point nommé et rappelle avec force que si nous perdons Adam, nous perdons en même temps l’Évangile. »
– GUILLAUME BOURIN, pasteur de l’Église réformée baptiste de la Trinité ; auteur du livre Je répandrai sur vous une eau pure ; fondateur du blog Le Bon Combat ; directeur de l’Institut Biblique #Transmettre

« De nos jours, beaucoup de chrétiens ont malheureusement marginalisé la question de nos origines et de l’historicité d’Adam. Et cela de telle sorte que celle-ci est souvent perçue comme n’ayant que peu d’importance. Néanmoins, il est crucial de pouvoir remarquer qu’une telle marginalisation est principalement la conséquence d’un phénomène d’appauvrissement de la connaissance exégétique et théologique au sein de nos milieux évangéliques. De plus, la déplorable approche individualiste qui est offerte par certains à propos de l’Évangile a éclipsé ce double fondement biblique essentiel à la juste compréhension de celui-ci : notre union "en" Adam et notre union "en" Jésus-Christ. Dans ce petit livre, Richard Gaffin Jr nous offre une courte défense de l’historicité d’Adam en veillant à bien nous rappeler cette réalité biblique de notre double solidarité "en" Adam et "en" Jésus-Christ. Cet ouvrage expose ainsi certains des points doctrinaux majeurs qui seront alors négligés, voire même, mis en péril, lorsque le lecteur de la Bible s’écarte d’une pratique exégétique fidèle accomplie dans l’analogie de la foi. »
– DANIEL SAGLIETTO, directeur de la Faculté de Théologie Évangélique de Montréal, affiliée à l’Université Acadia

« Les bouleversements sociologiques et éthiques qui accompagnent le rejet de la doctrine biblique de la création et ses corollaires sont graves et nombreux. Cependant, la plus grande conséquence de l’absence d’un Adam historique est son impact sur l’Évangile. Dans ce petit livre, le professeur Gaffin démontre qu’on ne peut maintenir l’intégralité et l’intégrité de l’Évangile sans l’historicité intégrale du premier homme tel qu’il est révélé dans les Écritures. »
– PASCAL DENAULT, pasteur de l’Église évangélique de Saint-Jérôme, auteur des livres Solas, Une alliance plus excellente et Le côté obscur de la vie chrétienne

« Dans l’Écriture, notre identité en Adam détermine qui nous sommes aujourd’hui en tant qu’êtres humains créés à l’image de Dieu et qui nous deviendrons en tant que chrétiens rachetés en Christ. Richard Gaffin fait ressortir les graves implications théologiques qui découlent nécessairement de la négation de l’existence d’un Adam historique, premier ancêtre de l’humanité. »
– IAIN M. DUGUID, professeur d’Ancien Testament, Westminster Theological Seminary, Philadelphie

Préface à l’ édition française
1. Le problème
2. Les objections scientifiques et bibliques
3. La Bible et la science
4. Adam et Christ
5. Les interprétations inadéquates
6. Les conséquences des interprétations inadéquates
7. Une négation récente de l’historicité d’Adam : quelques remarques complémentaires

Titre original : No Adam, No Gospel
Auteur : Richard B. Gaffin Jr.
Édition : Impact
Parution : mars 2020
ISBN : 978-2-89082-403-4
Pages : 65
Format : eBook

Lire un extrait