Skip to content

The redemption accomplished by Jesus Christ, applied by the Holy Spirit

19,95 $
translation missing: en.product.item.price.tax_line_html
Availablity: translation missing: en.general.icons.icon_check_circle icon 140 in stock, ready to ship

Presentation

Redemption is of the utmost importance in the question of salvation. By disobedience of sin, the human race has placed itself under the wrath of the holy God. She is now worthy of eternal death in the torments of hell. The fact that in His grace God decided to redeem in Jesus Christ a people of this lost and guilty race is a miracle of divine mercy and the heart of the covenant of grace.

And the atonement, which takes away the guilt of sin through the blood sacrifice of an innocent substitute, lies at the heart of redemption and biblical faith. The free and sovereign love of God is the source of the fulfillment of redemption. John 3:16, one of the best-known texts in all of Scripture, shows this with great clarity.

Since the days of the apostle Paul, this text has served, for the serious Christian, as a basis for any discussion of redemption. However, few interpreters of the Bible have thoroughly explored the passages in which it deals with the atonement, at least with the keen sense and precision used by the author of this book. As such, he is considered a leading biblical theologian in our day.

This study of redemption and atonement is a classic work for biblical theology. John Murray systematically explains the two facets of redemption:
- its fulfillment by Christ on the cross,
- its application by the Holy Spirit in the lives of the redeemed.

In the first part, he examines the necessity, nature, perfection and extent of the atonement. In the second part of his book, he presents a careful exposition of the biblical teachings concerning the calling of the elect by God, regeneration, faith and repentance, justification, adoption, as well as all the components that transform life. of him who is united with God in Christ Jesus.

Written by one of the most renowned theologians of our time, however, these pages are very accessible for anyone seeking to know what God has done in Christ for the salvation of the people whom he has loved from all eternity. Such a study will not fail to provoke, in the regenerated heart, thanksgiving filled with adoration.

Author

John Murray (1898-1975) - A native of Scotland and educated in Glasgow and Edinburgh, he studied and taught theology at Princeton Seminary before going to Westminster Seminary in Philadelphia in order to remain faithful to the biblical teaching. He spent most of a distinguished career teaching systematic theology. He is the author of several major theological classics of reference in the English language, including this book. He worked in the formation of many, many eminent contemporary servants of God.

Table of contents

Recommendation
Preface to the 2015 English edition
Preface to the original edition

Redemption - Its fulfillment
1. The Necessity of Atonement
2. The Nature of Atonement
3. The Perfect Character of the Atonement
4. The scope of the atonement
5. Conclusion

Redemption - Its application
6. The order of application
7. The Effective Call by God
8. Regeneration
9. Faith and Repentance
10. The rationale
11. Adoption
12. Sanctification
13. Perseverance
14. Union with Christ
15. Glorification

Index of Biblical References
Contents

Details

Original title : Redemption Accomplished and Applied
Author : John Murray
Edition : Europresse
Publication : 2018
Pages : 254
ISBN : 978-2-914562-66-9
Dimensions : 5.43 "x 8.5"
Format : paperback
Weight : 280 g

Related resources

Read an excerpt

Articles

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
G
GUY GOUJOU
Merveilleux!

Ce livre est une merveille!!!

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
G
GUY GOUJOU
Merveilleux!

Ce livre est une merveille!!!

La rédemption accomplie par Jésus-Christ, appliquée par le Saint-Esprit

Europresse
19,95 $

La rédemption est un sujet de la plus haute importance dans la question du salut. Par la désobéissance du péché, la race humaine s’est placée sous la colère du Dieu saint. Elle est désormais digne de la mort éternelle dans les tourments de l’enfer. Le fait que, dans sa grâce, Dieu ait décidé de racheter en Jésus-Christ un peuple issu de cette race perdue et coupable est un miracle de la miséricorde divine et le cœur de l’alliance de la grâce.

Et l’expiation, qui enlève la culpabilité du péché par le sacrifice sanglant d’un substitut innocent, repose au cœur de la rédemption et de la foi biblique. L’amour libre et souverain de Dieu est la source de l’accomplissement de la rédemption. Jean 3:16, un des textes les plus connus de toute l’Écriture, le montre avec une très grande clarté.

Depuis l’époque de l’apôtre Paul, ce texte a servi, pour le chrétien sérieux, de base pour toute discussion sur la rédemption. Toutefois, rares sont les interprètes de la Bible qui ont exploré en profondeur les passages où elle traite de l’expiation, tout au moins avec la finesse de perception et la précision mises en oeuvre par l’auteur du présent livre. À ce titre, il est considéré comme un théologien biblique de tout premier plan à l’époque actuelle.

Cette étude de la rédemption et de l’expiation fait figure d’oeuvre classique pour la théologie biblique. John Murray y explique de manière systématique les deux facettes de la rédemption :
– son accomplissement par Christ sur la croix,
– son application par le Saint-Esprit dans la vie des rachetés.

Dans la première partie, il examine la nécessité, la nature, la perfection et l’étendue de l’expiation. Dans la seconde partie de son livre, il présente une exposition soignée des enseignements bibliques concernant l’appel des élus par Dieu, la régénération, la foi et la repentance, la justification, l’adoption, ainsi que toutes les composantes qui transforment la vie de celui qui est uni à Dieu en Jésus-Christ.

Écrites par un des théologiens les plus renommés de notre temps, ces pages sont cependant très accessibles pour celui qui cherche à connaître ce que Dieu a fait en Christ pour le salut du peuple qu’il a aimé de toute éternité. Une telle étude ne manquera pas de susciter, dans le cœur régénéré, des actions de grâces remplies d’adoration.

Auteur

John Murray (1898-1975) – Natif d’Écosse et éduqué à Glasgow et Edinbourg, il étudia et enseigna la théologie au séminaire de Princeton avant d’aller au séminaire de Westminster, à Philadelphie, afin de rester fidèle à l’enseignement biblique. Il passa la plupart d’une carrière distinguée à enseigner la théologie systématique. Il est l’auteur de plusieurs grands classiques théologiques de référence dans la langue anglaise, dont le présent ouvrage. Il œuvra à la formation de très nombreux serviteurs éminents de Dieu contemporains.

Recommandation
Préface de l’édition anglaise de 2015
Préface de l’édition d’origine

La rédemption - Son accomplissement
1. La nécessité de l’expiation
2. La nature de l’expiation
3. Le caractère parfait de l’expiation
4. Le champ d’application de l’expiation
5. Conclusion 

La rédemption - Son application
6. L’ordre de l’application
7. L’appel efficace par Dieu
8. La régénération
9. La foi et la repentance
10. La justification
11. L’adoption
12. La sanctification
13. La persévérance
14. L’union avec Christ
15. La glorification

Index des références bibliques
Sommaire

Titre originalRedemption Accomplished and Applied
Auteur : John Murray
Édition : Europresse
Parution : 2018
Pages : 254
ISBN : 978-2-914562-66-9
Dimensions : 5,43" x 8,5"
Format : broché
Poids : 280 g