Skip to content

Language

<transcy>Good and Angry: Redeeming anger, irritation, complaining, and bitterness (Chrétien en colère)</transcy>

David Powlison
Original price 26,95 $ - Original price 26,95 $
Original price
26,95 $
26,95 $ - 26,95 $
Current price 26,95 $
Availability:
30 in stock, ready to be shipped
Presentation

From the youngest infant to the most venerable grandfather, anger is a universal human experience. We all get angry, often in the wrong way. But anger can be a legitimate way of reacting to evil and a powerful motivation for action on behalf of victims of injustice.

David Powlison says anger is not "a problem to be fixed" something we need to get rid of. Anger is a complex response from human beings who live in a complex world. We must learn to manage it so that it produces beautiful fruits.

The author examines the roots of anger by looking to a very surprising place: the wrath of God himself. Powlison recalls that God also gets angry. But God's wrath does not turn into manipulation or an attempt to control. No, his anger is good and a source of redemption. He is both our model for change but also the power that enables this change.

Angry Christian will help you express your anger more often in a way that is fair, constructive, and fruitful. Powlison offers practical advice for those struggling with irritation, annoyance, or bitterness, and wise help in responding constructively when things don't turn out the way you would have liked.

Author

David powlison is director of the Christian Counseling & Educational Foundation (CCEF) created nearly fifty years ago with the aim of training in helping relationships and providing psychological and pastoral support rooted in the Bible. He has written several books on the relationship between faith and psychology.

Recommendations

David Powlison does not approach anger as a disease to be cured or a vice to be eliminated. After all, the Bible describes both Jesus and Heavenly Father as being angry at times. Do not look in this book for the “solution” to anger. Instead, you will find there a diligent examination of Bible truths and a gospel of hope that gives us the opportunity to be both good and angry.
- DA Carson, New Testament professor-researcher at Trinity Evangelical Divinity School and co-founder of The Gospel Coalition

The great thing about David Powlison's writing and counseling is that he isn't afraid to get his hands dirty as he brings the gospel to the very roots of the problems we face. His discussions not only address the reality of our struggles, but also that of his own struggle and search for relief in areas where we feel, for most of us, either incapable or not daring enough for us. rub it. However, while the issues it grapples with are at times deeply disturbing, the Bible truths it brings to light are extremely realistic and refreshing. He does not hesitate to dig into his own heart to help us find a way of biblical restoration for ours.
- Bryan Chapell, author of Infinite Grace, pastor of Grace Presbyterian Church in Peoria, Illinois

I think sometimes I have experienced righteous anger. Most of the time, my anger is clearly on the unfair side. In this wise and very practical book, David Powlison draws on his rich abilities to understand the human heart in an attempt to address one of humanity's biggest problems: anger and all that leads to it.
- Philip Ryken, President of Wheaton College, Illinois

David Powlison uses both his Christian worldview and his coaching experience to challenge our understanding of ourselves and anger in particular. He analyzes the effects of the Fall on this emotion and shows us how to put it back under the authority of Christ. This book is therefore much more than a simple anger management manual: it renews our understanding of redemption and its effects on our emotions.
- Jean-Philippe Bru, Professor of Practical Theology at the Jean Calvin Faculty

This book is written by an experienced man. Each page reflects the author's long practice of helping relationships. David Powlison has accompanied all forms of anger and the stories that decorate his presentation are so realistic that we easily enter the book. The author reveals to us the workings of anger, which he analyzes and disseminates. This book touched me deeply, referring me to all the work that remains to be done in my own heart. He also equipped me to accompany those who let anger take over. Human anger is so universal that one can only recommend reading this book. The reader will draw a biblical and concrete approach to re-establish relationships that have been abused or broken by anger.
- Florent Varak, director for "Equip and revitalize the Churches" of the Encompass World Partners mission, president of Éditions CLÉ and professor of homiletics at the IBG

David Powlison invites us through the pages of this book on a journey to discover anger in all its facets and its repercussions. Starting from the observation that anger is part of our human nature, marked by sin, the author helps us to understand that it is much more than a simple emotion or any passion of the soul. Anger is analyzed under the microscope, as well as its effects in our lives and those of the people we meet. David Powlison goes further than a simple diagnosis, he offers us a real therapy for anger. The biblical text opens a dynamic of change, without ever losing sight of the practical and relational dimension. Useful for oneself, as well as for accompanying others, this book will help any reader to take good steps to walk from progress to progress ...
- Paul Millemann, psychologist and trainer, lecturer at the IBG and at the Jean Calvin Faculty, doctoral student in theology

David Powlison helps us deal with our anger clearly, whatever its form. This book is really about everyone, and its approach feels like a kind of helping relationship with a counselor. Whether or not you are aware of your anger problem, you need to read this book. Angry Christian is an exceptional resource for everyone, whether you are a parent or teacher, pastor or missionary.
- Gloria Furman, blogger and co-author of Female Word-Centered Ministry

We are all concerned with anger and each has a particular representation of it: a feeling, sensations or even painful or destructive experiences, often all at the same time. It is rare to be able to take the time to ask the right questions about our anger and not only in what we live, but especially in the way in which our Creator sees it and considers it: this book allows us in an admirable way. . The author paints a lucid portrait of our anger and its consequences in our life and accompanies us in the Scriptures to apprehend the spiritual stakes and to direct our heart towards our Father, the only one capable of making us grow sustainably.
- Samuel Laurent, psychologist and biblical counselor

David Powlison possesses a rare combination of three characteristics: a good knowledge of the gospel and the Holy Scriptures, a good knowledge of human nature, and an exceptional ability to play with words. In Angry Christian, Dr. Powlison brilliantly and profoundly articulates how the gospel transforms our hearts so that anger is not seen as an enemy, but rather as a gateway into our hearts, through which God wills itself. to bring in to do a work of glory. I highly recommend reading this book on anger, which in my opinion has no equal in French today.
- Matthieu Caron, president of the Fondation du counseling biblique, full professor of biblical counseling at SEMBEQ in Montreal

Destroying in order to rebuild is always a perilous exercise. David Powlison dared to take this route to address one of the biggest indicators of our selfishness, anger! First, with wisdom and discernment, he makes us discover through Scripture all the mechanisms of anger. Then, without complacency and without false modesty, David Powlison reveals himself in an honest and touching way, thus avoiding too theoretical a reflection! But it doesn't all end there! If I say that the process is perilous, it is because the author leads us from selfish and unjust anger to an anger transformed by Christ to become righteous and good! We haven't reached this stage, so let's run towards the goal forgetting what is behind and striving for what is ahead!
- Mike Evans, Gospel 21 president

None of us escape the intense discomfort of emotions and desires belonging to the specter of anger. This problem frustrates us, saddens us, and very often makes us slaves. We need a guide full of grace and wisdom to show us the direction of divine mercy. David Powlison is a man of peace and his words in this book exude wisdom as they point us in the direction of the transforming grace of Christ. Since anger affects us all, we all need this book.
- Heath Lambert, author of Being free is possible, executive director of the Association of Certified Biblical Counselors

Powlison's Angry Christian has now become, and rightfully so, the first book I recommend on the subject of anger. Not to mention the fact that I think this is the wisest and most comprehensive Christian answer there is on the subjects of self-hatred and anger towards oneself.
- Tony Reinke, author of Generation smartphone, podcast presenter Ask pastor john (www.desiringgod.org)

For years, the writings of David Powlison have been a very useful resource in my pastoral ministry. Angry Christian follows this line, offering a relevant reflection on one of the most universal emotions there is. For the layman as well as for the seasoned pastor, this book is a precious help for all those who wish to understand the roots of anger. In doing so, Powlison leads his reader, with tenderness and delicacy, to allow himself to be enveloped by the grace of God.
- Stephen T. Um, Senior Pastor of Citylife Presbyterian Church in Boston

Contents

Thanks
Introduction

SECTION 1 - OUR EXPERIENCE

1. Angry people
2. Do you have a serious problem with anger?
3. Are you affected?

SECTION 2 - WHAT IS ANGER?

4. "I am against"
5. Everything in you participates in anger
6. Nature, education… and human nature
7. Constructive discontent with compassion Part I: Patience and forgiveness
8. Constructive discontent with compassion Part II: Love and constructive conflict
9. Good and angry?
10. The best anger, the best love

SECTION 3 - HOW TO CHANGE

11. A mirror in the face of your anger
12. The grace he grants is still greater
13. Eight questions: Deconstruct your anger to rebuild yourself

SECTION 4 - TACKLE DIFFICULT CASES

14. "I can never erase it from my memory!" "
15. Everyday anger
16. Do you ever get angry with yourself?
17. Anger against God

One last word
Notes
About Gospel 21

Details

Publisher : BLF Editions
Original title : Good and Angry: Redeeming anger, irritation, complaining, and bitterness
Author
: David Powlison
Release : June 2018
Pages : 304
Format : paperback
Dimensions : 13 x 21 cm
ISBN : 978-2-36249-456-7
Weight : 346 g

Related resources

Read an excerpt

Quagmire, misery ... and possible hope - Gospel 21

From the same author :

Tell the truth with love
Healing after an abortion
Control your anger
Towards a renewed helping relationship

Customer Reviews

Based on 2 reviews
100%
(2)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
E
Eric Desaulniers
La théologie de la colère appliquée

Chrétien en colère est organisé pour étudier la théologie de la colère, démontrant comment ça trouve des échos dans ma propre vie et peut facilement aussi être fait en duo dans un suivi pastoral. Les encrages bibliques sont présent et appuient les arguments tout au long du livre. J'ai vraiment bénéficier de cette étude et je suis convaincu que ça aura des bénéfices pour tout lecteur qui aborde le sujet de manière sérieuse. Certainement le meilleur livre que j'ai lu sur le sujet.

J
JEAN LEPINE j'ai bien apprécié ce commentaire, j'en poursuit toujours la lecture.

J'apprécie vraiment.

Chrétien en colère

BLF Éditions
26,95 $

Du plus jeune nourrisson au plus vénérable grand-père, la colère est une expérience humaine universelle. Nous nous mettons tous en colère, souvent de la mauvaise manière. Mais la colère peut être une façon légitime de réagir face au mal et une puissante motivation à l’action en faveur des victimes d’injustices.

David Powlison affirme que la colère n’est pas « un problème à régler », quelque chose dont nous devons nous débarrasser. La colère est une réponse complexe d’êtres humains qui vivent dans un monde complexe. Nous devons apprendre à la gérer pour qu’elle produise de beaux fruits.

L’auteur examine les racines de la colère en portant son regard à un endroit très surprenant : la colère de Dieu lui-même. Powlison rappelle que Dieu se met lui aussi en colère. Mais la colère de Dieu ne se transforme pas en manipulation ou en tentative de contrôle. Non, sa colère est bonne et source de rédemption. Il est à la fois notre modèle pour le changement mais aussi la puissance qui permet ce changement.

Chrétien en colère vous aidera à exprimer plus souvent votre colère de manière juste, constructive et qui portera de beaux fruits. Powlison offre des conseils pratiques à ceux qui luttent avec l’irritation, le mécontentement ou l’amertume et une aide avisée pour réagir de manière constructive quand les choses ne se passent pas comme vous l’auriez aimé.

Auteur 

David Powlison est directeur de la Christian Counseling & Educational Foundation (CCEF) créée il y a près de cinquante ans dans le but de former à la relation d’aide et d’apporter un soutien psychologique et pastoral enraciné dans la Bible. Il a écrit plusieurs livres sur la relation entre foi et psychologie.

David Powlison n’approche pas la colère comme une maladie à soigner ou un vice à éliminer. Après tout, la Bible décrit aussi bien Jésus que son Père céleste comme étant parfois en colère. Ne cherchez pas dans ce livre la “solution” à la colère. Vous y trouverez au contraire un examen assidu des vérités bibliques et un Évangile d’espérance qui nous donne la possibilité d’être à la fois bons et en colère.
— D. A. Carson, professeur-chercheur spécialisé dans le Nouveau Testament à « Trinity Evangelical Divinity School » et cofondateur de The Gospel Coalition

Ce qui est génial avec la manière d’écrire et de conseiller de David Powlison, c’est qu’il n’a pas peur de se salir les mains alors qu’il apporte l’Évangile aux racines mêmes des problèmes que nous rencontrons. Ses discussions n’abordent pas seulement la réalité de nos luttes, mais aussi celle de son propre combat et de ses recherches de secours dans des domaines où nous nous sentons, pour la plupart d’entre nous, soit incapables soit pas suffisamment audacieux pour nous y frotter. Cependant, même si les problèmes auxquels il s’attaque sont parfois profondément troublants, les vérités bibliques qu’il met en lumière sont extrêmement réalistes et rafraîchissantes. Il n’hésite pas à creuser dans son propre cœur pour nous aider à trouver une voie de restauration biblique pour le nôtre.
— Bryan Chapell, auteur de Grâce infinie, pasteur de « Grace Presbyterian Church » à Peoria, Illinois

Je pense qu’il m’est parfois arrivé de vivre une colère juste. La plupart du temps, ma colère est clairement du côté injuste. Dans ce livre rempli de sagesse et très pratique, David Powlison puise dans ses riches capacités à comprendre le cœur humain dans le but d’aborder l’un des plus gros problèmes de l’humanité : la colère et tout ce qui y conduit.
— Philip Ryken, président de Wheaton College, Illinois

David Powlison fait appel à la fois à sa vision chrétienne du monde et à son expérience d’accompagnateur pour bousculer notre compréhension de nous mêmes et de la colère en particulier. Il analyse les effets de la chute sur cette émotion et nous montre comment la replacer sous l’autorité du Christ. Ce livre est donc bien plus qu’un simple manuel de gestion de la colère : il renouvelle notre compréhension de la rédemption et de ses effets sur nos émotions.
— Jean-Philippe Bru, professeur de Théologie Pratique à la Faculté Jean Calvin

Ce livre est écrit par un homme d’expérience. Chaque page reflète la longue pratique de la relation d’aide de l’auteur. David Powlison a accompagné toutes les formes de colère et les récits qui agrémentent son exposé sont d’un tel réalisme que l’on rentre facilement dans l’ouvrage. L’auteur nous dévoile les rouages de la colère, qu’il analyse et diffuse. Ce livre m’a profondément touché, me renvoyant à tout le travail qui reste à faire dans mon propre cœur. Il m’a aussi équipé pour accompagner ceux qui ont laissé la colère prendre le dessus. La colère humaine est si universelle que l’on ne peut que recommander la lecture de ce livre. Le lecteur en tirera une approche biblique et concrète afin de rétablir des relations malmenées ou brisées par la colère.
— Florent Varak, directeur pour « Équiper et revitaliser les Églises » de la mission Encompass World Partners, président des Éditions CLÉ et professeur d’homilétique à l’IBG

David Powlison nous invite au fil des pages de ce livre à un voyage à la découverte de la colère dans toutes ses facettes et ses répercussions. Partant du constat que la colère fait partie de notre nature humaine, marquée par le péché, l’auteur nous aide à comprendre qu’elle est bien plus qu’une simple émotion ou qu’une quelconque passion de l’âme. La colère est analysée sous le microscope, de même que ses effets dans nos vies et celles des personnes que nous côtoyons. David Powlison va plus loin qu’un simple diagnostic, il nous offre une véritable thérapeutique de la colère. Le texte biblique ouvre une dynamique de changement, sans jamais perdre de vue la dimension pratique et relationnelle. Utile pour soi, comme pour accompagner les autres, ce livre aidera tout lecteur à parcourir de belles étapes pour marcher de progrès en progrès…
— Paul Millemann, psychologue et formateur, chargé de cours à l’IBG et à la Faculté Jean Calvin, doctorant en théologie

David Powlison nous aide à aborder notre colère avec clarté, quelle qu’en soit sa forme. Ce livre concerne vraiment tout le monde, et son approche ressemble à une sorte d’interaction de relation d’aide avec un conseiller. Que vous soyez ou non conscient de votre problème de colère, vous avez besoin de lire ce livre. Chrétien en colère est une ressource exceptionnelle pour tout un chacun, que vous soyez parent ou enseignant, pasteur ou missionnaire.
— Gloria Furman, blogueuse et co-auteure de Ministère féminin centré sur la Parole

Nous sommes tous concernés par la colère et chacun en a une représentation particulière : un sentiment, des sensations ou encore des expériences douloureuses ou destructrices, souvent tout à la fois. Il est rare de pouvoir prendre le temps de se poser les bonnes questions sur notre colère et pas seulement dans ce que nous vivons, mais surtout dans la manière dont notre Créateur la voit et la considère : ce livre nous le permet d’une façon admirable. L’auteur dépeint un portrait lucide de notre colère et de ses conséquences dans notre vie et nous accompagne dans les Écritures pour en appréhender les enjeux spirituels et diriger notre cœur vers notre Père, le seul capable de nous faire grandir durablement.
— Samuel Laurent, psychologue et conseiller biblique

David Powlison possède une combinaison rare de trois caractéristiques : une bonne connaissance de l’Évangile et des Saintes Écritures, une bonne connaissance de la nature humaine et une habileté exceptionnelle de jouer avec les mots. Dans Chrétien en colère, le Dr Powlison articule avec brio et profondeur comment l’Évangile transforme notre cœur pour que la colère ne soit pas vue comme un ennemi, mais plutôt comme une porte d’entrée dans notre cœur, par laquelle Dieu veut s’introduire pour faire une oeuvre de gloire. Je recommande vivement la lecture de ce livre sur la colère, qui à mon avis, n’a pas son pareil en français actuellement.
— Matthieu Caron, président de la Fondation du counseling biblique, professeur titulaire de counseling biblique à SEMBEQ à Montréal

Détruire pour reconstruire est toujours un exercice périlleux. David Powlison a osé emprunter cette voie pour aborder l’un des plus grands indicateurs de notre égoïsme, la colère ! D’abord, avec sagesse et discernement, il nous fait découvrir par l’Écriture tous les mécanismes de la colère. Ensuite, sans complaisance et sans fausse pudeur David Powlison se dévoile de manière honnête et touchante évitant ainsi une réflexion trop théorique ! Mais tout ne s’arrête pas là ! Si je dis que le processus est périlleux, c’est parce que l’auteur nous fait cheminer depuis une colère égoïste et injuste vers une colère transformée par Christ pour devenir juste et bonne ! Nous n’avons pas atteint ce stade, alors courons vers le but en oubliant ce qui est en arrière et en tendant vers ce qui est en avant !
— Mike Evans, président d’Évangile 21

Aucun d’entre nous n’échappe au vif inconfort que suscitent les émotions et les désirs appartenant au spectre de la colère. Ce problème nous frustre, nous attriste, et bien souvent nous rend esclaves. Nous avons besoin d’un guide plein de grâce et de sagesse pour nous indiquer la direction de la miséricorde divine. David Powlison est un homme de paix et ses paroles dans ce livre respirent la sagesse en nous indiquant la direction vers la grâce de Christ qui transforme. Puisque la colère nous concerne tous, nous avons tous besoin de ce livre.
— Heath Lambert, auteur de Être libre c’est possible, directeur exécutif d’« Association of Certified Biblical Counselors »

Chrétien en colère de Powlison est désormais devenu, bien légitimement, le premier livre que je recommande sur le thème de la colère. Sans parler du fait qu’il s’agit selon moi de la réponse chrétienne la plus sage et la plus complète qui soit sur les sujets de la haine de soi et de la colère envers soi-même.
— Tony Reinke, auteur de Génération smartphone, présentateur du podcast Ask Pastor John (www.desiringgod.org)

Depuis des années, les écrits de David Powlison ont été une ressource très utile dans mon ministère pastoral. Chrétien en colère se place dans cette lignée, proposant une réflexion pertinente concernant une des émotions les plus universelles qui soient. Pour le laïc comme pour le pasteur chevronné, ce livre est une aide précieuse pour tous ceux qui souhaitent comprendre les racines de la colère. Ce faisant, Powlison amène son lecteur, avec tendresse et délicatesse, à se laisser envelopper par la grâce de Dieu.
— Stephen T. Um, pasteur principal de « Citylife Presbyterian Church » à Boston

Remerciements
Introduction 

SECTION 1 - NOTRE EXPÉRIENCE

1. Des gens en colère
2. Avez-vous un sérieux problème avec la colère ?
3. Êtes-vous concerné ?

SECTION 2 - QU'EST-CE QUE LA COLÈRE ?

4. « Je suis contre »
5. Tout en vous participe à la colère
6. Nature, éducation… et nature humaine
7. Le mécontentement constructif de la compassion Partie I : Patience et pardon 
8. Le mécontentement constructif de la compassion Partie II : Amour et conflit constructif 
9. Bon et en colère ?
10. La meilleure colère, le meilleur amour

SECTION 3 - COMMENT CHANGER

11. Un miroir face à votre colère
12. La grâce qu’il accorde est plus grande encore
13. Huit questions : Déconstruire votre colère pour vous reconstruire 

SECTION 4 - S’ATTAQUER AUX CAS DIFFICILES

14. « Je ne pourrai jamais l’effacer de ma mémoire ! »
15. Les colères de tous les jours
16. Vous arrive-t-il de vous mettre en colère contre vous-même ?
17. La colère contre Dieu

Un dernier mot 
Notes
À propos d’Évangile 21

Éditeur : BLF Éditions
Titre original : Good and Angry: Redeeming anger, irritation, complaining, and bitterness
Auteur
: David Powlison
Parution : juin 2018
Pages : 304
Format : broché
Dimensions : 13 x 21 cm
ISBN : 978-2-36249-456-7
Poids : 346 g